Dr. Robert Vande Guchte MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine Lincoln, NE

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 42 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (+ 0.1)

42 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    38%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    14%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    38%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 36.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2017
The worst bedside manner of any physician I have encountered. No empathy for his patients at all.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2016
Acts as if he's better then his patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was extremely rude, didn't explain things clearly to patient, and different listen to patient well at all. We were told he would be up to the hospital room the next morning after surgery, but we're not contacted by anyone from his office until later the next afternoon. To beat it all, his PA wrote the pain meds for the wrong medicine, not as strong, so we had to get a new script the following day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2015
Not recommended.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosis wrong caused pain and extended leave from work. Sad that being wrong did not seem to bother him or seemed to care at all what it did to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2014
Great Result
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My lower back surgery was performed quickly and effectively. I was up and about in 2 days. Pain was gone!! Everything worked as predicted. I understood what was needed, and what had to be done. I have been in great shape now for 5 + years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 11th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Vanderbilt Guchte didn't seem like a caring Dr. He just told me to live with the pain. I don't think he believed how much I was hurting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He talked in circles - when I left his office, I still did not know what issues had shown up on my MRI - even after asking questions to try to find out! Had to go to another doctor to find out what was going on. Very poor communication. With the appointment going so negatively, I surely didn't want him doing surgery on me. His nurse and PA were nice, though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 18th, 2013
Quack is right
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I agree with the prior comments. I waited to see him for 1hr 40 mins. If you are looking for a "professional" specialist find someone else. I went in for back/neck pain and made the error of commenting about age. He quickly responded the "Good Lord" didn't put us on this earth to have us suffer with pain as we age. He then proceeded to lecture on God's divine genetic plan. He asked if I went to a family doctor prior to visiting his office. When I told him no, he immediately lashed out "what, you don't think they are good enough". As the visit proceeded he advised me there are three options for everyone: 1) surgery which is what he specializes in, 2) medication, 3) physical therapy or chiropractic care. This basically implied if you are not here for surgery you are wasting my time. He then went on about the devil and that chiropractors are not the devil, they are our neighbors. I'm really not sure where the anger came from as I made no comment to have provoked him. I finally cut him off to redirect him back to the reason I was in his office. I recapped my concerns and discussed what I felt I should do at this time (which was not surgery). He then ubruptly left the room. I didn't realized he was done with me until I heard him in the next room with another patient. I'm not completely confident with his assessment of me or should I say lack of, and I will be finding another doctor.

1.0 of 5
April 4th, 2013
Absolute Quackery
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had to wait in the office for over an hour, then I found out why. The PA and X-Ray tech were great, but then this guy walked in. I wanted to find out if I could medically improve my condition/hasten my recovery from a bulging disc (I had a ruptured disc/surgery 4 years prior). He walked in, didn't ever look at the X-Rays, spent 15 minutes preaching to me about how God created everyone gentically differently, how all discs bulge and that once bulged they stay bulged, how my problems were completely mechanically joint related. My wife was with me, every question we asked resulted in a "no, you've got to stop talking about xxxx, that's doesn't happen". It was like a creationist lecture on God's divine genetic plan. He didn't look at any of the pre-registration documents I filled out (required by practice) where I listed the exact dates/times nature of problem and improvements I had over the week. He spent 15 minutes on the vagueries of pain. At no time did he ever say this is what I think is wrong with you, this is what I suggest you do. He spent 15 minutes telling me about how he had 3 degenerated discs, one that was bone on bone, but how he never had a day of pain. To be fair, I have no idea of his surgical skills, and if you are already certain you need surgery, that is one thing, but in my opinion if you are going to see him due to ongoing back pain or a back injury/incident (although he seems to think that cannot occur - everything is degeneration due to aging), I say find someone else and don't waste your time or money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2013
Wouldn't send my dog to him
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have to agree with the other review that this doctor's bedside manner is terrible. He is argumentative, preachy and acts as if the patient is too stupid to figure things out. He makes you feel as if you are wasting his time. He is a narcissist who is more concerned about his image than his patients. Stay away from this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 18th, 2012
Did not care at all for this doctor
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was put off by his bedside manner, his argumentative tone when responding to questions, his preachy way of talking at his patient, his disregard for comments/concerns mentioned by his patient. His attitude seemed to be "you're getting older, your spine is changing, you'll have to deal with it" when a more thorough, caring, and professional medical staff offered potential problems they'd look for, and were VERY prompt in contacting me when the diagnosis was complete. I will recommend against this doctor to anyone who will listen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2009
bob with hardware and fusion
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
YOU CAN NOT FIND A BETTER CONCERNED AND KNOWLEDGEABLE DR. JUST IMPRESIVE. I RECENTLY HAD AN X RAY OF MY BACK AND AN UNCONNECTED MD. JUST RAVED OVER THE QUALITY OF WORK SEEN IN XRAY OF MT LOWER BACK . I MUST ADD THAT ALL THAT WAS TOLD TO ME BY DR R VANDER GUTCHE WASON THE UP N UP I JUST FEEL LUCKY WITH THE OUTCOME OF THE SURGERY. NICE MAN WONDERFUL WORK
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Vande Guchte, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Lincoln, NE.