Dr. Scott Mcgarvey MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 21 reviews

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.4)

21 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    66%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 12.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 20th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My feet are beautiful after bilateral bunion surgery. Follow all your instructions from Dr. McGarvey and you will have a wonderful result. One of the best foot Dr.'s in the Nation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 31st, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have complete trust in his abilities and am grateful he is my doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McGarvey is an exceptional surgeon and physician. His technical skills are very impressive and he's extremely knowledgeable about the most advanced treatment options in his specialty field. Because of his surgical skill, my surgeries were very successful. Dr. McGarvey's communication skills are excellent -- he thoroughly explains your diagnosis, prognosis and potential treatment options. Because I was very well informed regarding the options, I could choose the best treatment for me and did not encounter any surprises during or after the treatment. Further, Dr. McGarvey has a caring approach, which helped me significantly through my recoveries. His team members are experienced, patient, compassionate and efficient. I would highly recommend Dr. McGarvey to any of my colleagues, friends or family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2016
Excellent Surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Scott McGarvey has been my orthopedic surgeon for bunions, foot reconstruction, and hardware removal. Positive results each time. I have the utmost confidence and respect for Dr. McGarvey. He is an excellent surgeon that cares about his patients and their success in recovery. I have recommended him to others and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 8th, 2016
Excellent surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Scott McGarvey is an excellent surgeon. I showed the results of my surgery to 3 of my other doctors and they agreed that he did an excellent job on my bunion and hammer toes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2016
Thank you Dr McGarvey!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I highly recommend Dr. McGarvey. I had both bunions operated on and the result could not have been better. I saw three other physicians besides Dr. McGarvey. He was the only one to spend time with me discussing the condition, surgery and post surgery course. I had minimal pain with the surgery! Dr McGarvey was correct when he said I would complain more of boredom than pain with the recovery. The recovery was no big deal. I was back in running shoes after three weeks, back at the gym at four weeks, back running at seven weeks. My feet LOOK great, am back exercising now without pain, my "fashion" shoes way more comfortable! I only wish I had done this sooner! Thanks Dr. McGarvey!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 18th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Once surgery was performed his staff was reluctant to provide follow up appointments. I awoke from surgery with a pin in the top of my second toe which I was unaware was part of the surgery. That toe no longer bends at the joint. The only way I saw him post operation was when there was a threat of infection. I was diagnosed by another orthopedic with CRPS(chronic regional pain syndrome ). I was suffering with this for 2 months and his staff would not schedule an appointment for me. Each time I called they said he was on vacation. This is because he had already been paid for the surgery and didn't want to spend the time to follow up with me. My family physician finally provided me with an appointment with another orthopedic who diagnosed my condition of CRPS before it was too late. He referred me to physical therapy and injections in my spine for the pain in my foot. This was a very serious condition which was not taken seriously by Dr McGarvey or his staff. I consider myself luck to have been able to get help in time. I would not refer my worst enemy to Dr McGravey's care, staff or surgical table. My advice is to find someone who care about more than your insurance money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2015
Happy Feet!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I dreaded the thought of bilateral bunion surgery, but Dr. McGarvey and his staff were wonderful. The doctor, staff and facility were exceptional - professional, prompt, helpful and supportive. The pain-factor was also a surprise to me: very, very little. Dr. McGarvey, his staff and Twin Cities Orthopedics/Crosstown Surgery are unbeatable!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had bilateral hallux valgus reconstruction and Dr. McGarvey and all of the staff were great. I cannot say enough wonderful things about my experience!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the BEST! Would not go anywhere else. He treated us with respect and was VERY courteous!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Ease of appt. Ten days and counting. Only one person is permitted to make adapts., Radora. She is NEVER available I have been trying unsuccessfully make an appt for the last 10 days. She is either unavailable or plays phone tag and we don't connect. Totally unprofessional. Sure hope Dr. McGarvey or at the least his office manager reads this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2015
Bunion and hammer toe surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wish I had read the reviews before having Dr. mcGarvey do my surgery. Had surgery a year ago, after taking out my pin I still had pain in my foot 6 months later. Called to see if I could come back in to have him look at my foot. Was told to wait and it should go away, I still have sharp pains in my foot and hammer toe. I will call back and try to get him to see me. It is not right for a surgeon to not follow up with issues that are happening or on going after he removes the pin.my husband is suppose to have foot surgery and was referred to Dr. mcGarvey by his RA doctor, was told he was an expert in his field. Dr.McGarvey may be an expert but by not following up with his patience when they still have issues later he is not a true Dr looking out for his patience best interest. If it is because of not getting paid for follow ups, then charge us, just make sure the surgeries you are doing are successful! Foot pain is very difficult to live with! My husband will not be having Dr. mcGarvey doing his surgery since I have read and experience his follow on issues after surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Scott Mcgarvey, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Minneapolis, MN.

Doctor

Dr. Allan Hunt

23 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Frank Norberg

24 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Johannes Coetzee

29 years experience

4.5 of 5