Dr. Rodney Yamaki MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.5
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

2.7 (+ 0.2)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    35%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    59%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 9.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Yamaki sounds very soft spoken and nice but seems that he can be picky with his patients. My husband has Social Phobia, Agoraphobia and depression so it is extremely hard for him to go out or see anybody in general without having an anxiety attack. So one day my husband had an anxiety attack and could not make it to an appointment. I called and left a message for Dr.Yamaki, apologized and explained why he could not make it and asked to call back to reschedule another appointment. Left a few messages but never received a call back. Now the anti-depression medication prescribed from Dr.Yamaki was running out, since there was no word from Dr.Yamaki I naturally asked the pharmacist to fax Dr.Yamaki's office for a refill request as usual. Received a call from the pharmacist that Dr.Yamaki is not authorizing the refill. Being a Doctor for the field of Psychiatry, having patients with mental and emotional problems, I feel very disappointed that he seems to show no understanding to my husbands anxiety attack, and with the way he treated my husband by not returning any calls, seeming like not wanting to schedule an appointment with no explanation and refusing to refill his anti-depression medication just because he missed 1 appointment due to an anxiety attack. EXACTLY the problem why he was seeing Dr.Yamaki for. I would have no problem paying the cancellation fee for not being able to make the appointment, but that doesn't seem to be the case. Now my husband is struggling with no anti-depression medication, fighting with his depression while I try to find a psychiatrist that can fit my husband in to schedule. I won't say he is a bad Doctor, there seems to be some good review but if you feel uncomfortable with him please change your Doctor immediately. I can't imagine how many other patients could go in to a serious mental condition just because Dr.Yamaki feels like he don't want to see you anymore, because he expects you to be at the appointment at all cost even though your condition makes you incapable of doing so.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 30th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Find another doctor. The office was filthy, the receptionist ignores you, the doctor was ill-informed, unprofessional and did not even attempt to evaluate my child. Oh, and he was drinking out of a coffee cup that looked like it had not been washed, ever - revolting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2015
Bad doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He judged me an madee feel like it's my fault I suffer from very severe anxiety and depression to the point I can't work an he didn't belive me an said I should go to work when I really can't even be around people with having a panic attack!s so I stay home witchakes me depressed an from the way I look I could tell her didn't believe it, anyways I wouldn't go to h he's no good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 15th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I think I'm wasting my time with this doctor because he doesn't give me a proper diagnosis. Now I'm no rocket scientist but I'm sure anyone can figure this guy out. I wished I had reviewed his ratings before actually seeing this guy. It's a waste of time and don't know how this is helping me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 24th, 2015
Eh
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Before I begin with my negative review I would like to say that he was about the only Dr who would accept my insurance and see me right away. For that, I will give him credit. He diagnosed me as bipolar without even testing me. I had to lie and tell him I was taking my bipolar meds just so he could give me the depression medication that I needed. Our 15 minute sessions were pointless because there was really nothing to talk about and even when there was, he would make the wrong assumptions. After a year, I wanted to get off the medication but he he wouldn't take me off because he didn't think I was ready. At the end, I just simply stopped going to his appointments and weaned myself off the meds. He then sends me 2 bills for "missed appointments" that were over 6 months old. It makes me feel like he didn't charge me before because he had a steady paycheck from my insurance. But as soon as I left, he decided to charge me for missed appointments. Nice guy, just not a very good doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2015
Great Doctor!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Yamaki was so professional from the first time I spoke with him. After several attempts in trying to find a psychatrist to help me wean off my meds, he had called me back almost immediately. I was so impressed with his compassion as I told him that I need help and no one was calling me back or taken new patients. He is very thorough, knowledgeable and professional. He knows what hes talking about. He has made me feel better already, and Ive been with him for less than 1 month. I highly recommend Dr. Yamaki, for anyone who needs help.. I feel safe in knowing that he has the best interest of his clients at heart. I hope that people reading this will help you feel more confident when trying to find a psych who really cares about his patients well being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2014
Very rude, weird & strange!!!
He was rude because I wanted to reschedule an appointment but he gave me such a hard time. Then he said he doesn't have another appt until a couple of weeks, and I said that's fine. Then he goes back and says I must come in to my original appt. I feel that he only wants to get my insurance to pay him for my visit and doesn't care about my issue. I also found him to be weird, he will talk to himself sometimes, or say something out of left field and laugh to himself. I felt uncomfortable with him because he didn't listen to me and he was very pretentious and egotistical. Do not see this Doctor you will regret it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 30th, 2014
Terrible
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not professional. Quick to judge without knowing the whole problem. Kept using/paying attention to his computer as if he was having communicating with some one else. Plus kept smiling to what he was reading on his computer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was asking more question then giving his evaluation. Asked about continuing medication said "If you stop taking your medication it is like stopping chemotherapy when you have cancer. I truly believe I will not die if I stop my medication and I am not a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 9th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do not go to this doctor! Difficult to schedule appointments, mistakenly gave away my appointment time and then expected me to pull my child out of school because he couldn't reschedule the appointment. Charges my insurance company $150 for a visit that lasts less than 15 minutes and barely even talks to my child during that appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Yamaki is really considerate and takes all people's situations and all of their surroundings into consideration before making any prescriptions for certain medication. You can also tell that he genuinely cares about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 7th, 2012
Experience of suffering
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wish I had read these reviews before I ended up seeing him for few months and had made me feel worse than ever...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Rodney Yamaki, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Honolulu, HI.

Doctor

Dr. Shaylin Chock

10 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lauren Hodge

8 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Will Portman

be the first to rate this Doctor