Dr. Robert Elliott MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Grapevine, TX

Overall Rating

3.0
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

18 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    42%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    45%
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 13.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2017
Worst experience of my life
Spends Time with Patients
I had emergency gallbladder removal in 2006, and from the very beginning of meeting Dr Elliot (whom I eventually referred to as Dr Idiot) he was condescending, rude, and made me feel like a stupid child for being in pain. Then during the keyhole surgery he cut my bile duct, resulting in switching to the big surgery: 5 hours in surgery, 7-inch incision, 8-day hospital stay, and 10 follow-up ERCP procedures throughout the next year to stretch out my damaged bile duct. DO NOT LET THIS MAN NEAR YOU WITH A SCALPEL.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very thorough. Called me after my surgery and then called me with my results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office is slow, explained as new electronic records, but finally saw the doc who apologized and spent a lot of time with me. He offered to watch my problem for a while and didn't seem eager to "cut". I eventually had surgery. He called to check on me and fussed at my wife because she wasn't following the printed instructions. He seems to care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If your overweight I would not see him. All he can recommend is diet and exercise even if your appendix is about to burst.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2015
Excellent!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The first time I met Dr. Elliott I didn't think I liked him. His manner was extremely professional but seemed a little unfriendly. However, after additional meetings and surgeries with Dr. Elliott I found my first impression to be incorrect! He is an excellent doctor and surgeon whom I trust completely and would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Elliott and staff are the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 19th, 2013
Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After I had been diagnose with gallstones and gallbladder inflammation, I was referred to Dr. Elliott for my surgery. Initially, he struck me as a bit curt, which was perceived as a little rude. In reality, he is just very direct and straight to theppoint. The day of my surgery he was friendly and calm, answered all of my questions. He called the same night to see how i was holding up, and my follow up appointment went perfect. I was hesitant to use him as my surgeon after reading all the negative reviews about him on here, especially for my exact surgery. I almost switched surgeons. But im glad i stayed in Dr. Elliotts care. My incisions healed wonderfully, no excessive scarring, no infection, and easy to understand post surgery instructions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 27th, 2013
Would Not Recommend
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wish I had read these reviews before we went to see him. Our primary doctor referred my son to Dr. Elliott. The primary dr said my son's pain was a hernia, he was just sure of it and sent us to Elliott. Elliott spent all of 2 minutes examining and said he didn't think it was a hernia and to give it at least 2 more months (after we told him walking was painful). He also asked my son what is summer plans were and my son said not much then Elliott told him in a loud voice, how about getting a JOB?! My son has a job, this guy is just rude. We left and never went back. Also...it was a hernia.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 21st, 2013
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had my gallbladder removed and almost died....not just did I not receive any after care, but the good Dr Elliott insisted that nothing was wrong . 2 weeks after the surgery I ended up in the Hospital, septic and with a hughes Absess under my liver, and unattached bile ducts. I was hospitalized for 10 days and had to give my self IV antibiotics for 6 weeks... He did not care one bit. No I have constant problems with my bile ducts....thx Dr Elliott
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 19th, 2012
Bedside manner of a troll
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When delivering pathology results over the phone to my 19 yr old daughter (previously diagnosed with melanoma), she asked about his phrase "negative for residual tumors". After a long pause, he said " and you graduated High School?" then he abruptly hung up. He had been annoyed and rude in previous meetings when we asked about melanoma.

1.0 of 5
March 8th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Went for a consultation for gall bladder removal; figured it was more a formality than anything, just needed to schedule the surgery. Dr. Elliott basically indicated that all the symptoms I'm having were not related to bad gall bladder and suggested high fiber diet and if I chose not to do that, than my symptoms were my own fault. Seemed more concerned w/diagnosing a left inguinal hernia that doesn't bother me than addressing the symptoms that are pretty much incapacitating me. Won't go back and won't recomment him to anyone, ever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2012
Wonderful Doctor!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took my son to the ER because his side was hurting they told me it was gas. The next day our primary doctor sent us to Dr. Elliott and he was able to diagnose my son with appendicitis with 5 minutes. He performed the surgery within a few hours and did an excellent job explaining everything to us. Even when I was concerned about my sons recovery he got us in and checked it out. We highly recommend Dr. Elliott.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Elliott, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Grapevine, TX.