Dr. Robert Lapenna MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.0
  • 63 patient ratings
  • 22 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.3)

22 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    57%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Wait Time 45.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
So happy to see the office is under new management. I didnt have to wait long, the staff seemed much happier and i was told now they have Wednesday hour to alleviate the long wait. Im so happy because Dr LaPenna is a great Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
September 16th, 2016
Had to wait more than 2 hours past my appointment time. This has happened too many times, so I'm leaving him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 15th, 2016
Great Doctor!!!!! Horrible Staff.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lapenna is fine doctor with great knowledge and compassion for his patient. Yes you wait a long time to see him but I justify this by the amount of patients he has and the time he share with each one. I would and have recommended him to many friends and family. With that said, his office staff is a horror not sure why this is. Nasty all the time....They get annoyed when you call for an appointment or need test results. Definitely recommend Dr. but beware of staff.....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 11th, 2016
Go elsewhete
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is not a health prarticioner to rely on
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
VERY PLEASED, GREAT DOCTOR
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 30th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I MOVED RECENTLY TO STATEN ISLAND FROM NYC, I HAVE GONE TO MANY DOCTORS IN NYC, NO COMPARISON TO DR LA PENNA, HE IS SO THROUGH WITH HIS EXAM'S AND EXPLAINS EVERYTHING IN PLAIN ENGLISH, MOST OF ALL THE GREATEST BEDSIDE MANNER. I GIVE DR LA PENNA A TEN (10)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrific doctor but highly overworked. Wish all doctors were as regular as Doctor Robert Lapena
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2015
Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Robert LaPenna is a great doctor great listener, truly cares about his patients. I've known Robert for over 35 yrs. great friend & my doctor. Has always made sure I was in good health especially my heart. And has stayed handsome all these yrs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 16th, 2015
Dr R Lapenna Office Staff
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Dr R Lapenna is a fine Dr and I would recommend, however, the office staff is probably the worst bunch of SOB's you'll have to deal with. They boarder on incompetent and downright nasty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 24th, 2013
So Sad, and such a shame
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I do not see how any of these outstanding reviews posted can be accurate reviews when so many patients who were seen by Dr. Lapenna at his Hylan Boulevard office were extremely disappointed with the office service. His closest friends and office staff obviously make these glamorous reviews to offset the nasty ones. Dr. L obviously took on more than he could handle and, as such, his patients suffered. Over time, his office antics became much worse and his leaving without a trace was the absolute slap in the face to all his patients who put up with his office antics for years....we wait for hours in the waiting room, then more time in the examining room.... Despite his capability as an MD when he actually treated you, he fell quite short when he felt the need to keep secret his intentions to sell his practice to Victory Internal Medicine thereby abandoning his patients. He has NO hospital affiliations and would NEVER treat his patients if they were in hospital. He obviously could not and maybe can never be trusted because he never trusted his patients enough to tell them the truth of his intentions. I was his patient for nearly 10 years and I was one of the stupid ones who put up with his office antics. As for me, I relied on him for my care and he left me for dead. Although I would NEVER recommend him for these reasons, I cannot discount the fact that he was a good or capable MD when he was actually around. However, from reading a previous post, it looks like he couldn't handle the change he made and up and left a surgical patient for dead as well. I do hope that, going forward, he finds the courage to do the right thing by either leaving the medical practice altogether, thereby doing everyone a favor, or get back to business and step up to the plate and care for his patients the way he used to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2013
Love my doc
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Lapenna is an excellent physician .. If your looking for a caring dr on Staten Island he is the one
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I rarely ever waited less than 3 1/2 hrs to be seen. And that's just in the waiting room. Then in the examining room, it could be anywhere from 20 mins to 45 mins until he walks in. I personally like him as a Dr. The only complaint I have at this point now is he moved and no one can contact him to make an appt. or refill their meds, which is important. I had gone into the office where I heard he had moved his practice to, but the woman at the front desk told me it didn't work out for him so he's not there anymore. (he was only there a week) She told me someone from his office would be stopping in that day to return the key to the office. She took my message (and I saw her write the message down) "Patient having surgery needs her meds please call". So far, it's been 2 or 3 weeks and no one has called me. I'm finding a new doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Lapenna, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Staten Island, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Anu Sampat

27 years experience

3.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alexander Kogos

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Wilfredo Velez

32 years experience

4.3 of 5