Internists, Rheumatologist
37 years of experience

Accepting new patients
16300 Sand Canyon Ave
Ste 708
Irvine, CA 92618
949-753-1666
Locations and availability (2)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.0
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

14

Total Reviews

10

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.4615384615385 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.6666666666667 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.6153846153846 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.3846153846154 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.2307692307692 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.3076923076923 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.2307692307692 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 18 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  A wonderful RA doctor  |  show details
by Robert L. Freed, MD on Apr 26th, 2013

I have read the reviews and am shocked. Dr. Freed is a wonderful doctor has spends time with me and is very thorough. In researching Dr. Freed before I chose him as my doctor I found that he keeps very updated on this horrible disease. He has always been pleasant with me and his staff are alway eager to help and very friendly and personal. I am thrilled that I chose Dr. Freed and recommend him highly. Pamela Keenan, Huntington Beach, CA

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Terrible with billing  |  show details
Apr 4th, 2013

The experience with Robert Freed has been infuriatingly frustrating. I left the initial consulting appointment with there being no confirmed diagnosis. And he informs me to come back when the pain is worse. I prepared to pay the co-pay I went to the front desk and the lady proceeds to inform me that they will confirm with my insurance if any payment is needed. I tell her that I'll need to pay the co-pay and she says she'll bill me if needed to. So I leave and receive a bill with my name incorrectly spelled a few months later. I received the bill late because I had moved. I paid the bill and sent an updated address along with it. I see that the check is cashed. But another month later I received a late payment notice. Then I get another notice a month after that. So I call the office and explain that the check was cashed. And the lady apologizes and asks me to send over a copy of the cashed check. I fax it over. And then today I get notice that there's a statement of delinquency. Faxed the cashed check over again. This office really needs to get it together.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Seek another doctor for accurate diagnosis!  |  show details
Mar 10th, 2013

After several months of battling an unknown disease I was referred to Dr. Freed. Initially I felt relief that I might finally get some answers. Boy was I wrong! I felt like he just didn't want to take the time to figure it out. After several months I requested a second opinion and got approval. The new Reumatologist had one 30 minute visit with me and send me for a series of lab tests and a CT scan. 4 weeks later I go in for a follow up and he has a proper diagnosis for me! Both labs and CT were clear as day. I searched for answers for over 2 years (7 specialist) in excruciating pain just to get Dr. Freed who did nothing but give me Meds and no real answers. I see a new Reumatologist and with a 30 minute exam, history /record review new labs & CT scan he was able to properly diagnose me! I left feeling such a sense of relief knowing what is wrong and anger because I suffered far too long due to Dr. Freed's practices. My diagnosis is not rare by any means!! This should have been Reumatology 101 diagnosis for a Reumatologist with over 20 years experience! I count my blessing for finding a competent Reumatologist that is able & WILLING to help me.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Freed Does Not Care About His Patients, Period.  |  show details
Feb 21st, 2013

Dr. Freed was my mom's Rheumatologist for a little over a year and she could have died under his practice if -- by the grace of God -- I was not there the day she was being administered Remicade. She was receiving this infusion on a monthly basis for well over a year and on every visit to see him, he would mutter a couple of words, jot some things down on a chart, start the infusion and leave the room for hours. On this particular day, my mom went into anaphylactic shock in which case I had to grab him out of his office. At first he just lowered the dosage (he would do a 4 hour drip procedure and try to crunch it into 2 hours) but when my mom's symptoms started to get really bad, I had to grab him again and this time he administered benadryl and steroids to counter the allergic reaction. She was rushed to the ER by paramedics. Luckily for my mom, I told Dr. Freed to "do something!" and he administered the right combination of drugs so my mom lived but the entire incident could have been prevented with better care and proper practicing procedures by the doctor. On the Remicade website, it specifically states that the drug must be administered under supervision -- he failed to do so and almost cost us my mom's life. It is really a sad thing to see someone like Dr. Freed in this medical field, which requires special attention and care for disabled patients. He does not care about his patients and quite frankly -- based on our personal experience -- all he cares about is the money. It's really pathetic and I hope my write-up can help any current/future doctors with some insight from a patient's perspective.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Worst service every experienced - staff is rude and not helpful  |  show details
Oct 11th, 2011

I would never recommend this medical professional to anyone. The doctor spent all but 5 minutes with me and basically asked me to self diagnois.Medical bill was sent to me in error and they submitted the incorrect codes to my insurance. They refused to resubmit to my insurance with the correct information. They wanted me to pay the full amount and ask for reimbursement from my insurance company, when they billed it incorrect in the first place. Called several times and the staff was rude and not helpful.

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Professional  |  show details
Jul 11th, 2011

Knows his area of expertise

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 20th, 2011

Excellent physician

  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  Awfull....  |  show details
Oct 12th, 2010

He's rude, he does not seem to care. If you don't understand something, forget it he won't explain. Need advice on your medical problem, don't even try asking. And his staff, awfull service they are very rude, they will never have patience with you, it seems they are always in a bad mood, & when you ask a question they will always give you a laugh & say " I don't understand what you are trying to tell me"

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  DOESN"T KEEP UP ON RECENT STUDIES  |  show details
Sep 29th, 2010

If you want to go to a dr. that only has the info available 30 yrs. ago, go to him.(In my opinion)

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL!!!!  |  show details
Jul 27th, 2009

If I could give this doctor no stars I would. He was extremely unprofessional and arrogant during the whole appointment and made me feel very uncomfortable. He was not very knowledgeable (up to date) in his area of specialty and lacked any caring towards his patients. I left his office in tears. I do NOT recommend this doctor.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse