The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sam Akhavan Is this you?
  • 36
  • 0
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sam Akhavan?


45 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2017

Great Doctor

Very caring and courteous as is his staff, explains everything in a way the average person can understand what the problem is and what your options are to correct it. Never feel rushed

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 20th, 2017

tough to get office coordinator on the phone

Dr. is a very nice guy and seems well qualified. I love his PA, she is wonderful. My primary complaint is trying to deal with his coordinator. She does not answer the phone. Her standard message states she will return the call the next business day (don't understand why she can call back the same day) but don't count on it. You will get an appointment when she finds the time to call and you better be able to answer the phone because she will not answer your calls. It takes an unreasonable time to get approvals from the insurance company and I have to assume the same practice of communication is the root cause for that as well. I gave up a few years working with this doctor because I no longer can work with this one person in his office. Week link broke this chain.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

July 28th, 2016

Seems like a nice guy. People who work in the office are nice and easy to work with. Scheduling on the phone can be difficult because his office coordinator is rarely at her desk. Doctor does not spend enough time with patient and I feel like he doesn't really want to be bothered with too many questions. Also gave me a diagnosis of just two options after having unsuccessful injections. Live with my pain in my knee which is heading toward not being able to walk eventually(not being able to walk is my opinion but I do believe in another 5 years I won't be able to walk) or have a knee scope which he says may or may not help and could make it even worse. Mind you they say I'm too young for knee replacement. I just felt like after going there for almost a year now I'm left with nothing positive and I want a second opinion. Maybe he is right but I find it hard to believe that there is no good options for me and nothing will help. Also I had to ask an assistant just to get ibuprofen prescription. He offers no prescription pain help at all. All in all I'm not trying to trash the guy. He may be a fine surgeon and was friendly for the few seconds I saw him each time I came but he left me with more questions than answers in the end

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2016

Love him such a wonderful Doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 10th, 2016

He is a very good doctor and knows what he is doing.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 15th, 2015

I think He is cool

He is a great doctor in my opinion. I don't have any complaints and he is always polite whenever I have to interact with him

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

October 7th, 2015

best shoulder doc

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 13th, 2015

Great Doctor

I would recommend Dr Akhavan. Several years ago I tore 3 out of 4 major tendons in my knee and damaged some of the nerves. I can now walk without a brace and I have very little lasting pain. Which compared with the original diagnosis is great. Dr Akhavan worked with me and actually cared about my recovery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 28th, 2012

Shoulder Surgery 2 Years ago

I recommend this surgeon with great confidence. This man is caring, brilliant, down to earth, and very reliable. I am 17 years old and had a labrum repair 2 years ago due to a baseball injury. I am now back in the full swing or things lifting weights and playing baseball with no pain. I can do anything but pitch, mostly because I am scared. This man changed my life and I am now pursuing a career in orthopedic surgery because of what this man did for me.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2011

Dr. Akhavna was on time and knowledgeable, I felt he cared about my issues and I look forward to completeing my testing to have him give me the options of treatment for my knees

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sam Akhavan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

  • Dr. Robert Brabender

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (24)
    9
  • Dr. Patrick Demeo

    Dr. Patrick Demeo

    Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    3.8
    (53)
    31
  • Dr. Aaron Koslin

    Orthopedic Surgery, General Practice

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    7