Dr. Robert Vawter MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.7
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (+ 0.6)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    33%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    54%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 8.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 26th, 2015
Worst Doctor I've ever seen!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
At first he appeared to be a caring doctor who said he would get through this 'with me' blah, blah blah. After 2 plus years with him he turned on a dime into a nasty, rude, uncaring, mean, bullying doctor who has a front office girl who is just as nasty as he is. I turned him into the hospital where he 'rents' his space from and talked to MANY people who work in the hospital near him and to many others who saw him in the past. Their stories and experiences were as bad, if not worse, than my own. Please people....don't mess around and go a little further out of the area for a doctor who can truly help you and care for you. I have had doctors who say they go the other way in the hall because they don't want to deal with him. It's sad and scare that someone like this man can be called a 'physician' and people trust him with their lives. He had me on Methotrexate and Humira injections for 2 years only to find out after going to rheumatoid physicians at WVU and Cleveland Clinic that I was wrongly diagnosed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 6th, 2014
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I visited in around 2002. I was referred because my RA Factor was off the chart. He was SO rude to me. Did not even get near me. And, said there was NOTHING wrong with me. I have never been treated in any way near like this and I have 9 specialists.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 29th, 2014
Excuse me, do we have the same doctor?
I'm appalled at the negative reviews I read on here! My experience over the past 5 years as a patient has all been positive. Dr. V and his staff have bent over backwards to accommodate my needs (especially when I'm travelling), and they have never been anything but professional. The doc even remembers personal details about me and my family. He is direct, which I like, and he pulls no punches. His treatment of my RA has kept me pain-free and functioning like a "normal" human being for the past 5 years. He told me at my first visit that if I followed his advice "to the letter", this would be the case, and I have done that. Perhaps some of these people just want to have their hand held, or don't participate actively in their therapy, neither of which is the fault of the practitioner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 25th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There are other rheumatologists in Morgantown, or in Columbus, OH. Don't waste your time on this guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2012
1st Visit with Dr. Vawter
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very impressed with this dr. After reading the reviews about him, I was really worried about the visit. He and his staff treated me and my husband with respect and kindness. I would highly recommend Dr. Vawter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 9th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am so glad to see people coming out and telling about their terrible experiences here. I'm not alone...thank you so much and I do support you as well.I have never received an explanation or apology for having a confirmed appt canceled or for being treated so rudely at the office after the very long painful drive, and my husband's lost time from work. I don't ever expect one. Obviously Dr Vawter is encouraging people to come and make positive statements on his behalf. There are some very dissatisfied people and it needs to be told. I stand with you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 12th, 2011
Maintaining Poor Opinion
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I still very much stand on a poor evaluation of this doctor and his staff. I still have heard folks tell me about their bad experiences with him, as well as heard from staff of Wheeling Hospital, that he has a terrible bedside manner and is a poor practitioner. Too bad it's not publicized widely, but I understand why not, as these folks would like to keep their jobs. Value your health and take the extra time to go somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 24th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he has always greeted me with a smile. sits down and discusses plan of care. he does expect a pt to be compliant for their own good. his staff is very nice to me and always remembers me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 12th, 2010
professional and caring
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found the doctor to be both professional and caring. His staff treated me in a friendly manner and were more than happy to answer any questions I had. I plan on returning and remaining under his care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't waste your time with this practice. They are all rude and very unprofessional. They care nothing about you as a patient or individual. I've seen posts here in the past from others who had a bad experience with him and his staff. I will continue to encourage others to post their bad experiences here as well as contact the State Medical Board, even if the Board does make excuses to say there is no "fault". The Medical Boards are made up of colleagues, so of course they'll do what they can to protect the doctor, not the patient. But,it still goes on record that the doctor has had a report filed against him.I think it would be worth your time to travel a longer distance (anywhere but Wheeling) to see a rheumatologist who is a true professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Continual disappointment. The state medical board will always make excuses for the doctors until they're backed into a corner. However, it does remain on record when a complaint has been filed, as I had done, so I would still encourage people to file complaints.I've never received an explanation or apology from an incredibly bad experience, and very rude staff and doctor. Doctors have long ago stopped caring for their patients. Their only interests now are in their liability insurance costs and probably their stock.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 28th, 2010
A Nurse's Bad Experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I maintain my position that Dr Vawter is a poor practitioner who cares little if at all for his patients.A good physician would not make a determination that he couldn't do anything to help a patient he never met, especially given that patient is symptomatic and has lab abnormalities suggestive of specific disease, in his area of specialty. I have been diagnosed with a rheumatic disease by another physician, but Dr Vawter couldn't help me? I only wish that the people who posted bad ratings here in the past would update on their reviews so others would be warned of how many people have had a bad experience with this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Vawter, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Wheeling, WV.

Doctor

Dr. Shashi Urval

22 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jasmine Trouten

25 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Angelo Georges

31 years experience

4.3 of 5