The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. William Rout Is this you?

Filter Reviews

10 Ratings • 7 Comments

2.7
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
35 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. William Rout?

Showing 10 of 10 Ratings

One Star

Posted on June 21st, 2015

THIS PHYSICIAN SHOULD HAVE HIS LICENSE REVOKED. HIS INEPTITUDE LEFT ME WITHOUT A SPLEEN AND WITH SEVERE LUNG DAMAGE.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Try a local Veterinarian first

Posted on April 6th, 2015

Quite possibly the worst doctor ever..... period. Need a no star category.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

his surgeries resulted in the loss of my spleen and my lung function

Posted on March 28th, 2014

I went through 2 hiatal hernia surgeries with Dr. Rout. The first one, approx. 11 years ago, came apart and my spleen was cut by mistake and had to be removed. The redo 10 years ago was too tight and has resulted in micro aspiration of food and severe lung damage. I signed a paper after the 1st surgery that Dr. Rout had to do the redo himself .As I was being anesthetized Dr. Rout came in with the paper in hand and said" what is this ! This is a teaching hospital and my students hands will be in your body and if you don.t like that get out of here .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

If I could give zero stars, I would...

Posted on August 8th, 2013

To say this doctor has HORRIBLE bedside manner would be the understatement of the century. I am a 34 year old man who was injured (documented!) in a work accident several years ago, and have been unemployed due to the injuries since that time. Following an accident, I went to Shands Emergency room and was admitted to the hospital for nine days. When I was released, I was given an appointment with this physician. He came in with a chip on his shoulder, and before he even met me, he had decided I must be a drug-seeking, IV drug using thug simply because I was indigent. I felt emotionally VIOLATED by this doctor and his attitude. Without even looking at the records from my hospital stay, and without having any access to my medical records, he basically told me that everything every specialist had previously diagnosed was wrong, that the pain and nerve damage I've been feeling is all in my head. Other complaints: he was almost two hours late for the appointment. While waiting, I went to use the restroom, I saw him sitting at his computer playing Spider Cell Solitaire. He threatened to call the court where I have a case pending for disability (complete with about 400 pages of medical documentation) and try to get my case thrown out. He made anti-Muslim comments about some of the physicians I had seen in the past. This man shouldn't be allowed near another human being, let alone be given the power to determine someone's medical care. The nurses and physician tried to warn me that he was "grouchy." That's pretty much like calling Joseph Stalin "a little mean."

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 2nd, 2011

Dealt with all issues directly and without unnecessary avoidance of side issues.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on January 27th, 2011

He only saw me once after small bowel resection surgery in the hospital. And sent interns instead who discharged me with a bowel obstruction. obviously he wasn't supervising them, and didn't do his job. I spent the next month in a different hospital recovering from his care.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 14th, 2010

Very bad bedside manner. Extremely unprofessional. Only stayed with him because we were told, by residents and doctors of Shands, that he was head of colorectal surgery & that people come from all over the world to be treated by him. He left turning us back over to GI services with worse problems than I started with. Don't know where he is now or what he is doing. Get a different story from all professionals and employees at Shands.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 15th, 2017

One Star

Posted on April 14th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 18th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. William Rout is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Augusta, GA.