Dr. Russell Homewood DO Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 54 patient ratings
  • 26 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.1)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    46%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    30%
  • Wait Time 18.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 8th, 2015
Put your trust in Homewood Family Medicine.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Homewood serves as an excellent primary physician. He is interested in providing thoughtful answers to any question. He looks at the broad spectrum of preventative measures, including age/gender-appropriate screenings, to ensure overall care is received. When specialists are required, his recommendations have been excellent. His great management skills are evident in the seamless coordination with his very qualified staff, from Tiffany at the front desk to the friendly P.A.'s that check me in and provide injections, etc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 18th, 2015
Beware of Billing Errors and Messing with Medications!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is a terrible medical practice. Where to begin? My medications were all changed causing uncomfortable side-effects. I was frequently given medications to "quickly lower" blood pressure which left me dizzy and feeling unfocused. I discovered after starting with this office that my insurance would not cover any treatment related to my pre-existing condition (this was in 2012-2013) and requested to only have the necessary labs and procedures done, as I would need to pay for everything out of pocket. This was not done and if I did not come in according to their schedule, they would withhold the refills on my prescriptions. When it came to billing, I was billed for everything. I made arrangements to pay over time but payments were not credited, credited to someone else's account, or not auto-billed as I requested. When I was able, I paid the bill in full, only to be told that I still owed money. I dug up cancelled checks and bank records and told them that I had proof of payment. I got a letter from the billing department and thought all was well. That is until I started receiving collections calls. I sent in my proof of payment (cancelled checks with the OFFICE STAMP ON THE BACK) and was told that this did not count as "proof". I tried calling the billing department and never received an answer. I am not paying again what I have already paid and will fight this if the office ever decides to call me again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 6th, 2015
Wonderful Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had Dr. Homewood for approximately 15 years. He has always listened to any medical issue I have had, and has always ordered any testing needed right away when necessary. When I have asked about having certain tests ran he orders them as well when needed. I have never had any problems through the years and I have recommended him to friends. They have said he is a wonderful Dr. as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2014
Disgustingly dirty office
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's all about the money! Never listens and just dismisses you like your not good enough for his attention. His office is filthy. The carpet is totally disgusting and has probably never been cleaned. There are cracks and missing tile where there is tile on the floors. But worst of all, you can hear other peoples visits with him in other rooms. I wouldn't recommend him to treat my dog let alone anyone I know. Thoroughly and completely disgusted.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 11th, 2014
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I felt collecting money was more important that my health care. Beware! Mistakes by staff in codes. Some unfair charges were made. This happened three times. He lost our family and two families because of billing errors that we had no choice but to pay. The staff management say one thing and then do another.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2013
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Homewood is an excellent doctor and has an excellent staff who are very friendly. He listens and takes time to talk to me. He has a nice smile and good sense of humor, makes you feel at home. He has an excellent choice of PA'S. The waiting room is very clean and the wait time is minimal.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2013
Great experience
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Short wait time, all my questions were answered, and all lab results returned promptly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing this Dr. for many years. Recently I moved over 50 miles away, but he is such a good Dr. I drive to see him anyway. Obtaining an apt. in a timely manner is easy. He always listens and is very kind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2013
Good doctor, nice guy
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Homewood is a very competent medical generalist with a pleasant outgoing manor. A good guy with a lack of the "standard doctor arrogance" so common today.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 12th, 2013
Clueless
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This place is awful. I spend at least a half hour waiting in the room after the nurse brings you back. If you need anything be prepared to wait. They take multiple days to refill prescriptions that are necessary every day medications. I would rather go to an urgent care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 21st, 2012
Pro
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great staff, very friendly. This was my first visit and they made me feel right at home. Dr. Homewood let me explain why I was there, listen, then provide guidance. Very good bedside manner and helpful. I feel confident in him as my doctor and his staff to deal with the insurance companies.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 4th, 2012
Definitely not recommended
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There are serious confidentiality problems - I could hear entire conversations of him with the patient in the next room on several visits. The reason - at least 2 rooms share a huge window so the wall does not butt to anything so there is a 1-2 inch open gap between the rooms. I mentioned this to him and he 'played dumb'. He upcodes - bills for a higher level of service than I actually got. And when they call their billing office for you - they NEVER call you back. His office manager is extremely rude. When I asked him questions he was very arrogant and annoyed. His exam room smelled so he used some kind of automatic fragrant mist which also stunk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Russell Homewood, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mesa, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Harolyn Gilles

37 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ramona Woodriffe

39 years experience

2.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jason Frye

18 years experience

4.4 of 5