Dr. Russell Buchanan MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Waterloo, IA

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.4)

7 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    73%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 15 minutes

Showing 1 - 7 reviews

4.0 of 5
May 9th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Buchanan is terrific, very thorough, knowledgeable, however, their receptionist is awful, rude, short with patients, made me not want to go back. Hard to get into office, especially when in a lot pain to wait :(
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After surgery you'll see his assistant surgeon, Lynne Galloway, an excellent doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 18th, 2015
said there was nothing he could do
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had lower back surgery done by Dr. Buchanan approx.18 months ago. Walked Into have the surgery done and ended up going to therapy twice a week to get my leg working again. When I came to.at Allen Hospital was in massive pain. No pain pump or pain meds were ordered for me. Allen only has one hospitalist on duty at night and she was in the intensive care unit till 7am the next morning so I went till then with no pain meds. Nurses said nothing they could do. About six months after the surgery pain was back worse than ever. Ended up in Covenant ER this last fall and Dr Buchanan had them do a MRi. Called me on phone and told me nothing he could do. Finally found a women Neuro in cedar rapids for a second opinion and found my.spinal chord is being compressed on three sides where it goes through my vertebra the same one that he told me fixed and nothing was wrong. Get second opinions all.Dr's are human but I shouldn't be their guinnie pig.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2014
Spinal Surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr. Buchanan to anyone! I just had spinal surgery three days ago, and all the pain I had been suffering with for months, is gone. Now I just have to heal from the surgery. "Which is normal". I can't begin to thank him, his nurses, and his staff enough!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2013
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2013
Absolutely the best.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After years of lower back pain & numerous appointments with neurosurgeons.I was referred to Dr.Buchanan by my family doctor. I was told your MRI doesn't show any damage to nerves even after loss of feeling in my feet.Dr.Buchanan went way out of the norm ordering test after test to find out what was causing my pain & weakness in my back & legs. After a disco gram it was revealed l-4 l-5 were causing my pain.He performed a alif double fusion and nearly a hour after surgery as I took my first steps the pain in my feet & back were gone.Its been 9 days post op & I do have some aches & pains but nothing close to what I had.Couldn't ask for a better staff and surgeon. I wouldn't let anyone else do what he did.Dr.Wait & Dr.Buchanan and their staff is top notch.Thank you for giving me my life back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Buchanan is one of the best is one of the best neuro surgens in the state of Iowa and definatily the best in waterloo, IA! My condition has been on going for more than 15 years and after seeing all neuaroglist in the waterloo, ia area and then going to the iowa city neuaroglist and nero surgens in waterloo, iowa city and cedar rapids areas in iowa i found Dr Russell Buchanan and he was the one that was able to help me with my condition and confirmed what i had been told for the last 15 years as the othere doctors did not seem to know any thing about dergenetive disc disease. I have recommeded dr buchanan to many people and he was the one doctor who gave me faith in doctors again! I can't say enough in favor of Dr Buchanan, if you need a neuro surgen this is the man to see!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Russell Buchanan, MD is similar to these 2 Doctors near Waterloo, IA.

Doctor

Dr. Gregory Brandenberg

29 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Amit Singla

3.5 of 5