The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ronald Johnson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ronald Johnson?

Lung Cancer

Get the facts about lung cancer, including how many people get it and what increases your risk for developing it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ronald Johnson?

Ratings and Reviews

45 Ratings with 15 Comments

  • Excellent
    32
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    32
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 45 Ratings with 15 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 14th, 2017

Wonderful doctor with a great staff.

I can't say enough good things about Dr. Johnson. Thorough, puts you at ease and you know your in the best hands . Caring and compassionate and has one of the greatest staffs I've ever encountered. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 23rd, 2016

Wonderful Dr.

Dr. Johnson is a wonderful Dr. and did a great job on my modified radical mastectomy. Also, Maria the Physician Assistant is wonderful as well. I would recommend Dr. Johnson to anyone with breast cancer. All the other staff in this department is very pleasant as well.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2016

The BEST in Pittsburgh for breast cancer surgery

Busy guy. Cuts to the chase and let's you know exactly what to expect. Has a sense of humor. Awesome support team especially Maria and Becky. Wouldn't see anyone else there! Went to him first in 2000. Had to return in 2015 for a recurrence. Despite changes by corporate UPMC Dr J is still great, still cuts to the chase, and amazingly still has a wonderful sense of humor. He's the doctor you want if you like the facts. Listen to him and try not to interrupt!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 16th, 2016

I trust him as a surgeon . The incision could have been placed accurately . Extremely rude and belittling , I was NOT Allowed to speak at All. Had to sit & be yelled for information HE had Wrong. Did NOT take care of Privacy . At All ! Did NOT Close curtain, and gave me NO Warning or Choice of asking my BOYFRIEND's MOTHER Who followed me into room without my consent! AND MY MOTHER !! Then Proceded to make Disgusting remarks about the SIZE OF MY BREASTS!!!!' He is a Horrible Person but a Very Recognized Sergion. So I am going to him again for a Major Breast issue because he is trusted by Very intelligent minds. So here I go again a year later.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 20th, 2015

Not comforting at all

I took a friend to this doctor. He was on point until I had a question and he was down right rude. when someone is very concerned about their diagnosis of breast cancer he should of been a bit more compassionate. He as a doctor should know what the families are going thru and be able to take away some of the fear that they are going thru. I asked a question and what he said to me was down right disturbing. I will never tell anyone to go see him. That Dr. really needs to take a class on bedside manners. He may be a great Dr. But you don't treat patients or families of patients the way he does.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2015

After consulting with Dr. Johnson before my surgery, I felt less scared and comfortable. He knows how to help a patient feel confident about her surgery. By the way, the surgery itself went well -- there is little notice of a scar.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2014

Outstanding surgeon

Dr. Johnson is an outstanding surgeon. He is knowledgeable, skilled, and direct. I have complete confidence in him. If you want successful surgery to remove the cancer and get the best cosmetic result possible, go to him. He can be blunt and impatient, so if you want someone to hold your hand and sympathize for a half hour, he's not the right guy for you. Many other medical professionals have said "he's the best" without any prompting on my part, and that means a lot.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 31st, 2013

President-Business Manager

Doctor Johnson was attentive and caring. He was everything you could ask for in a surgeon and more. I would recommend him to anyone. My outcome was positive thanks to Dr. Johnson.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2013

He is the best!

So happy to have Dr.Johnson as my surgeon. He is kind, caring and compassionate. He spent a lot of time explaining everything to us and answered all of our questions. We would highly recommend him to family and friends!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2013

Great experience

Dr. Johnson was great. He answered all my questions with no problems, performed the surgery superbly, and followed up with me personally. His staff is also wonderful and very helpful. If you have to go through this, he is a good doctor to help you through.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2012

Comforting

Dr. Johnson has a great sense of humor that was essential to me during the time of my diagnosis and treatment. It made me feel comfortable and at ease.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 25th, 2012

When I found out I had breast cancer, I automatically went into the research mode as to the best hospital and surgeon within driving distance of Youngstown, Ohio. I wanted two opinions, but before I went for my first opinion I already made an appointment with Dr Johnson. My first opinion surgeon wanted to know who I was going to for the second opinion. I told him, and he said Dr Johnson is the surgeon who he would have sent me to. Then he said Dr. Johnson is the best. I agree!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ronald Johnson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

  • Dr. Lindsay Turner

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, General Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    9
  • Dr. Mang Chen

    Dr. Mang Chen

    Urology, General Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    10
  • Dr. Rohit Soans

    General Surgery, Residency

    Pittsburgh, PA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    10