Dr. Ronald Childs MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Mc Lean, VA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    46%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    21%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 22.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
October 17th, 2016
Good surgeon, lousy staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
MY surgery was successful: discectomy. I saw the surgeon immediately after the procedure while recovering from anesthesia and never had the chance to see him again. Both followed up appointments were with a physicians assistant even though they told me I would see the doctor, which I requested. I asked questions about my body only my surgeon could answer such as what did my herniation look like, how much did you remove, etc? The assistant was hostile and suspicious of my questions. She said, "the only thing you need to know is that you are feeling better." She then said she would not answer any more questions and abruptly left the room. I thought she was coming back so I waited..she never came back. It was creepy. But 2.5 years later, I am great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 26th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Childs is an outstanding physician. His diagnosis was accurate and he was able to perform the surgery immediately for my back problem. A friend recommended him to me after I had seen several doctors with absolutely no success or hope and I am cured. I have resumed my regular activities and my lifestyle in less than a year after major back surgery.. I have recommended him to several of my friends with similar back problems. Dr, Childs is a superb doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Childs put me at ease, answered all of my questions, never made me feel rushed, and made me feel that he was genuinely concerned for my well being. He is an excellent doctor and I would recommend him to anybody seeking a great and knowledgeable orthopedic surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2014
Great doctor!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Childs always spends as much time with me as I need. He explains procedures thoroughly and always takes the times to ensure my understanding. I am recovering well after a lumbar fusion and Dr. Childs is sincere about his concern for my well being. He is an awesome doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2014
Dr Childs
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an apt with Dr Childs two weeks ago... It was my first visit in this office. I was very nervous, but Dr Childs was Awesome, he came right in and answered all our questions, explained that I would need surgery.. Took a lot of time going over MRI, and X-ray results. I feel much better about the surgery knowing how he is and his great bed side manor.. Would recommend this doctor top others, no questions ask..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2014
Patient's immediate relative
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Childs' 'bedside' manner is really wonderful. He made my father feel very at ease. When Dr. Childs asked questions, he really listened to the answers. He went over our mri results with us so that we understood what is going on. Although our appointment time came and went, when we finally got to see Dr. Childs, we were very pleased. He gave us a course of action to follow and he let us know that he only recommends surgery if absolutely everything else fails. Wonderful Doctor -- one who truly should be working with people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 4th, 2013
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
I always waited an incredibly long time for an appointment and then felt rushed when I was in the room with him. He ordered me to get several tests (when I had already given him MRI and CT-Scan) before he'd even begin to tell me what may be wrong with me. I also believe the discogram he ordered may have added to the pain I'm still experience daily. Dr. Childs is nice, but he's not one to answer questions. His Physicians Assistant isn't nice. I also went to another specialist who recommended a different surgery. I am still unsure about which surgery would be better for me.

2.3 of 5
March 16th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very difficult to get appointments, even as a follow up with a problem and pain. Office never answers the phone and takes a long time to get back to you. As smart and sweet as Dr. Childs is the rest of the office seems to care little and makes you feel bad for trying to get help with a problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 28th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 21st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 19th, 2016
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Ronald Childs, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mc Lean, VA.