Dr. Sajen Mathews MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Fullerton, CA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.2)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    63%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    16%
  • Bad
    16%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2017
Dr. Matthews was very personable and listened to myth concerns and after the procedure he came in and discussed what he found. He was very thorough and answered my questions. I would recommend him
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 20th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's an HMO guy need I say more
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 30th, 2015
about 6 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I was treated at St. Jude's E.R for severe stomach pain and vomitting with and without blood. The staff was very caring and gentle. I was admitted after a Labs and CT were performed. I was supposed to see Dr. Mathews before an EGD was performed. I didn't see him until I was in the procedure room and that was only to get consent and waivers out of the way about 2 minutes. The other 4 were when I woke up where he told me I had to see him in 8 weeks because my gallbladder had to be removed along with dilating my ulcerated esophagus , Shatzkis rings and he mentioned a hiatal hernia and 2ulcers. No bedside manner or time to explain My diagnosis or prognosis. I guess It was assumed that I had no questions or comments. I felt like I had gone thru a conveyer belt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 6th, 2014
Not my favorite
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lied to me. Refused to help
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mathews is an excellent physician, with a great deal of concern and empathy for his patients. He has spent a great deal of time with me for a very complicated GI problem, which has included two hospital stays within the last year. He is a tribute to the medical field of gastroenterology, and I highly recommend him. Additionally, I have always found his staff to be very personable, reliable, and willing to help in any way possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2013
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Does not handle nervous patients well
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 11th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
He even has a sense of humor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 15th, 2011
This is the best GI doctor that I have seen.
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doc Mathews is the best GI doctor that I have seen. I have multiple GI problems and I never met a doctor like him to answer my questions and gave me the correct diagnosis. Opposite to the last viewer who gave this doctor 1 star, I found this doctor very caring and professional. He often sacrifies his private time like lunch break to help patients. He does have a lot patients waiting to see him so there is a wait time for appointment. It is because he is popular and everybody knows he is the best one. He got the award of Physicians of Excellence, Orange County Medical Association, 2009 and 2010. The last rating of 1 star did not serve him justice! I believe that the doctor-patient relationship is mutual. If you show your respect and trust, your doctor will do the same to you too.

1.0 of 5
August 26th, 2010
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to see Dr. Mathews for abdominal pain. From the begining, he did not believe my symptoms and told me it was just nerves. I explained that there was bleeding involved and didn't think nerves was the cause. He said that he would order tests and his office would call when the tests were approved for me to take. After not hearing form the office for 2 months, I called about the tests. I was told that the tests were never ordered. In addition, I was told that even if I wanted to see the doctor again, he would not see me.I wish he had told me this at our meeting because I would have spent those 2 months finding a new doctor instead of waiting on this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sajen Mathews, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fullerton, CA.