The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Russell Petrie Is this you?
  • 63
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Russell Petrie?


67 Ratings with 36 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2017

Truly a great combination of professionalism and careing

Dr Petrie has operated on by my knees for meniscus problems over the past several years. The total experience was so positive that when my son, who was playing college baseball, injured his knee my first call was to Dr Petrie. The outcomes were excellent I highly recommend Dr Petrie and his super staff.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

August 15th, 2016

The Orthpedic Institute is a massive money making machine for this surgeons.

Not 10 minutes after seeing Dr. Petrie did he recommend surgery. I told him I wanted to try rehab, PT, etc. I asked what the rush was and he wouldn't respond. Later I looked into the Orthopdic Institute and the hospital that these doctors and Hoag co-own. What a scam! While these surgeons are charging your $2,500 to do your surgery they are making over a $1.5 million a year in profits as co-owners. They make money on every MRI, hosptial admission, etc. No wonder these doctors are so anxious to operate!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2016

knee cap

I greatly appreciate Dr. Petrie fixed my shattered knee cap, he is the greatest knee doctor I know and he is very professional.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 6th, 2016

A true leader in orthopedic medicine

Dr Petrie is an amazing professional in the field of orthopedic medicine and his attitude, thoroughness and attentive approach is stellar. His staff is also top notch and Ray and the team make you feel and experience the best treatment and care one could imagine. You are in good hands with Dr Petrie and his team and I highly recommend him if you need a great doctor and tremendous results Thank you

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 30th, 2015

Very happy

The pre and post opp experience was awesome. Dr Petrie made me feel like I was his only patient. I have already recommended him to three of my friends.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 25th, 2015

ACL Reconstruction and Meniscus Surgery

Dr. Petrie throughly discussed my options for surgery on my meniscus and ACL. He Informed me he would only do the ACL reconstruction if absolutely necessary. His goal was for me to return to my active sports lifestyle for years to come (I am a BabyBoomer). His attention to detail before, during and after surgery far exceeds standard protocols. He enrolls you early in the process for a positive outcome and makes sure you know your role in recovery. I highly recommend Dr. Petrie.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 24th, 2015

Dr. Petrie was the one for me, the minute he walked into exam room. He was personable, to the point, thorough, and efficient. From pre op to surgery to follow up, concerned, kind, and knowledgable. Couldn't ask for any thing else or for a better experience

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 3rd, 2015

Shoulder Surgery

My total experience with Dr. Petrie doing my surgery was top notch. His explanation of my injury and subsequent surgery was very thorough, so I knew I was in very capable hands. Having the Hospital Loop with his office after the surgery has been extremely helpful, with the information being sent to me daily and my questions being answered right away, too.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2015

The most concerned Doctor ever. Pain always under control. Recovery very rapid. Definitely recommend Dr. Petrie for surgery and care

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 15th, 2015

Definitely would choose again if his services were needed!!!!! Loved him

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 13th, 2015

Rotator cuff surgery

Everything great, except wait time. Anticipated questions, took time to answer my others. Good setting of expectations.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 6th, 2015

Highly Recommended!!!

I am very happy with the surgery and this surgeon.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Russell Petrie is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.

  • Dr. Shaunak Desai

    Dr. Shaunak Desai

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0 mi

    4.7
    (34)
    10
  • Dr. Alan Beyer

    Dr. Alan Beyer

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0 mi

    4.7
    (93)
    41
  • Dr. Richard Lee

    Dr. Richard Lee

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0 mi

    4.7
    (60)
    13