Dr. Scott Rushton MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 93 patient ratings
  • 26 reviews

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.1)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    59%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    12%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 14.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had decompression surgery in March, and I was very pleased with Dr. Rushton, his staff, the hospital staff, and the surgical results. I do not have one complaint, only positive things to say. Highly recommend Dr. Rushton.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Dr. Hospital service was disjointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 5th, 2016
Great Surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Originally came to see Dr Rushton for a second opinion. After meeting with him and his staff, I decided to have him do my surgery and cancelled my surgery at Rothman. I definitely made the right decision and am so glad that Dr Rushton did the surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2016
Outstanding Physician
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband suffered severe back pain and activity limits for 18 months. ESI injections into his back offered minimal relief. Our Primary Care doctor recommended he see Dr. Rushton for a second opinion. In his office, Dr. Rushton spent 45 minutes reviewing the MRI and explaining exactly what he would do. I worked as a surgical nurse for 40 years and never heard such a complete pre-operative explanation Two months ago, Dr. Rushton performed laminectomies on vertebrae L2, L3, L4, L5, and S1. When my husband awoke from surgery the debilitating pain was gone! He needed very little pain medication post-op. That evening he walked in the hospital hall. Dr. Rushton and his nurse practitioner visited every day. They discussed every detail of his recovery. Healing takes time and effort. He goes to physical therapy three times a week and exercises regularly. Two months after surgery he has his life back. He even was able to climb onto his tractor this week to mow grass (one of his great joys in life). Dr. Rushton has always been polite, respectful, and friendly. We could not ask for more in a physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 9th, 2015
Diabled for the rest of my life
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Folks, cervical surgery is much different then lumbar. Dr Rushton may be great for cervical surgeries, but it appears he is leaving a trail of disabled people with lumbar surgeries. Like others I had a decompression surgery. This was at L4/L5. It failed. Not only that, it left me with adhesive arachnoiditis. Look it up. Not pleasant. Dr Rushton apparently damaged the dural during surgery, but did not say anything. This guy is sugar and spice when things go well. But hostile toward you when it does not. My advice? Go somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i was really sad to see the reviews for Dr Rushton. He has been my surgeon since 2012. He performed a fusion at c5 c6. For 12 years I suffered only because of fear. i have been pain free since that day. He isn't a bubbly joking kind of Dr but he is very professional. I have never has a problem getting an appointment and his staff has always been respectful and compassionate. I am having back surgery this May and I am very confident in his ability.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Have lots of confidence in him, operated on my back on 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Spent little time. Misdiagnosed. High pressure sales to do excessive, unnecessary surgery. Badmouthed other doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 20th, 2014
Rude, terrible bedside manor!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr Rushton to be rude, condescending and unsympathetic. He did not even bother to examine me, brushed off my concerns, and gave no advice, suggestions/instruction. He called me "kid" throughout the entire 5 min visit (I am in my mid 30's). The visit was over so quickly I was left feeling so shocked that I couldn't even respond to his poor behavior.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 1st, 2014
Avoid this doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I chose this doctor based on his CV that I had access to. I was very excited to see him about my lumbar spine. From my very first visit, he was distant, arrogant, never made eye contact. You are a number in this office and you are rushed in and out. Things got worse. I continued to see him hoping maybe he was just having a bad day. Not so. He answered my questions with an arrogant question. He said I needed a laminectomy with fusion (radical surgery) which would require me to be in the hospital four or five days and have a bone stimulator and take forever to recover with no guarantee it would work. I went and got a second opinion and it turns out I don't need that at all!!! A procedure on an outpatient basis is what was recommended to me by my new surgeon. I let Rushton know and needless to say, he was not happy. Too bad. I would not recommend this guy to my worst enemy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2014
cervical spine surgery
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Rushton fused C4/5, 5/6, and 6/7. He is a great surgeon and I have no regrets with this surgery. I have no pain, and all neck pain and cramping and twisting in hands has stopped. Is Dr. Rushton arrogant? Just a little, but I liked that about him I thought it showed that he was confident in his surgical abilities. He does have a great bedside manner. He took my young children into my bedside and explained why I was on a respirator and told them not to be afraid. I told him that during my first spinal surgery they had to keep calling my spinal surgeon and i was never certain that he ever showed up or really did the surgery. It failed so I thought that maybe a student did the surgery, I asked that he please be at the table before they knocked me out. Not only was he at my bedside, but he was nice enough to hold my hand before they knocked me out. He is a great surgeon and I recommend him to all that I know without reservation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 17th, 2013
Stay away
Wait time
5 minutes
Dr Rushton may be a good talker up front. But when things go wrong Dr Rushton becomes aggressively hostile towards you. He will tell you that he did a great job and that it must be your fault that you are not recovering. Dr Rushton did a simple laminectomy on me and told me I would be good as new in 3 to 4 weeks. Instead I am totally disabled and unable to sit or stand for any length of time. Dr Rushton basically said there was nothing else he could do and I should learn to live with my disability. If you want your life taken away, this is the surgeon for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Scott Rushton, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Wynnewood, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Carl Deirmengian

17 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Vegari

9 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Rubenstein

32 years experience

3.8 of 5