ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Russell Nauta Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Russell Nauta?

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Russell Nauta?

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    23
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    23
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
8.7 min

Showing 26 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

March 26th, 2015

A very personable and comforting Doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2013

One of the very best!

Dr. Nauta is a kind, caring, compassionate, thorough professional. His reputation as one of the top GI surgeons in the country is well deserved. I hope never to have the colon problem again which sent me to him, but if it does happen again, I'll want him in my corner! He is, in my eyes, one of the very best!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 26th, 2012

He saved my life! I had a ruptured duondenal ulcer and peritonitis. He operated on me in the middle of the night after being seen in the ER. Dr Nauta is the most caring doctor I have ever met. He explained everything in detail at every visit and answered every question I had and never made me feel rushed. I would give him 10 stars if I could.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 8th, 2012

emergency appendectomy

Dr Nauta was very personable and made an excellent connection with my husband & me. My husband had an emergency surgery for an infected but not yet burst appendix. Dr Nauta explained the appendectomy procedure- small 2-3 inch surgery and answered all questions fully and respectfully. He came to me personally after the op to explain how it went and the recovery process from physical activities through nutritional needs & time span from liquid through solids. I would highly recommend this experienced, thorough, and kind surgeon to my friends, family and others. Same for the Mt Auburn staff, from emergency care through the surgical & anesthesia teams to the floor nursing staff.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 27th, 2011

one of the very best doctors to have worked with as well as to have been a patient

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2011

Brilliant surgeon

24 years ago, Dr. Nauta operated on my father's cholangiocarcinoma (Klatskin tumor). The tumor had invaded much of the liver and wrapped around the Vena Cava.The survival rate from the surgery was thought to be 5%, with no cure.My father survived the operation and under Dr. Nauta's care, lived another 2.5 quality years. He travelled extensively, authored articles, and attended his daughter's wedding. Dr. Nauta spent considerable hours over those years, providing very detailed scientific information, offering concern, and even arranging for my father to speak at the medical school.My father (a political scientist) so admired Dr. Nauta, that he often stated he had perhaps chosen the wrong profession. Were he here today, I believe his remarks would eclipse mine, in offering the very highest of recommendations to a highly skilled and equally caring surgeon.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 15th, 2010

Exceptional

True professional. Dr. Nauta's reputation as one of the top GI surgeons in the country was affirmed through my experience with him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2010

he saved my life

about 6 years ago my pancreas failed. I was rushed to the hospital and Dr Nauta had me in an induced coma for 56 days. It was touch and go for a long time.(fever,infections,etc)Thanks to Dr. Nauta and the ICU nurses, I came out of it and remained in the hospital for a while longer. He monitored me for quite some time afterward. I will never be quite the same, but i am relatively healthy and can live a good life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 28th, 2010

This guy is a real class act.

Unfortunately, I have spent alot of time in hospitals over the past decade. I've come in contact with several doctors over that time and Dr. Nauta rates the highest.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 19th, 2010

Worst surgeon

Take this recommendation to heart. I went in for a routine schedule appendectomy. Everything seemed to be fine until about 5 mins before going into the OR when I asked about the procedure and found out that Dr. Nauta does not do laparoscopic surgeries. A laparoscopic surgery had been assumed by everyone including the hospital staff and anesthesiologist. So instead of a few small incisions which are less invasive I was having my stomach cut open. There was no reason to have an open procedure except for that fact that Dr. Nauta just doesn't do the more technologically advanced surgeries.Following the surgery Dr. Nauta was supposed to inform my boyfriend that I was out of the OR and recovering. And neither him nor anyone from his staff contacted him. So needless to say my boyfriend was a little freaked out, and had to call the recovery room himself. I never saw or heard from Dr. Nauta during recovery and received little to no instruction about my recovery. So little that I didn't know that I needed a follow up appointment until I saw that I had staples holding my sutures together.I have no complaints about Dr. Nauta staff, however, this has been a very traumatic experience and I was not properly informed about the surgery that I was consenting to.If you use this surgeon please be very clear about the procedure you are getting. Lease no assumptions and do not expect any follow up contact. A week later I can barely walk and I'm still in significant pain due to this surgeon's decision to fully cut me open rather than using a less invasive procedure.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 21st, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 28th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Russell Nauta is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Cambridge, MA.

  • Dr. James Spencer

    Otolaryngology, General Surgery

    Cambridge, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    8
  • Dr. Peter Maggs

    Dr. Peter Maggs

    Vascular Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, General Surgery

    Cambridge, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    47
  • Dr. Lawrence Geoghegan

    Dr. Lawrence Geoghegan

    General Surgery

    Cambridge, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    52