ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Russell Buchanan Is this you?

Filter Reviews

28 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.0
  • 18
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
15 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Russell Buchanan?

Showing 12 of 28 Ratings

Four Stars

Posted on May 9th, 2016

Dr Buchanan is terrific, very thorough, knowledgeable, however, their receptionist is awful, rude, short with patients, made me not want to go back. Hard to get into office, especially when in a lot pain to wait :(

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 22nd, 2016

After surgery you'll see his assistant surgeon, Lynne Galloway, an excellent doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

said there was nothing he could do

Posted on April 18th, 2015

Had lower back surgery done by Dr. Buchanan approx.18 months ago. Walked Into have the surgery done and ended up going to therapy twice a week to get my leg working again. When I came to.at Allen Hospital was in massive pain. No pain pump or pain meds were ordered for me. Allen only has one hospitalist on duty at night and she was in the intensive care unit till 7am the next morning so I went till then with no pain meds. Nurses said nothing they could do. About six months after the surgery pain was back worse than ever. Ended up in Covenant ER this last fall and Dr Buchanan had them do a MRi. Called me on phone and told me nothing he could do. Finally found a women Neuro in cedar rapids for a second opinion and found my.spinal chord is being compressed on three sides where it goes through my vertebra the same one that he told me fixed and nothing was wrong. Get second opinions all.Dr's are human but I shouldn't be their guinnie pig.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Spinal Surgery

Posted on August 12th, 2014

I would recommend Dr. Buchanan to anyone! I just had spinal surgery three days ago, and all the pain I had been suffering with for months, is gone. Now I just have to heal from the surgery. "Which is normal". I can't begin to thank him, his nurses, and his staff enough!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 27th, 2013

Horrible

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Absolutely the best.

Posted on April 20th, 2013

After years of lower back pain & numerous appointments with neurosurgeons.I was referred to Dr.Buchanan by my family doctor. I was told your MRI doesn't show any damage to nerves even after loss of feeling in my feet.Dr.Buchanan went way out of the norm ordering test after test to find out what was causing my pain & weakness in my back & legs. After a disco gram it was revealed l-4 l-5 were causing my pain.He performed a alif double fusion and nearly a hour after surgery as I took my first steps the pain in my feet & back were gone.Its been 9 days post op & I do have some aches & pains but nothing close to what I had.Couldn't ask for a better staff and surgeon. I wouldn't let anyone else do what he did.Dr.Wait & Dr.Buchanan and their staff is top notch.Thank you for giving me my life back.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 6th, 2010

Dr Buchanan is one of the best is one of the best neuro surgens in the state of Iowa and definatily the best in waterloo, IA! My condition has been on going for more than 15 years and after seeing all neuaroglist in the waterloo, ia area and then going to the iowa city neuaroglist and nero surgens in waterloo, iowa city and cedar rapids areas in iowa i found Dr Russell Buchanan and he was the one that was able to help me with my condition and confirmed what i had been told for the last 15 years as the othere doctors did not seem to know any thing about dergenetive disc disease. I have recommeded dr buchanan to many people and he was the one doctor who gave me faith in doctors again! I can't say enough in favor of Dr Buchanan, if you need a neuro surgen this is the man to see!!!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 18th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on September 5th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 21st, 2017

One Star

Posted on July 30th, 2017

One Star

Posted on July 30th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Russell Buchanan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Waterloo, IA.