advertisement
Browse Health
Physiatry/Pain Management
11 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
4.0
  •  
Total Ratings

56

Total Reviews

23

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 16 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 16 minutes
Write a Review
May 19th, 2015

I went in unbeknownst to me with 3 herniated disc in my back. I could hardly walk let alone stand up. The staff got me in immediately so I could lay down... Dr Martin met with me then took me to a room where he gave me a shot in my back I was in so much pain I don't know if it hurt or not. That was the best thing that could have happened to me... I sent saw Dr Martin 3 or 4 times after that... I did have one additional shot after that... I absolutely adore dr. Martin and his staff is fabulous... I was so sorry when I heard that he moved to Henderson Nevada... Definitely our lost their gain

May 16th, 2015

He gets you hooked on pain pills, and then leaves town without any reputable doctors. This doctor should lose his license. He mutilated my back with his continous, multiple surgeries.

Dec 26th, 2014

I have been seeing Dr.Martin for about 8 months. I have RSD,Fibromyalgia, chronic back pain, and a reoccurring cyst that grows to the size of a softball every 3 months for 3 years and requires hospitalization. I have had over 30 surgeries & probably 50 or more procedures. I am in constant pain. Dr. Martin has charisma and knows how to use it-but it is not real. He seems empathetic and listens, and appears to communicate-but beware! He has taken me off medication that he convinced me to try and telling me how great it was, and when I went to get a refill, he had made a decision to take me off w/out discussing it with me. You have to talk to his nurse-you cannot reach him personally nor will he take ANY PATIENT PHONE CALLS. My last and worst experience came during me moving which was painful and highly stressful. I lost my next month's Rx in the move so he decided not to give me ANY of the meds I had been taking for over 14 years. I lost a month of my life in bed in agony and he definitely put my health and life at risk. His nurse seems to make a lot of decisions on her own. I should have been weaned down off these drugs as all research shows. When I saw him next, he lied to my face saying my insurance wouldn't cover it anymore!!!!! He then cut my meds in 1/2 saying that new research shows there is no difference in quality of life for people taking opiates with chronic pain. I know for sure, I wasn't surveyed on that question and RSD can be crippling. It has been spreading like a hot knife searing down my spine. no tests were done. I pleaded with him as I have always been taught to stay ahead of the pain. since you can't reach him, I got myself to his office at closing time -in agony, sobbing. Was told they don't take walk-ins that it would throw him off his busy schedule! the patient sitting next to me who also had had it with him said I'm his last patient! another lie from his office. I have been bedridden through the holidays, and feel like I am on fire. He has sold his practice and left me barely any medication until I see his replacement in 2 months. I am so scared as the RSD is spreading and could cripple me for life without intervention. New patients be ware of his seemingly charming ways. His actions show how cold he actually is. He once actually told me I had more going on physically than 95% of his patients painwise, yet had a better attitude that 97% percent of them, then turns around and lies, and leaves me at risk in agony! New patients: if you want to get better he's not not the right Doctor!! I wonder how he or his nurse would feel for a month in any of our shoes?

  •  
Hopeless show details Hopeless
by Kat12 on Oct 18th, 2014

I saw Dr Martin at his old practice and he was great. He left there suddenly and I had no clue how to reach him. A couple of years later and I found him on the internet, so Yay, I fired the other doctor at the old office and went to see him. The visit with Dr Martin was pretty good. He advised me to change medication which I jumped at because I had been on it for years and it didn't really help much anymore. He advised Physical Therapy, good idea, switching meds and a new scan because my back is getting so much worse that it is obvious to the naked eye, even when fully clothed. Also, the Spinal Cord Stimulator that he installed a few years ago needs some attention so he was going to get ahold of the rep and have them check it out. Great! Lets do it all. So when leaving he gave me a script for two weeks medication and he told me to see him in two weeks. I made the follow up appointment and asked about a referral for PT. The receptionist told me to "just go anywhere" Don't I need some kind of a prescription so they know what to work on? Vague stare. No, just go wherever. No mention of the scan or the Spinal Cord Stimulator maintenance. Ok well maybe he's going to look into it and tell me what's up in two weeks when I come back. The receptionist also forgot to give me my ID back. A couple of days later I took the script to be filled. The pharmacy said that they would have to call my "doctors" since they had already filled a pain rx two weeks ago from my old doctor, the one I fired to see Dr Martin. I thought it was odd but OK, if that's what you need to do, fine. So I left and by the time I got home I had a message from the pharmacist who gleefully told me that they called Dr Martin and he voided the prescription and wants to see me. ? So I called Dr M's nurse and left a kind of frantic message because I don't understand what the heck is going on. Half hour later no return call so I call her again and again went to VM. Se finally called me back and just said that Dr. M would not give me any refills and he voided the RX. She also said that this was the second time she left me a message. It wasn't. She was very cold and not at all helpful. I tried to call her back twice with no luck. She did however say that she would not be available the next day. She said to call the assistant the next day and she would know all about it. I called the assistant the next day left voice mail (they never answer their phones) She called me back the next day after I left 2 messages and sadly I missed the call. She just repeated what the nurse said but nothing new. I called 2 more times but no return call. So I still don't know what the problem is. The only thing I can think of is that RX from by old Dr. two weeks earlier set off some sort of red flag at the pharmacy. The situation is that Dr. M was fully aware of the previous script and I didn't ask for nor receive any sort of refill and only wanted to do as he suggested and add the new one and lower the dosage on the old meds. Here is what upsets me more than anything else and this is in regards to both Dr M AND the pharmacy! Can't any of you Health Care providers pick up the phone and say something like "Hey! The pharmacy said THIS, so what's the deal? Are you ok? Is this a mistake? Has your pain increased?" Or even give me the information so I can sort it out.? So I finally find Dr Martin and fire the old doctor and now I am totally screwed. I can't go back to the old doctor because I fired them, I am absolutely mortified about going back to Dr Martins office but I need to have this spinal stimulator attended to and I need to find out why the curve in my back is getting worse. Im afraid to go to yet ANOTHER Dr because that looks even worse. Please hear what I am saying DOCTORS, if you have any kind of problem with one of your patients just ASK the patient. Give your patients an opportunity to be heard. It's weird but it was quite clear that the nurse and the assistant had written me off and no longer felt any need to be nice and compassionate. I, too work in healthcare and I also see all kinds of nonsense but I don't treat patients like this because I would be fired. So, in closing, I have no idea what to do. I will be out of my medication in a week and I have no where to go. I chose Dr Martin for his compassion and understanding and sadly it was a stupid thing to change offices. I hope that if anyone else is considering this office, be very very careful because they seem to be more interested in over covering their behinds than actually helping people in pain. Oh, and to all Doctors, Please Please Please ASK QUESTIONS, if you have them. You may not get the answer that you want or expect and maybe you will, but being judge and jury when I don't even know what I have been accused of is ridiculously unfair. I hate writing this. I am really sad that it has come to this. I wish you all a better experience than I had!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
OUTSTANDING Doctor and Staff show details OUTSTANDING Doctor and Staff
by Joanna Ruth McB on Feb 13th, 2014

Dr. Scott Martin has always taken the time to listen to what I am going through. He is thoughtful and considerate. Dr. Martin started me off with the lowest dose of pain medication for my condition and met with me once a month consistently until he found the most effective medications for my particular situation. He has always been kind and VERY caring. I cannot believe the crap I have read in earlier posts. SIMPLY NOT SO. I would recommend Dr. Scott to anyone I know. I have also brought my elderly mother as well as my husband to Dr. Scott for help and they are very happy with him AND his wonderful staff.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
He manages to keep you in pain instead of being a pain management doctor!! show details He manages to keep you in pain instead of being a pain management doctor!!
Aug 19th, 2013

He has not enough education to treat people with complicated diseases!! He is a physiatrist & he should stick to physical therapy. My family member has been treated like a drug addict when in fact the family member has a disease this doctor has nooo idea how to treat. Many of his patients land up in the hosp in ER due to their extreme pain level he leaves them in. If you want to remain in pain then see him!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Rude Nurse, Jody show details Rude Nurse, Jody
by A. on May 20th, 2013

Scott Martin was kind, however his staff, particularly his nurse, Jody (maybe Judy) was exceptionally rude.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Some of you need a rating show details Some of you need a rating
by Jeff S on May 5th, 2013

I'm glad I didn't read some of these reviews before I saw him! Rude, no personality, no bedside manners, BS, what do you want him to do, a soft shoe dance while you're whining about your aches and pains? He's heard it all! Listen, I spent 10 years going to two different doctors and getting 120, 10-325 Norco from both of them. Lucky I wasn't caught! Anyway, after rehab he started me out on Tramadol, then Tylenol w/codeine. Great, I would have been better off putting them where the sun don't shine, but with my track record what do you expect him to give me. Some of us have a higher tolerance to drugs, but he's no mind reader. I'm 65 yrs young and was doing hard drugs before he was born. I know it will take awhile before he'll start trusting me and give me something stronger that works, until then ' WTF'. By the way, have any of you started joking around and making him laugh? Try it, it works both ways. Plus I like the way he dresses. What, doctors all have to look the same?

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Good experience & Compassionate care show details Good experience & Compassionate care
Jul 18th, 2012

Dr Martin has a great way about him he takes his time with you. He listens to what you have to say. I would also like to add he does know how to dress. You go doc

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
He Listens show details He Listens
Jul 16th, 2012

He actually HEARS what a patient is saying and he has a lot of patience on those rare days I have trouble communicating my thoughts.

  •  
Physiatry is the BEST for Pain Management. Not an Anestheseologist show details Physiatry is the BEST for Pain Management. Not an Anestheseologist
Jun 14th, 2012

Dr. Martin is clinical and professional. He understands rehabilitation for people with injuries. If you are looking for someone to hold your hand move on. If you want someone to evaluate your pain accurately go to him so you can progress and move beyond pain.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Would rather be a model? show details Would rather be a model?
Jan 25th, 2012

Seems like he would prefer to be walking a runway with the way he was dressed. Talked to for under 5 minutes total. Wrote a new prescription incorrectly.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Best Pain Management Doctor! show details Best Pain Management Doctor!
Jan 24th, 2012

I have systemic lupus, fibromyalgia, tumor on T-11 pedicule and have seen 4 other doctors that performed so many expensive epidurals and other procedures that were not working. Dr. Martin diagnosed me properly and treated me with physical therapy and appropriate meds and treatments. What a difference in changing my quality of life!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Great Doctor show details Great Doctor
Jan 15th, 2012

Dr. Martin is very professional and compassionate.. His vast knowledge in pain management surpasses any physician I have ever been a patient of or worked with as a Registered Nurse. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need or who has been discouraged by others. He brings hope and a new approach to his patients.I would trust this doctor with the life of my family!

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
No Callbacks show details No Callbacks
Nov 29th, 2011

When at office everyone is great but after That poor service. Dr. martin wanted me to start a new medication, Walgreens have left messages and fax's for over 3 weeks now and no one will call them back. I have also have been leaving messages about the medication and also the results of x-rays, no one ever calls me back.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
the best show details the best
Jun 16th, 2011

Dr Martin is WONDERFUL, i have recommend him over and over to people who have cronic painThank you Dr. Martin and his wonderful staff.Cathi Smith

  •  
i feel blessed that my primary doctor referred me to him. show details i feel blessed that my primary doctor referred me to him.
May 25th, 2011

I think Dr. Martin and his staff are wonderful, thank you all for being so great.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
May 17th, 2011

Dr Martin is not a doctor with a caring bedside manner. He may have been at one point in his career but he has forgotten that pain is very hard to deal with. He treat people with out any respect. I am in the medical field for the past 20 years and I would not reccomend him to anyone. Curious why he would just up and leave his last practive without even telling his patients if you are so caring.Dr Martin you need to slow down and remember the oath you took in medical school to care for your patient. You are cocky and uncaring. You let me down as a physcian. I am glad you are not caring for my family member anymore.I have never written a bad review on anyone in my life. I hope you read this and make a change in your life and remember why you took that oath!

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Absolute disaster show details Absolute disaster
Mar 7th, 2011

Rude with no compassion for patients in pain. He has forgotten why he became a doctor. Disorganized office.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Best of the Best show details Best of the Best
Mar 1st, 2011

Warm,thoughful, and professional. Dr. Martin is a star in his field. His cutting edge approach to helping those of us with chronic pan is remarkable.

  •  
rude and arogant ! show details rude and arogant !
Dec 15th, 2010

this doctor needs a hair cut and an attitude adjustment! he could care less about people.thank god i found out what was wrong with me somewhere else. he is an idiot!

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Excelllent overall care show details Excelllent overall care
by Nyla Norris on May 1st, 2009

the most professional and humanatarin experience to date.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
An Excellent Physician show details An Excellent Physician
by Dave Santore on Jun 2nd, 2008

My father was a medical doctor and two of my brothers are medical doctors. I believe I know an excellent doctor when I experience one. Dr. Martin is absolutely excellent in all respects. His professional behavior is exceptional and he knowldege of his medicine and particularly his specialty are superior. He's a terrific man and a first class doctor. Dr. Martin was careful to be sure my back problems and need for his care was real and legitimate. I greatly respect that approach. Once I became a patient of Dr. Martin, it has been a real pleasure to schedule an appointment and to be treated by him. His demeanor is just so excellent and I learn much from each appointment, about my back pain and what alternatives I have to help me. Dr. Martin always seems to carefully listen and then offer advice and recommendations that are crystal clear and always in my best interests. I think this is one of the finest doctors in the area.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse