Dr. Russell Tigges MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedics Reconstructive Surgery Poughkeepsie, NY

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 46 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.4)

46 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    52%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 21.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
So glad I saw Dr. Tigges
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
What a super Doctor. Very easy to talk to, very straight forward and a great sense of humor! A+++
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 13th, 2017
Fractured Fibula
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I do not remember the age I was when I saw him but I believe I was 10 or 11. I was sleigh riding and I fractured my fibula and Dr. Tiggis was a very nice doctor and I would recommend him to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2016
A Great Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I trust him!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 8th, 2015
Total Knee Replacement
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It has been approximately 10 years now since my full knee Replacement. My recovery took approx. six weeks - I was walking on the third day after surgery with only a cane. Most importantly, I did NOT get Staph Infection with from this procedure with Dr. Tigges. What can I say, Great man with Great skills and attributes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 20th, 2015
Still in pain
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 6th, 2013
May be a good surgeon but....
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First of all, he lies. I had bilateral hip replacements and after 6 months the pain was getting worse. He told me to give it a year. I came back to him after a year and told him I was no better. He said "X-rays look fine" and I'm the only one having this problem. He couldn't get rid of me fast enough. I called him when I heard about the DePuy ASR recall and he told me not to worry, I didn't have that one. I found out it wasn't true and confronted him with his lie. Our relationship went downhill after that. He was very nasty and condescending toward me. When the requested metal test came back with elevated numbers, he called me and said I needed revision surgery ASAP but again lied and said I was the only one having this problem. I can't go into how I know this to be a lie but suffice to say I have proof. The revision went horribly wrong and it's been 3 years with worse pain then before. He doesn't care about me at all, he only cares about the big corporation who dumps loads of money on him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
May 24th, 2013
Not impressed
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My right knee had to be revised 3 1/2 years after it was replaced by Dr. Tigges. He did not put in the correct size plastic insert between the metal Depuy components in my right knee.

2.3 of 5
February 27th, 2013
Not the best bedside manner. Still in pain.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I felt as though after the surgery I could have had better attention paid to my condition. It has changed my ability to walk well and I have constant swelling. I felt he was no longer interested, but didn't recommend any help for me. I did physical therapy and all excersize that was required. I had to go for chiropractic care because my limping had altered my gait. At one point I retuned to get an injection in my hip to remedy the pain. Another doctor saw me.I was told this was bursitis. They didn't seem happy that I had returned and cared more about payment than my pain. Perhaps because this was workmanship comp. I assured them I had other insurance and gave them all needed info. I felt this was a very demeaning attitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2012
Excellent Surgeon
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Tigges replaced both my knees. The huge drawback is the long wait time to get an appt. with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 14th, 2011
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My surgery was a very positive experience at Northern Dutchess Hospital in Rhinebeck, NY. Dr. Tigges is an excellent doctor with fantastic bedside manners. My surgery today (on my knee) went so smoothly with everything today on schedule. All the hospital staff today were very personable and professional, they did whatever they could do to make me comfortable. I highly recommend Dr. Tigges and Northern Dutchess Hospital. My initial appointment took quite a while to get (2 months. He is a very popular doctor, but well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 14th, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Tigges is a wonderful doctor. He does not rope anybody into any surgeries at all. He is a very busy doctor because he comes highly recommened by everyone you meet. Yes, you do see a nurse practioner after the surgery but she is more than qualified to help and if she can't she calls him. You are right only people that have nothing good to say are the people that write these reviews.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 4th, 2010
Arrogant
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did my surgery and he forgot who I was. Didnt return my calls and gave me to a other doctor. A jerk and I wish I went to a different doctor so I would have better care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Russell Tigges, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Poughkeepsie, NY.