Overall Review

4.0
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.0)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    18%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 15 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
I reluctantly write this review
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I hesitate to write this review, because Dr. Mercer is outstanding, probably the best primary care physician I have ever had. It felt like he spent all the time needed to diagnose my problems and be sure that I was satisfied discussing any problem. Seriously, he's a great doctor - I just don't want to fight a throng getting an appointment, so I write this glowing recommendation with some trepidation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 6th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best health care provider I have ever known. Thorough, caring, non better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Top Doc
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Other than being an excellent doctor he's a good listener and never rushes to get to his next patient. His support staff easily rates a 10.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 20th, 2013
Man of the Month
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have been going to Dr. Mercer for 15 plus years. Office staff changed a few years ago and most of the "office issues" ended at that point. It was a long time in coming and a sign that Dr. Mercer is a very understanding and compassionate person. He is a very good doctor and takes the time to address all the issues. As a foot note to those of you that make an appointment for an ingrown toe nail and then wait to tell the doctor “the rest of the Story”, be honest up front and then them you are coming in for the hemorrhoids, STD’s or other personal issue. That is a slightly longer exam then the toe nail. As with any appointment, call ahead day of and confirm your appointment, and ask if they are on time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 9th, 2013
Needs to be considerate of patients time!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Runs up to an hour behind even on am appointments Then is offended if you say something My dentist on the other hand is so considerate of patients time they Give gift certificate if running more than 10 minutes late.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2012
Excellent doctor without "attitude"
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mercer is an excellent doctor with a wonderful, down-to-earth attitude. This is an "old-fashioned" doctors office, all in a good way. He and his staff have a special way of showing, and earning, respect. After a few visits, you can see why they all work together so well and why the clinic has thrived for so many years.Dr. Mercer spends the time necessary to address concerns. He really shines on follow-up visits and compassionately helps patients navigate a sometimes troublesome health system.He doesn't pretend to know it all; he readily admits it if it is something he doesn't know, making his advice seem all the more reliable, and the doctor-patient relationship so much more enjoyable.All in all, he's one of the best doctors I have ever seen. He doesn't come on strong, he's even a bit reserved at first, but if you give him, and his staff, time to grow on you, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 7th, 2012
Really like his nurse practitioner
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen both Dr. Mercer and his nurse practitioner Lynn. I like them both, but I especially like the nurse practitioner. She was very thorough and seemed to genuinely care about me. I did have to wait a little bit but she was so good it was worth the wait! The front and back office staff are very good too. The office could use a little up-dating but overall very good
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2012
I LOVE DR MERCER AND HIS STAFF
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i would recommend Dr mercer to anyone and everyone. I have been seeing him for years. There has been some change in staff members but it has all been for the better. Kelly and Lara are so nice and helpful. I feel that the Doc really cares.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Dr. is great, his front office seems to lack efficiency and urgency.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2011
Is he burned out?
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Is he burned out? They just couldn't seem to get it together. Had been sick for 6-8 weeks and swollen glands to boot. He ordered blood tests. Two weeks later they still couldn't locate them. I finally DROVE to the lab and got copies and FAXED them to the office. They still couldn't get it together to call me back. I know he knows what he is doing but he is apparently too burned out to do any follow up! I will be changing doctors shortly! I called them on a Tuesday to address this and as of Friday no one had called me back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2011
Dr. Mercer is wonderful!!!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He and his staff are a joy! I would recommend him to anyone and have done so. He's informative, caring, and truly cares about his patients. Selina is a wonderful front desk assistant, and the nurses are caring and, all I can say is that, I feel better after leaving his office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 29th, 2010
Wait time
40 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
His staff and office manager are incompetent and very rude! He is only a bit nicer. We will not be going back to this office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Scott Mercer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Encinitas, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Michael Vanbuskirk

38 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Steven Salinger

26 years experience

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Luigi Simone

25 years experience

4.4 of 5