The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Scott Nelson Is this you?
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
33.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Scott Nelson?


31 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2016

He literally saved my sons foot!! His team and the plastic surgeon team at loma linda are truly a blessing!!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 31st, 2016

The go-to surgeon on the West Coast for treating leg-length discrepancies. His reputation among his professional colleagues is outstanding and as a parent of his patient, he has been amazing!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2015

I have always been treated with kindness, professionalism and compassion!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 29th, 2014

Surgery for knee septic arthritis
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 17th, 2012

We were extremely pleased that we were able to see Dr Nelson after my daughter broke her leg. Not only did he put my daughter at ease, but he thoroughly discussed her complicated fracture and the treatment options, with his recommendations, which he backed up with medical studies. He sees so many patients that it is obvious he is very experienced. Even though we were seen at the end of the clinic day, he was pleasant and relaxed. I am willing to wait however long it takes to see the best doctor possible when it comes to my kids, and Dr Nelson was worth every minute. His office staff were professional and told us immediately up front about the wait time.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 13th, 2012

I love him!!

He's a really good doctor and i love him for that!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2012

My Daughter's Scoliosis Surgery

Before I get started, I want you to know that I am a Credentialing Specialist by Profession and I check out the credentials and record of every doctor that I come in contact with before I even make an appointment. After much research I decided that Dr. Nelson would be given the chance to treat my 12 year old daughter for scoliosis. The most prevalent reason my husband and I decided on Dr. Nelson was that he was not just a "cutter." He is also a doctor who has dedicated himself to helping others less fortunate. He has spent time in Haiti and the Domincan Republic, even moving his family to give to the people. That said a lot to us. He is not in the surgery business just for the money.Dr. Nelson took the time to explain the surgery and even though we were hesitant to commit he was very patient with my husband and I. This is not a surgery to be taken lightly and we were very concerned. Dr. Nelson acknowledged our concerns and we agreed to the surgery. We scheduled the surgery for 6 months out so that it would be the beginning of summer and she would not miss any school.We were secretly hoping that we would be able to put surgery off for another year to allow her to complete her growth. That was not to be - her curve progressed during those 6 months to a horrifying 70 and 60 degree curve! There was no putting it off. My daughter was 12 years old and felt at ease with Dr. Nelson. He was very good with her, talked directly to her and answered all her questions. She was more comfortable than we were! After the surgery she only had a negligble curve. Dr. Nelson did a great job not only during surgery but after as well. He and his team kept a keen eye on our daughter and had a good relationship with the entire family. When we arrived at the hospital the morning of the surgery we were greeted by a couple of med students who were conducting a research project. They wanted to know if we would allow our daughter to participate, that it only required a small amount of blood to be drawn (while she was asleep) and that she would wear a finger monitor while in surgery. We agreed and off they went. That evening those students found us in ICU and told us that they were in the room while the surgery took place. They spent time explaining the procedure, all the tools in the room and how good Dr. Nelson was. They told us that students enjoy learning and working with Dr. Nelson. We loved the "inside" information! While I didn't give Dr. Nelson an excellent review for the wait time, I want to let everyone know that we did not mind having to wait. The reason you have to wait so long is that Dr. Nelson will take the time to explain what is needed and to make you feel comfortable so that you can make an informed decision. We took up quite a bit of his time and he never rushed us. So if he makes us wait so that he can do the same for another family then so be it.To sum this all up, I would highly recommend Dr. Nelson and his team!

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2011

amazing

Dr. Nelson and his staff recently did surgery on my son's hip and they not only did an amazing job on my son but treated us with the most respect. I highly recommend him. And they were right as soon as we got hom my son was able to wiggle himself farther up our couch.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 31st, 2011

Amazing

He is an amazing surgeon. I know my son is in wonderful hands.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 28th, 2011

Grateful mother

I just wanted to express how grateful our family is for Dr. Nelson's quick response to my daughter's medical issue. I knew she was in excellent hands. Everyone at his office as well as everyone at the hospital were all absolutely wonderful.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 19th, 2017

1.0 Rating

October 31st, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Scott Nelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Loma Linda, CA.

  • Dr. Adeel Husain

    Orthopedics Reconstructive Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    Loma Linda, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    9
  • Dr. Virchel Wood

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Loma Linda, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    53
  • Dr. Arthur Thiel

    Dr. Arthur Thiel

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Loma Linda, CA 0 mi

    4.7
    (15)
    38