Dr. Sean Hwang MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology Great Neck, NY

Overall Rating

4.6
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (-0.1)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    83%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 10.3 minutes
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No words for how wonderful he is. I've been to many neuros and he tops all of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2015
Good Doc
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hwang is a great Neurologist. I am so happy to have been referred to him. I felt very comfortable in his diagnosis. He has great bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2014
"out of the mouth of babes"
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't be deceived by this youthful appearance. He is experienced, prompt, caring and listens carefully to what you say. He explains things so you can understand them. My whole family is impressed by his medical and human skill. I have been with him since he was at LIJ and his whole team is phenomenal !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 19th, 2012
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
as opposed to my previous doctor, he did not realize that surgery was the answer. Had i stuck with him & not switched doctors and have the surgery, i would not be alive today!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

I felt compelled to respond to this comment. North Shore LIJ has one of the highest volumes of epilepsy surgery in Nassau, Suffolk, Queens and Kings county. We tend to be one of the more aggressive regional Epilepsy Centers in regards to medical or surgical therapies, but appropriate patient selection candidacy for surgery is extremely important. If you were not considered an optimal candidate for surgery due to your epilepsy, it likely would reflect at the time of your consultation: 1) that it was not determined at the time whether you were medically intractable, 2) inconsistent data in regards to the localization of your seizures based on your prior workup, 3) concern for multifocal disease, or 4) concern for the potential for harm from the surgery due to the location of your seizures in respect to areas of the brain that are important for function. Whoever you are, I hope you have good luck with whatever operation you decided to go through with, and that it was done appropriately with careful consideration. Hopefully, it also rendered you seizure free. I always make a genuine and conscious effort to review data and therapeutic options carefully with patients, and therefore would also enjoy the opportunity for you to offer feedback in person rather than anonymously, perhaps to help us understand why you were dissatisfied, and to review what were the specifics of your case.


5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2012
comfort
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hwang was very professional and took the time to explain his diagnosis and opinion in a comforting and detailed manner. He is knowledgable and highly recommend him for any matters relating to epilepsy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 10th, 2010
GOOD DOC AAA+
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
i've seen a lot of different docs, and i feel like i've heard the same thing from everyone...but dr hwang is excellent and gave me hope- whi ...

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2010
Very nice doctor!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I am glad I finally found a doctor that specializes in treating epilepsy, after meeting many other docs- Dr. Hwang treats mostly people with seizures, and it is great to talk to someone who really understands the kinds of things we have to deal with everyday! He is a pretty good listener and definitely stays focused on my issues during the visit, unlike some docs I have met before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2010
happy with my new doc!
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had great experience with Dr. Hwang,and I would definitely recommend LIJ for epilepsy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2010
Terrific Doc!
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Really nice doc, good listener, knows epilepsy. Good experience overall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2010
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hwang takes the time to truly understand what his patients are going through. He is extremely knowledgeable and compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2010
Proactive, caring doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Hwang for about a year and am getting my seizures under control after 3 years. It takes time to find the right balance with this illness but he is very proactive. He takes time to explain why he's changing things and what he hopes the outcome will be which I feel is important with the unpredictability of this disease. He has a great bedside manner and his support staff has been wonderful in helping me get in to see him when I had an urget situation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 11th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sean Hwang, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Great Neck, NY.