The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Scott Mercer Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Scott Mercer?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Scott Mercer?

Ratings and Reviews

38 Ratings with 14 Comments

  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 38 Ratings with 14 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 25th, 2017

This doctor has no after hours answering service. Option number 5 on the phone tree just hangs up. You can not reach him when there is a critical call.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2016

I reluctantly write this review

I hesitate to write this review, because Dr. Mercer is outstanding, probably the best primary care physician I have ever had. It felt like he spent all the time needed to diagnose my problems and be sure that I was satisfied discussing any problem. Seriously, he's a great doctor - I just don't want to fight a throng getting an appointment, so I write this glowing recommendation with some trepidation.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2015

Best health care provider I have ever known. Thorough, caring, non better.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 7th, 2015

Top Doc

Other than being an excellent doctor he's a good listener and never rushes to get to his next patient. His support staff easily rates a 10.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 20th, 2013

Man of the Month

Have been going to Dr. Mercer for 15 plus years. Office staff changed a few years ago and most of the "office issues" ended at that point. It was a long time in coming and a sign that Dr. Mercer is a very understanding and compassionate person. He is a very good doctor and takes the time to address all the issues. As a foot note to those of you that make an appointment for an ingrown toe nail and then wait to tell the doctor “the rest of the Story”, be honest up front and then them you are coming in for the hemorrhoids, STD’s or other personal issue. That is a slightly longer exam then the toe nail. As with any appointment, call ahead day of and confirm your appointment, and ask if they are on time.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 9th, 2013

Needs to be considerate of patients time!

Runs up to an hour behind even on am appointments Then is offended if you say something My dentist on the other hand is so considerate of patients time they Give gift certificate if running more than 10 minutes late.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 20th, 2012

Excellent doctor without "attitude"

Dr. Mercer is an excellent doctor with a wonderful, down-to-earth attitude. This is an "old-fashioned" doctors office, all in a good way. He and his staff have a special way of showing, and earning, respect. After a few visits, you can see why they all work together so well and why the clinic has thrived for so many years.Dr. Mercer spends the time necessary to address concerns. He really shines on follow-up visits and compassionately helps patients navigate a sometimes troublesome health system.He doesn't pretend to know it all; he readily admits it if it is something he doesn't know, making his advice seem all the more reliable, and the doctor-patient relationship so much more enjoyable.All in all, he's one of the best doctors I have ever seen. He doesn't come on strong, he's even a bit reserved at first, but if you give him, and his staff, time to grow on you, you'll be glad you did.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2012

Really like his nurse practitioner

I have seen both Dr. Mercer and his nurse practitioner Lynn. I like them both, but I especially like the nurse practitioner. She was very thorough and seemed to genuinely care about me. I did have to wait a little bit but she was so good it was worth the wait! The front and back office staff are very good too. The office could use a little up-dating but overall very good

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2012

I LOVE DR MERCER AND HIS STAFF

i would recommend Dr mercer to anyone and everyone. I have been seeing him for years. There has been some change in staff members but it has all been for the better. Kelly and Lara are so nice and helpful. I feel that the Doc really cares.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2011

The Dr. is great, his front office seems to lack efficiency and urgency.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2011

Is he burned out?

Is he burned out? They just couldn't seem to get it together. Had been sick for 6-8 weeks and swollen glands to boot. He ordered blood tests. Two weeks later they still couldn't locate them. I finally DROVE to the lab and got copies and FAXED them to the office. They still couldn't get it together to call me back. I know he knows what he is doing but he is apparently too burned out to do any follow up! I will be changing doctors shortly! I called them on a Tuesday to address this and as of Friday no one had called me back!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2011

Dr. Mercer is wonderful!!!

He and his staff are a joy! I would recommend him to anyone and have done so. He's informative, caring, and truly cares about his patients. Selina is a wonderful front desk assistant, and the nurses are caring and, all I can say is that, I feel better after leaving his office.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Scott Mercer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Encinitas, CA.

  • Dr. Bruce Pevney

    Addiction Medicine, Family Medicine, General Practice

    Encinitas, CA 0.11 mi

    4.0
    (5)
    46
  • Dr. Thomas Kozak

    Dr. Thomas Kozak

    Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine

    Encinitas, CA 0.13 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    26
  • Dr. Michael Bannach

    Dr. Michael Bannach

    Family Medicine

    Encinitas, CA 0.13 mi

    4.9
    (17)
    23