ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Friedman Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Friedman?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Friedman?

Ratings and Reviews

54 Ratings with 14 Comments

  • Excellent
    41
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    7
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    41
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    7
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
19 min
Appropriate Followup

Showing 54 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 8th, 2017

THE REAL THING

I have been going to him for years. Even came back to see him when I was stationed in Europe for seven years. Operated on my cataracts recently and I am seeing like a 20 year old!

Wait time
10 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

May 27th, 2015

If you want to be run through an assembly line this is the place for you

Nice office. Nice staff. Spent about 30 minutes being dilated and having my vision checked by junior doctors and about 5 minutes with Dr. Friedman who spouted a lot of information about my condition from a textbook but very little about what is actually going on in my eyes as an individual patient. Absolutely ridiculous to spend over 500 dollars in a factory line and see the boss on the way out. I saw him for a second opinion and realized how much better it was with my usual ophthalmologist.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2014

good but it will cost you!

He is an exccellent doctor. however, the office does not take any insurance, they have ridiculous rates AND is uncooperative about working with insurance companies when seeking reimbursement.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2014

All Star Ophthalmologist

The man is brilliant! That should be enough, but he is nice and funny as well. I had a wonderful experience. I know that I have cataracts and frankly, I am terrified. Dr. Friedman sat with me, explained to me what cataracts are, drew me pictures, and even explained that they have lenses that can make me not rely so much on glasses. Think of that...the thing I fear the most can actually make my life so much better. But, more than anything else, it was his manner. He is smart, nice and sincere. I do not want to push it, but I am actually looking forward to my surgery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 18th, 2012

Excellent Doctor; Ridiculous Charges

Dr. Friedman is a terrific doctor with excellent medical skills. However, he does not take insurance and his bills are ridiculously high - without any notice that the charges would be that high. I found this offensive and left him for a similarly skilled surgeon who takes a wide range of insurance.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 27th, 2012

Money hungry doctor

This doctor does not accept insurance and he pads his bill by performing unnecessary services in his office and you aren't told beforehand about the charges. The wait is over an hour and it's like a factory with patients coming in and out every few minutes. The doctor spends 5 minutes with you and talks with his back to you. He is rushed and just seems interested in getting to the next patient. You get examined by someone else. The office staff is rude and has a bad attitude. I do not recommend Dr. Robert Friedman. He's the worst eye doctor I've ever been to, with the worst office staff.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 3rd, 2012

Great physician

Dr. Friedman always makes me feel like I am his primary concern whenever I'm in the office, even though there are other patients clearly waiting to see him. He is punctual, considerate and gentle, not to mention great at what he does.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 20th, 2011

highly recommended

I would absolutely recommend Dr. Friedman, he takes time & care during an exam, explains diagnoses & treatments to me, and has excellent "bedside manner." His staff are very helpful, friendly & polite, especially when dealing with billing & insurance.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2011

I just had an absolutely extraordinary experience in Dr. Robert Friedman's office. I presented with a problem that has plagued me for years and has cost me a fortune in mised diagnoses. Not anymore. I discussed my issues and Dr. Friedman seemed to get it immediately. He talked to me, LISTENED, examined me and then.... discussed my situation!! We both think that he made the right diagnosis and that we are on the way to a cure, but even if it is not successful, it was the best visit I ever had. Dr. Friedman does not take insurance, and I understand why: HE IS WORTH IT!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2011

patien

is asking your opinion WE JUST FINISHED A HOLIDAY AND TODAYFIRST DAYBACK FOR DR. HOWEVER I HAVE BEEN HIS PATIENT HE JUST DID A CATERAT ON ONE EYE AND THERE IS STICKING HE TOOOO BUSY TODAY I SHOULD SEE SOMEBODY ELSE...VERY RUDE RECEPTIONIST AND SO HOW CAN HE BE NICE....BESIDES WHEN HE TOLD ME WHAT HE WILL BE DOING HE SAID FOR $3000 MORE HE CANMATCH BOTH EYES...THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A HINT TO THE OFFICE AND HELP IN AN EMERGENCY HE DEF DOESN'T CARE ONCE BOTH EYES ARE DONE....NOT MY TYPE OF PERSON OR HELP.

Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 24th, 2011

I was injured out of the country and phoned Dr. Friedman's office immediately prior to my flight to NYC. I was given an appointment the next day, was greeted by a professional office team and waited only minutes before seeing Dr. Friedman.I am active with a number of hospitals and found Dr. Friedman to be excellent in all respects. He was thorough, explained complex medical terms in plain English and provided some of the best treatment and advice I have ever seen. Overall, an excellent experience.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 25th, 2010

A 20+ YEAR PATIENT'S VIEW

I met Dr. Robert when I was in my teens and have travelled from NJ to NYC to see him religiously over the years. He has guided me through contacts, laser eye surgery and for the last 10 years, monitoring potential glaucoma indicators. As a man, he is a phenomenal person. As a doctor, he is even better. He has cared for my entire family and remembers us personally as well as professionally. There is not enough good to say about him or his staff. They are the best!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Friedman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Olivia Serdarevic

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0.02 mi

    4.2
    (13)
    36
  • Dr. Karen Nipper

    Dr. Karen Nipper

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0.08 mi

    3.9
    (31)
    16
  • Dr. Boaz Lissauer

    Dr. Boaz Lissauer

    Ophthalmology, Plastic Surgery

    New York, NY 0.08 mi

    4.7
    (64)
    20