ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Samuel Summers Sr Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Samuel Summers Sr?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Samuel Summers Sr?

Ratings and Reviews

18 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
29 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 18 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 7th, 2014

Best doctor in town!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 7th, 2013

Easy to converse with. Listens to my concerns and requests, and responds acccordingly. Shows interests in his patient.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 17th, 2012

Absolutely Insane - AVOID

Had to make another appointment after a misdiagnosis. Scheduling is absolutely horrible. Had a 9:30 appointment and still hadn't been seen by 10:50. Waited in the waiting room for over an hour and then was called back at 10:30. I was told the doctor would be "right in" and after waiting for another 15 minutes I went to the front and asked why. When finally seen, I was written another prescription for a cough medicine which is a controlled substance. The pharmacy wouldn't fill it because (after fighting with them) they called a prescription in for me on Monday. Didn't leave the office until after 11:00. Too bad my insurance doesn't cover my old doctor because I'm definitely not coming back here.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 18th, 2011

Dr.Summers NEVER has same day appointments available. Usually the following week. This time I was offered an appointment with the NURSE. That wasn't offered before. He doesn't spend much time with patient either. He seems very competent just hard to get in.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 27th, 2010

Good doctor

I've seen him for at least 13 years and he is very concerned and patient.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 29th, 2009

Very good doctor

Summer is easy to talk to and very professional. He is a dedicated professional who cares about his patients. I've been with him for over 14 years and you couldn't pay me to change doctors. He is a very good doctor.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 29th, 2009

Dr Summers practice unable to manage wait, overbooks, underperforms

Dr Summers kept me waiting 3 hrs beyond appt. Offrice staff never informed waiting pts Dr was running late/ had emergency/ asked if wanted resched, etc. Wrote generic prescriptions when specific meds, many non-generic, were discussed. Spent little time listening to my medical history. Staff got inflamed when I read MY medical record. Wanted unnecessary tests and when I refused, having never had the problem he wanted to test (and still don't) wrote in my record adverse comment. Practice has form letter to tell patients they won't be treated by Drs any more. Problem is "lack of communication" according to ltr, real reason is pt is knowledgeable about own meds, asks for treatment beyond one issue at a time, insists on non-generic meds (as reqd) and asks questions of Dr which make him uncomfortable. Dr Summers doesn't extend his care beyond the arena an urgent care place can do. Doesn't want to treat greater range of FP issues, such as ADD, which, once diagnosed, require maintanence. Very quick to refer to other specialists: writes referrals as fast as prescriptions (good) but denys himself the opportunity to treat (not helpful to pt.) Staff doesn't serve him as well as it could; think of Dr first then patient. Practice overbooks appts so there is ALWAYS as wait except if you have the first morning appt (even then however, I have not been seen except after waiting in an exam room for some minutes.)I wouldn't reccommend Dr Summers. He is apparently tired of doctoring.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 9th, 2008

Dr Summers is very competent on the usual maladies. He does not spend much time per patient and(apparently) depends on volume of patients to increase practice income. It is believed that the practice has relationships with drug manufacturers (samples and materials-such as TV sets and videos to play on it) and may have financial incentives to prescribe/not prescribe certain drugs. Dr Summers does not like to be questioned on his decisions. He and his partner cannot control their waiting room wait time and do not announce when their is a long waiting time. Experience with MEDICARE covered patient (one only) apparently showed that Dr Summers tests more than for non-MEDICARE patients. Does not communicate well with patients when there is any sort of issue either with him or with the patient.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 9th, 2017

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

November 17th, 2016

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2016

1.0 Rating

October 15th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Samuel Summers Sr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Memphis, TN.

  • Dr. Sowmya Brahmadevi

    Family Medicine

    Memphis, TN 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    17
  • Dr. Fang Zhou

    Family Medicine

    Memphis, TN 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (11)
    26
  • Dr. Philip Mintz

    Family Medicine

    Memphis, TN 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (26)
    35