ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Bernstein Is this you?
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
  • 11

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Bernstein?


18 Ratings with 13 Comments

1.0 Rating

July 12th, 2016

worst doctor I ever had. Would not listen to me and treated me as if I were an idiot. Very brusque and dismissive. I had to be very assertive to get my point across (to no avail, btw). I've been treated for thyroid issues over 20 years (moved to NYC and needed a new doc) and I am very informed about thyroid treatment. Found another doctor who changed my meds. I nearly cried to find someone who spoke the same language.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 4th, 2016

Horrible

I was told I was getting a biopsy for my thyroid and missed 3 hours of work for the appointment. Instead I got there and he said he was "very busy" because he had to teach a class later and said he couldn't do it that day and the next time I could was in a month. This is for a test determining if I have cancer mind you. Thyroid cancer is slow growing typically yes but he dismissed me completely. His phone also rang twice while he was examining me and he stopped examining to check it. He had no helpful information and it was a total waste of my time and now I am left worrying for another month after a suspicious ultra sound. Don't go to him.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 4th, 2015

For you own sake don't go to this DR

Writing reviews is not something I ever do but after seeing this Doctor in Sept 2015, I felt I had no choice. Dr Bernstein was dismissive and uninterested. He spoke to me like I was stupid, had no interest in why I was there even though I had been told by my primary doctor that I needed to see an endocrinologist. When I persisted in telling him my symptoms and CT results, he told me that "if it was serious I would be dead already". He took a non urgent phone call during my appt and left the room. I will never return to this man. He made me feel like I was making up how badly I was feeling. He had no interest what so ever.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 27th, 2013

Not again

Have Graves Disease, recent eye involvement with inflammation of eyelids. Visit was short, no explanation of treatment rational, or plan. Was told to return in one month. Thought he had poor rapport with patient. Did not feel understood and my concerns were dismissed. Will not return.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2012

fixed thyroid disease

diagnosed and treated Graves Disease (hyperthyroid), and subsequent low thyroid levels after radiation treatment. Excellent clinical physician - uses his observational experience. Deeply trust this doctor.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 12th, 2012

I'd have to agree with the other poor reviews. TERRIBLE bedside manner. He was very condescending and actually disinterested in helping me. I cried in his office, he was so rude and unfeeling about my medical problems. He may be competent, but I am never seeing this man again. Again, I wouldn't really know if he is, because after a test was done he never called to follow up. Have an appointment to see a new doctor ASAP.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2012

STAY AWAY

Dr. Bernstein is a rude boor. He scolds patients, and has the bedside manner of a gruff auto mechanic. While he may be competent (although he has, according to the internet, been the subject of at least one malpractice suit), he is a jerk. He is offensive, he has no problem yelling at his patients (in my case, I mean LITERALLY yelling for having the audacity to suggest that I couldn't wait a 10th day for someone from his office to mail me a prescription), and when I told his secretary to send my files on to my new doctor, she laughed and said "you're not the first person to have a problem with his attitude." Ridiculous that this guy thinks he can get away with this. Dr. Bernstein, it's time to retire and go be a jerk to your family. Leave the rest of us alone.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 27th, 2012

Merchandiser

This was one of the worst Dr.s I have been to in nyc. I should have walked out after dealing with the women at the front desk. Two of the four were on personal calls that they didn't feel the need to disconnect while "helping" me or others. The Dr. was rude when he finally came out 45 min. later and was unkept. His tie was torn, he had hair coming out of every orpheus, and his office actual office was a mess. I was issued blood work and decided that I was going to pass and left without having it done. I will not be back.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2011

57 yo male w/ Diabetes, Hypertension, Cholesterol

Highly knowledgeable. Treats multiple ailments skillfully. If you want the best and are willing to follow great medical advice, look no further.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 24th, 2011

Nice Doctor and Kind Bed Side Manner

I met with Doctor Bernstein. He was soft spoken and very knowledgeable and kind. He gave me a choice to go on synthroid he did not push the drug. I told him all the vitamins I was taking I got off kelp with was making my thyroid low and went want a few months later the results were amazing I was better. Told me to follow up in 3 months. I would recommend this gentleman. He graduated from Harvard Medical School.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 26th, 2011

This doctor has the WORSE bedside manner there is. He is rude and seriously needs to consider retiring. He yelled and was very condescending. Absolutely WOULD NOT go back to him or refer anyone else to him.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 9th, 2010

Scary
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Bernstein is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr Boyan Hadjiev

    Allergy and Immunology, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY

    4.7
    (55)
    Accepts online appointments
  • Dr. Robert Kornberg

    Dr. Robert Kornberg

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31
  • Dr. Hassan Khouli

    Dr. Hassan Khouli

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine, Critical Care Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    30