Roland F Chalifoux Jr, DO
Pain Management Doctors
23 years of experience

Accepting new patients
1001 W Baltimore St
McMechen, WV 26040
304-242-4004
Locations and availability (2)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
1.5
  • Currently 1.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

51

Total Reviews

15

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 1.5555555555556 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 1.8333333333333 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 1.6666666666667 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 1.5555555555556 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 1.5555555555556 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 1.6666666666667 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 53 minutes
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  back pain  |  show details
by william on Jul 25th, 2014

he is the worst doc i have ever seen.the medical industery has went to heck but i dont need to tell the older people.let me tell u about my time with him it was over 2 years.he was nice at first for about 3 months.i would wait anywhere from 2 to 3 hours mind u iam already in pain only to have him scream at me like a dog.try to talk to him tell me go some where else.he did endless amount of proceders on me i dont recall him putting a mask on maybe twice.he would look at that screen and tell me i was his ginnie pig trying something new.he was extremely unethical he hit my bone once i screemed and jumped he said sit down or no meds not sorry or r u all right just no meds.iam a workmans case didnt have choice he was only one to take it.i sence left cost me about 150 to 200 more a month but i dont have to deal with him.i could tell u storys got 2 years worth his girl friend that worked there no better than him tryed to talk to her she said be a man get over it.i could go on and on.he has no busness touching anyone.he should be in hospital locked up he is NUTS really.the state of west virgina should be liable for letting him work on people.please save a life and TAKE HIS LICENSE FROM HIM.sorry for mis spelled words

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Dirty Practice  |  show details
by Concerned Citizen on Jul 24th, 2014

Illegal dumping of needles and blood vials, and re-using of syringes on patients has now occurred after setting up practice in WV. On top of that, he refuses to release to the list of patients who might have been exposed. Seek treatment for being a pain to the community, buddy.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  This Dr. needs to have his license revoked immediately!  |  show details
Jul 21st, 2014

Mr. Chalifoux has a rude bedside manner. He does not take the time to listen to you and he rushes you when trying to describe pain. He actually yelled at me for saying that I was going to get a second opinion on his reference of my having a surgery on my pain nerves. He lost his license in Texas for doing unnecessary surgeries and a man lost his life due to one of these. How is he able to practice anywhere at all?!

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 17th, 2014

Most of staff very helpful.. Nurses are much better now! Receptionist could use attitude adjustment. Doctor very knowledgable and has helped my pain tremendously and is not a pill pusher!!

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  PATIENT  |  show details
by FRANK on Mar 4th, 2014

BEWARE of this quack he will hurt you more then you are now

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Doesn't say much Frank or are you someone else. I did not come to see you, you came to see me. Interventional Pain Medicine takes time, patience, and a 3 legged stool approach. 1 leg is Interventional Pain, 1 is psych and counseling, the other is PT. To find the pain generator, sometimes pain will happen. Most patients feel like they are literally falling apart but its true musculoskeletal deconditioning. Plan your work and work your plan.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Death  |  show details
by A Real Doctor. on Jul 9th, 2013

Fort Worth Star-Telegram June 7, 1997 Section: METRO Edition: FINAL AM Page: 14 Neurosurgeons, hospital sued over Haltom City man's death Surgery for his aneurysm was not needed and led to his death, the family says in its lawsuit. LINDA P. CAMPBELL Star-Telegram Writer FORT WORTH - Mild numbness and tingling in his right arm and leg sent Edward Lee Fowler of Haltom City to the emergency room at Osteopathic Medical Center of Texas in October.He was admitted on his 61st birthday, Oct. 14, and within four days he underwent surgery for an aneurysm on the right side of his brain. Four days later, he died after being taken off life support. In a malpractice suit filed against the hospital and the two neurosurgeons who treated Fowler, his family claims that the surgery was mishandled and should never have been performed. The suit, filed Thursday in state district court in Fort Worth, alleges that Dr. Roland F. Chalifoux and Dr. John B. Payne Jr., along with the hospital, were negligent in treating Fowler. A spokeswoman for Osteopathic Medical Center said hospital officials will not comment on the suit. Chalifoux and Payne did not return telephone calls. The suit also accuses Chalifoux of deceptive trade practices for statements he made about his experience and about the risks of the operation. "Through charlatanry, Chalifoux convinced Ed and his family that Ed must undergo brain surgery for an aneurysm on the right side of his brain in order to survive," the suit says. "In truth, the surgery was not necessary. " The suit, filed by Fowler's widow, Frances "Pam" Fowler of Haltom City, and the couple's children, Terri Mabe, Mark Fowler and Randy Fowler, seeks an unspecified amount of damages for medical, funeral and burial expenses, pain and suffering and mental anguish. The family also asks for punitive damages, alleging gross negligence by the defendants. Fowler retired from the Air Force after 23 years of service and worked as a dietitian for City Haven Care Center. The suit claims that he did not want surgery but that the family agreed to it "based upon lies and misrepresentations told by Chalifoux and other members of the medical staff" at Osteopathic Medical Center. During the surgery, performed by Chalifoux with Payne assisting, Fowler's right internal carotid artery was shut off, causing a large part of Fowler's brain to die from lack of blood flow, according to the suit. The physicians "failed to exercise that degree of care which would be exercised by ordinarily prudent physicians," the suit states. The suit includes a letter from Dr. Issam A. Awad, head of the neurovascular surgery program at Yale University's School of Medicine, saying that Chalifoux was "grossly negligent" in managing Fowler's care. The Fowler family's attorney, Daniel Barrett of Fort Worth, said the case involves malpractice that is "as bad as I've ever seen. " Barrett said the family has also filed a complaint against Chalifoux with the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners Copyright 1997 Star-Telegram, Inc.

Mark as Helpful  | 10 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Hey Real Doctor, Read the final summary by the Administrative Law Judges which states that I should be allowed to practice and not have my license taken. Both West Virginia and Michigan took the time to read and comb the evidence and felt otherwise and gave me full unrestricted licenses. Remember, hype and drama are no substitute for the facts. FYI, Dr. Awad was kicked out of Univ. of Colorado for fake science as well as injuring many patients. Surprised you did not know that Real Doctor.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Quack Quack Quack  |  show details
Jun 12th, 2013

PAIN CLINIC NIGHTMARE !!!!!! Saw him in 2010 , Rudest ,Most Unprofessional , Embrassment to the medical field. Diagnosis , one leg shorter than other, need to see a shrink, if you had the money he'd put you on the medicine he'd prescribe his mother!! Any of that sound familiar!!! His past in Texas was enough for me. Prefect example of West Virginia will hire anyone!!!! 000" RATING ON ALL!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 11 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Interventional Pain Management takes multidisciplinary approach. If you continue with only looking for pills, you will get nowhere.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  best doctor ive had  |  show details
by coalminer from ohio on Apr 17th, 2013

Ive been to Dr. Chalifoux a total of 4 times and yes the wait is long but it is worth it. He has done more for me than any doctor ive ever found and he is not loud or rude to me he is respectful but expects you to do what he tells you, if you do not then like any other doctor he is going to be upset, i would be too. Ive never seen him yell at anyone. He listened to me and im proud to have him as my doctor.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Aug 26th, 2011

This man should not be aloud to practice any kind of medicine. He is a power freak!!!!!!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 13 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 21st, 2010

I would never reccomend this doctorvery long wait even with an appointmentplan to spend half your day thereI think if doctors can require you to take a drug test, then the patient should be able torequire the doctor to take one!This doctor does not listen to his patients. He is also rude to his patients and loud

Mark as Helpful  | 9 people found this helpful Report Abuse