Dr. Robert Lewen MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Pittsburgh, PA

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 57 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.2)

57 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    61%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    14%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    11%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 21.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 24th, 2017
The finest!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2016
Great retina specialist
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 27th, 2016
He is a great doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a detached retina and he resolved it and I was able to work out the next day. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Lewen is a wonderful doctor. I take my 84 year old mother in law to see him every three months. He is always kind and explains everything that he is doing. She loves him and trusts him completely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 19th, 2015
Excellent Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Couldn't ask for a more caring doctor. Spends time explaining the issues and treatment options. He has saved my vision
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Extremely positive experience. Concise explanations, excellent support personnel with very positive interpersonal skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2015
He is not a monster
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Unfortunately, people usually only bother to write comments when something isn't to their liking. Having read commentary of former patients before my wife's appointment today, I was fearful of who or what was going to walk into that exam room. We were greeted with all of the pleasantry that was necessary and he went straight to his work. He seems to be a very focused and somewhat intense individual and, yes, not the type I would label as warm and fuzzy but committed to helping his patient. For my taste, I'd rather skip the sugar coating and have a doctor who was direct and skilled at their craft. I think that is who I met today.

5.0 of 5
January 14th, 2015
Outstanding demeanor and communication
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very good communicator, put me at ease considering the seriousness of my situation. Knew what he was doing and was highly recommended. I was fortunate to have him do my procedure under urgent circumstances. Prompt and thorough follow up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 12th, 2014
horrible
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
don't ask questions, as he's very defensive. Direct, rude, in and out , little time spent. Very annoyed with any questions.

1.0 of 5
August 5th, 2014
Horrid
Before this man touches your eyes, research everything he says and verify with facts. Get second opinion. He was extremely rude to my mother and was very hostile to any questions when asked to explain specific aspects. He chomped on candy or gum the whole time during the visit and would state pertinent information as we were walking out the door, ending the visit. We had to stop twice to get the information written down correctly. He doesn't seem to know what was going on and when questioned, he got hostile. If you express any concern or emotion, he treats you like you have no brain and will insult. He "missed" vital risk factors that were never expressed to us before the procedure was done, thus resulting in extremely dangerous results. If you have complications, go to the ER for more rapid response--and second opinion as to next step. Do NOT go in alone to any office visits with Dr Lewen, especially if you are hurting or confused. Be your own best advocate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2014
Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lewen is a charismatic and inviting physician with excellent skills as a retinal surgeon, but tends to take poor notes as to what transpired on previous visits, thus causing conflict and stress on subsequent visits. I've had several procedures done by Dr. Lewen, but on the last visit to his office, his approach and disposition was horrific and most unexpected.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2014
Retina detached, eyesight restored
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Due to blotched up laser eye surgery from another doctor. I woke up one morning blind in one eye. The retina had become detached. I was able to make an appt in Pittsburgh the next day with Dr. Lewen. He performed surgery at Allegheny Hospital. He explained in detail the recuperation procedure. I would highly recommend this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Lewen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.