Dr. Russell Berman MD Patient Reviews

  • Surgical Oncology New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 9 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.7)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    11%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 36.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

4.0 of 5
June 15th, 2017
Excellent surgeon, but there are administrative issues
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Berman is an excellent surgeon and I was very impressed by him, his knowledge and bedside manners. No issues with him whatsoever. However, there are problems I only wish I didn't have to describe in this review. He is overbooked and his billing staff (his assistant Rita is wonderful so this review is not a reflection on her) are borderline horrific. (Read other reviews below..) His front door staff is also deeply uninterested in helping with any matters such as a misplaced referral, wrongly listed primary doctor, etc to the point where you'll start to question your very existence and why is this lack of professional thorougness ok, in a cancer center office? I really admire Dr. Berman but this has to be fixed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very fortunate to be treated by the great Dr. Berman. He is an incredible surgeon and a fine human being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 25th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
I called this doctor's office to make an appointment and the secretary put me on hold. I listened to music for 15 minutes before hanging up. Then I called back and the girl told me that she would call me back to give me an appointment. I tried to give her my phone number but she didn't want it. She said that she thinks I'm in the computer. I asked her how that could be and she said that she did not know but would tell me when she called me back. She would not confirm the phone number that she thinks is mine. She did not call back. I called several times more, each time talking to answering service asking for the doctor to call me and give me an appointment. I left my phone number. I did not get a call back. That this doctor uses such poor judgment in his hiring decisions, I would not risk going under the knife with him. This treatment is not only rude it reflects his level of respect for his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2013
Best Doctor Ever
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Already having had 2 cancer surgeries, I was faced with melanoma surgery and so I was desperately unhappy at having to meet yet another cancer doctor and undergo another cancer surgery for another type of cancer - melanoma. The moment I met Dr. Berman I felt comfortable and confident that all would be well. He has a wonderful bedside manner and he is a competent yet compassonate surgeon. I also noticed that the staff around him was competent, as well, and very impressed with his surgical skills and his personality in general.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 8th, 2012
unprofessional staff....worst I have ever seen.
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Berman is an excellent oncologist however he desperately needs a better staff. Front desk reception is horrible. Rude, disorganized and downright unprofessional. It is bad enough that I am going to report their behavior to the medical board. An office is only as good as their weakest link. The office manager agree that her staff is unprofessional and bo w I am left wondering why nothing is being done about it. Which is why I am reluctantly writing this review.In the hope something will be done. This is an Oncology office for goodness sake, aren't the patients entitled to professional efficient and timely care? The staff treats us like dirt. Truly pathetic. Dr Berman, please fix this so your patients can be treated in a humane manner. Thank you for taking the time to read and hopefully improve.

5.0 of 5
January 19th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 1st, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 9th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Russell Berman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.