The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Lewen Is this you?

Filter Reviews

58 Ratings • 15 Comments

4.1
  • 35
  • 6
  • 9
  • 2
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
21.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Lewen?

Showing 12 of 58 Ratings

The finest!

Posted on January 24th, 2017

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Great retina specialist

Posted on October 10th, 2016

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

He is a great doctor

Posted on August 27th, 2016

I had a detached retina and he resolved it and I was able to work out the next day. It was fantastic.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 3rd, 2015

Dr.Lewen is a wonderful doctor. I take my 84 year old mother in law to see him every three months. He is always kind and explains everything that he is doing. She loves him and trusts him completely.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Doctor

Posted on June 19th, 2015

Couldn't ask for a more caring doctor. Spends time explaining the issues and treatment options. He has saved my vision

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 26th, 2015

Extremely positive experience. Concise explanations, excellent support personnel with very positive interpersonal skills.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He is not a monster

Posted on February 10th, 2015

Unfortunately, people usually only bother to write comments when something isn't to their liking. Having read commentary of former patients before my wife's appointment today, I was fearful of who or what was going to walk into that exam room. We were greeted with all of the pleasantry that was necessary and he went straight to his work. He seems to be a very focused and somewhat intense individual and, yes, not the type I would label as warm and fuzzy but committed to helping his patient. For my taste, I'd rather skip the sugar coating and have a doctor who was direct and skilled at their craft. I think that is who I met today.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Outstanding demeanor and communication

Posted on January 14th, 2015

Very good communicator, put me at ease considering the seriousness of my situation. Knew what he was doing and was highly recommended. I was fortunate to have him do my procedure under urgent circumstances. Prompt and thorough follow up.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

horrible

Posted on September 12th, 2014

don't ask questions, as he's very defensive. Direct, rude, in and out , little time spent. Very annoyed with any questions.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrid

Posted on August 5th, 2014

Before this man touches your eyes, research everything he says and verify with facts. Get second opinion. He was extremely rude to my mother and was very hostile to any questions when asked to explain specific aspects. He chomped on candy or gum the whole time during the visit and would state pertinent information as we were walking out the door, ending the visit. We had to stop twice to get the information written down correctly. He doesn't seem to know what was going on and when questioned, he got hostile. If you express any concern or emotion, he treats you like you have no brain and will insult. He "missed" vital risk factors that were never expressed to us before the procedure was done, thus resulting in extremely dangerous results. If you have complications, go to the ER for more rapid response--and second opinion as to next step. Do NOT go in alone to any office visits with Dr Lewen, especially if you are hurting or confused. Be your own best advocate.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on June 20th, 2014

Dr. Lewen is a charismatic and inviting physician with excellent skills as a retinal surgeon, but tends to take poor notes as to what transpired on previous visits, thus causing conflict and stress on subsequent visits. I've had several procedures done by Dr. Lewen, but on the last visit to his office, his approach and disposition was horrific and most unexpected.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Retina detached, eyesight restored

Posted on March 11th, 2014

Due to blotched up laser eye surgery from another doctor. I woke up one morning blind in one eye. The retina had become detached. I was able to make an appt in Pittsburgh the next day with Dr. Lewen. He performed surgery at Allegheny Hospital. He explained in detail the recuperation procedure. I would highly recommend this doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Lewen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.