The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Scott Meyer Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Scott Meyer?

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is a thickening of the tissue beneath the skin of the palm of your hand

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Scott Meyer?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 14 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 13th, 2017

Everyone was great
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2016

Pcl acl

Have not had any luck with this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 3rd, 2015

Rude and not up to date with the latest methods

My 19-year old son had a torn ACL and meniscus. We wanted an anatomic double bundle reconstruction. Meyer did not know the technique. He could only do a single bundle repair, claiming that it was every bit as good. He acted arrogant and answered the questions very reluctantly, At one point in conversation even dropped the "f "word . Who wants a doctor like that ? I ended up taking my son to Pittsburgh, PA to Dr.Freddie Fu , who had developed the double bundle technique. He fixed my son's leg, so that eventually it became his "better" leg.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2015

My knee surgery

Dr. Meyer is one of the most respectful doctors I know. As being 14 years old and having major knee surgery was hard. He gave me the best option and was supportive all the way through. I have had Dr. Meyer as an doctor for 2 years on my knee. He listens and understands your concerns and injuries. I believe he is one of the best surgeons in the midwest.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 18th, 2014

Patient of Scott Meyer

This man has No knowledge of post care. I had blood clots they didn't diagnose. 3 visits , leg was huge, blue ,purple with lots of veins. I ended up getting treatment from fibromyalgia doctor. He had me in the hospital in 45 minutes arranging immediate tests. It's been 33 more months and I still have big pain. Went back to Meyer. He refused my request for testing. Gave me walking boots. WHAT. Again my fibro dr did tests. I have a screw in knee and ankle sticking into my muscle. So I will require tests and then surgery. I will go to iowa city. This is an 3 years of incompetence.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 7th, 2013

Orthopedic repair for high-stress profession

I was referred to Dr. Meyer because of my position as an active duty Marine. He was the most trusted orthopedic surgeon in the area to repair my shoulder and return me to full duty into a physically-demanding profession. In that, he did an outstanding job. He performed an in-depth operation involving open Bankart repair / HIlls-Sachs lesion along with removal of loose bodies (bone chips) and a few other procedures. He counseled me thoroughly pre-op about options, including my future range of motion vs. recurrence odds concerns/calculus and told me what to expect in rehab. Ten years after a high-risk surgery (Bankart repair on a 19 year-old is a 50/50 proposition), I am happy to report great success with my shoulder. I went through intensive military training, including martial arts training, following the surgery with no issues. If you want a midwife or high school guidance counselor, maybe he's not your guy. But if you want a talented orthopedic surgeon, then you've found one.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2012

I LIKE THIS DR,I KNOW HE IS A GOOD SURGEON,AND I HAVE ALL MY TRUST IN HIM

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 18th, 2010

Dr. Meyer performed my surgery when I was 16 years old. Being a kid, I was scared and he did not help any with my problems. He was completely rude and treated me like I was stupid. It seemed like he was only out for his money. If it wasn't for his assistant I would not have had any good things to say!

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

September 2nd, 2010

Competent but sorely lacking in People Skills

I think he's a good surgeon. He took care of my knee. He isn't the slightest bit personable however. I never liked visiting him. I never felt like he was particularly interested in my well being. I always left feeling like I had annoyed him and taken time away from his busy schedule. I generally left feeling like he hadn't listened to my concerns.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 19th, 2010

Knows his stuff

The guy is not a warm and fuzzy, but if you care about that when your leg is cut open you are nuts. He is the best around on knees

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 11th, 2009

Best in Des Moines!

Dr. Meyer is a great surgeon. I myself have never had to have a surgery from him, but people in my family have and he has always carried out the best possible surgery procedure and helped them to have the quickest recovery possible.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 22nd, 2009

best knee surgeon in des moines

Dr Meyer is the best knee surgeon in the Des Moines area. I would definitely recommend him. He is up on all the latest procedures and will get you back to 100%.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Scott Meyer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Des Moines, IA.

  • Dr. Todd Harbach

    Dr. Todd Harbach

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Des Moines, IA 0 mi

    4.0
    (23)
    27
  • Dr. Chinedu Nwosa

    Dr. Chinedu Nwosa

    Trauma Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    Des Moines, IA 0 mi

    4.8
    (11)
    12
  • Dr. Kamaldeen Aderibigbe

    Trauma Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Des Moines, IA 0 mi

    4.8
    (4)
    4