The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Vande Guchte Is this you?

Filter Reviews

46 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.2
  • 20
  • 2
  • 6
  • 2
  • 16

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
36.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Vande Guchte?

Showing 12 of 46 Ratings

The worst bedside manner of any physician I have encountered. No empathy for his patients at all.

Posted on February 22nd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Acts as if he's better then his patient

Posted on September 3rd, 2016

He was extremely rude, didn't explain things clearly to patient, and different listen to patient well at all. We were told he would be up to the hospital room the next morning after surgery, but we're not contacted by anyone from his office until later the next afternoon. To beat it all, his PA wrote the pain meds for the wrong medicine, not as strong, so we had to get a new script the following day.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not recommended.

Posted on July 1st, 2015

Diagnosis wrong caused pain and extended leave from work. Sad that being wrong did not seem to bother him or seemed to care at all what it did to me.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Result

Posted on October 16th, 2014

My lower back surgery was performed quickly and effectively. I was up and about in 2 days. Pain was gone!! Everything worked as predicted. I understood what was needed, and what had to be done. I have been in great shape now for 5 + years.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 11th, 2014

Dr Vanderbilt Guchte didn't seem like a caring Dr. He just told me to live with the pain. I don't think he believed how much I was hurting.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 18th, 2014

He talked in circles - when I left his office, I still did not know what issues had shown up on my MRI - even after asking questions to try to find out! Had to go to another doctor to find out what was going on. Very poor communication. With the appointment going so negatively, I surely didn't want him doing surgery on me. His nurse and PA were nice, though.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Quack is right

Posted on November 18th, 2013

I agree with the prior comments. I waited to see him for 1hr 40 mins. If you are looking for a "professional" specialist find someone else. I went in for back/neck pain and made the error of commenting about age. He quickly responded the "Good Lord" didn't put us on this earth to have us suffer with pain as we age. He then proceeded to lecture on God's divine genetic plan. He asked if I went to a family doctor prior to visiting his office. When I told him no, he immediately lashed out "what, you don't think they are good enough". As the visit proceeded he advised me there are three options for everyone: 1) surgery which is what he specializes in, 2) medication, 3) physical therapy or chiropractic care. This basically implied if you are not here for surgery you are wasting my time. He then went on about the devil and that chiropractors are not the devil, they are our neighbors. I'm really not sure where the anger came from as I made no comment to have provoked him. I finally cut him off to redirect him back to the reason I was in his office. I recapped my concerns and discussed what I felt I should do at this time (which was not surgery). He then ubruptly left the room. I didn't realized he was done with me until I heard him in the next room with another patient. I'm not completely confident with his assessment of me or should I say lack of, and I will be finding another doctor.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Absolute Quackery

Posted on April 4th, 2013

I had to wait in the office for over an hour, then I found out why. The PA and X-Ray tech were great, but then this guy walked in. I wanted to find out if I could medically improve my condition/hasten my recovery from a bulging disc (I had a ruptured disc/surgery 4 years prior). He walked in, didn't ever look at the X-Rays, spent 15 minutes preaching to me about how God created everyone gentically differently, how all discs bulge and that once bulged they stay bulged, how my problems were completely mechanically joint related. My wife was with me, every question we asked resulted in a "no, you've got to stop talking about xxxx, that's doesn't happen". It was like a creationist lecture on God's divine genetic plan. He didn't look at any of the pre-registration documents I filled out (required by practice) where I listed the exact dates/times nature of problem and improvements I had over the week. He spent 15 minutes on the vagueries of pain. At no time did he ever say this is what I think is wrong with you, this is what I suggest you do. He spent 15 minutes telling me about how he had 3 degenerated discs, one that was bone on bone, but how he never had a day of pain. To be fair, I have no idea of his surgical skills, and if you are already certain you need surgery, that is one thing, but in my opinion if you are going to see him due to ongoing back pain or a back injury/incident (although he seems to think that cannot occur - everything is degeneration due to aging), I say find someone else and don't waste your time or money.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wouldn't send my dog to him

Posted on February 4th, 2013

I have to agree with the other review that this doctor's bedside manner is terrible. He is argumentative, preachy and acts as if the patient is too stupid to figure things out. He makes you feel as if you are wasting his time. He is a narcissist who is more concerned about his image than his patients. Stay away from this doctor.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Did not care at all for this doctor

Posted on September 18th, 2012

I was put off by his bedside manner, his argumentative tone when responding to questions, his preachy way of talking at his patient, his disregard for comments/concerns mentioned by his patient. His attitude seemed to be "you're getting older, your spine is changing, you'll have to deal with it" when a more thorough, caring, and professional medical staff offered potential problems they'd look for, and were VERY prompt in contacting me when the diagnosis was complete. I will recommend against this doctor to anyone who will listen.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

bob with hardware and fusion

Posted on November 11th, 2009

YOU CAN NOT FIND A BETTER CONCERNED AND KNOWLEDGEABLE DR. JUST IMPRESIVE. I RECENTLY HAD AN X RAY OF MY BACK AND AN UNCONNECTED MD. JUST RAVED OVER THE QUALITY OF WORK SEEN IN XRAY OF MT LOWER BACK . I MUST ADD THAT ALL THAT WAS TOLD TO ME BY DR R VANDER GUTCHE WASON THE UP N UP I JUST FEEL LUCKY WITH THE OUTCOME OF THE SURGERY. NICE MAN WONDERFUL WORK

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 29th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Vande Guchte is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lincoln, NE.