The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ronald Childs Is this you?

Filter Reviews

27 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.9
  • 14
  • 3
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ronald Childs?

Showing 12 of 27 Ratings

Good surgeon, lousy staff

Posted on October 17th, 2016

MY surgery was successful: discectomy. I saw the surgeon immediately after the procedure while recovering from anesthesia and never had the chance to see him again. Both followed up appointments were with a physicians assistant even though they told me I would see the doctor, which I requested. I asked questions about my body only my surgeon could answer such as what did my herniation look like, how much did you remove, etc? The assistant was hostile and suspicious of my questions. She said, "the only thing you need to know is that you are feeling better." She then said she would not answer any more questions and abruptly left the room. I thought she was coming back so I waited..she never came back. It was creepy. But 2.5 years later, I am great.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 26th, 2015

Dr.Childs is an outstanding physician. His diagnosis was accurate and he was able to perform the surgery immediately for my back problem. A friend recommended him to me after I had seen several doctors with absolutely no success or hope and I am cured. I have resumed my regular activities and my lifestyle in less than a year after major back surgery.. I have recommended him to several of my friends with similar back problems. Dr, Childs is a superb doctor!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 25th, 2015

Dr. Childs put me at ease, answered all of my questions, never made me feel rushed, and made me feel that he was genuinely concerned for my well being. He is an excellent doctor and I would recommend him to anybody seeking a great and knowledgeable orthopedic surgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doctor!

Posted on November 18th, 2014

Dr. Childs always spends as much time with me as I need. He explains procedures thoroughly and always takes the times to ensure my understanding. I am recovering well after a lumbar fusion and Dr. Childs is sincere about his concern for my well being. He is an awesome doctor!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Childs

Posted on July 29th, 2014

I had an apt with Dr Childs two weeks ago... It was my first visit in this office. I was very nervous, but Dr Childs was Awesome, he came right in and answered all our questions, explained that I would need surgery.. Took a lot of time going over MRI, and X-ray results. I feel much better about the surgery knowing how he is and his great bed side manor.. Would recommend this doctor top others, no questions ask..

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient's immediate relative

Posted on March 24th, 2014

Dr. Childs' 'bedside' manner is really wonderful. He made my father feel very at ease. When Dr. Childs asked questions, he really listened to the answers. He went over our mri results with us so that we understood what is going on. Although our appointment time came and went, when we finally got to see Dr. Childs, we were very pleased. He gave us a course of action to follow and he let us know that he only recommends surgery if absolutely everything else fails. Wonderful Doctor -- one who truly should be working with people.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 4th, 2013

I always waited an incredibly long time for an appointment and then felt rushed when I was in the room with him. He ordered me to get several tests (when I had already given him MRI and CT-Scan) before he'd even begin to tell me what may be wrong with me. I also believe the discogram he ordered may have added to the pain I'm still experience daily. Dr. Childs is nice, but he's not one to answer questions. His Physicians Assistant isn't nice. I also went to another specialist who recommended a different surgery. I am still unsure about which surgery would be better for me.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on March 16th, 2011

Very difficult to get appointments, even as a follow up with a problem and pain. Office never answers the phone and takes a long time to get back to you. As smart and sweet as Dr. Childs is the rest of the office seems to care little and makes you feel bad for trying to get help with a problem.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 26th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on September 14th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on September 14th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 28th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ronald Childs is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Mc Lean, VA.