Dr. Sean Smullen MD Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology Doylestown, PA

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.3)

28 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    57%
  • Great
    21%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    11%
  • Wait Time 22.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2016
Top notch ENT
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr Smullen for a number of years. He is thorough, answers all questions. I am never rushed. I have a high level of confidence in and great respect for Dr. Smullen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 19th, 2015
Unprofessional and inept
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Smullen refused to support the clinical diagnosis of one of his colleagues who had retired and passed my treatment into his hands. He showed very little interest in me or my story and was instead condescending and clearly in a hurry to wash his hands of me. He showed no compassion or empathy and indicated that he wasn't qualified to continue managing my care. Instead, he laughingly suggested I consult a psychiatrist, as though my condition is something that is merely in my head. I have never written an online review before but felt obliged to share my experience with him since it was so unpleasant and unprofessional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2013
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was in for my second visit with Dr. Smullen a couple days ago. I was very impressed. I've always been a very nervous patient and he actually made me feel comfortable, something only one or two other doctors have ever been able to do. I was talking to two of my friends today. One of them is having problems very similar to mine and then other is seeing a different Otolaryngologist who they are not satisfied with and I recommended him to both of them. The only problem I have is that his office hours aren't the most convenient for me. He's only in the office closest to me one day a week and it's a day that I have to work. (I do enjoy being able to get an extra day off from work whenever I have an appointment though.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 27th, 2011
Excellent doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife has been his patient since he opened his Lansdale Pa. practice. Her treated her for a severe sinus infection that required surgery. Not only did he treat the infection, he corrected the defect that was causing her sinus problems and straightened her nose! Thanks to Dr. Smullen, my wife can breath normally and has an even prettier nose than before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2011
Excellent Physician
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was diagnosed with a rare parotid tumor and Dr. Smullen removed the tumor and I followed up with him for the last several years. I trust him 110% with my health welfare, his bedside manner stands alone he is compassionate, understanding and genuinely cares about his patients. He gave me the confidence I needed during a very difficult time with treatment. I would highly recommend this doctor for so many reasons.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 7th, 2011
Required additional surgery.
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Smullen is a very nice person but I do question his abilities. I had sinus surgery and developed subsequent infections and scar tissue. According to the surgeon who corrected Dr Smullen's "work," Dr Smullen did nor provide adequate follow-up care including an appropriate antibiotic. Had Dr Smullen been more thorough, and not minimized my concerns and my insistence that "something was wrong," it is very likely that I would not have had complications.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My daughter had an irregular mole on her abdomen which showed atypical cells requiring 2 excisions. Dr. Smullen was very professional, supportive and informative. We did not feel rushed and were able to have all of our questions and concerns addressed. The excision went smoothly, he called to report on biopsy results in timely fashion and she has healed beautifully.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 4th, 2010
Dr Smullen is a fantastic person all around!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Smullen will take the time you need to take care of what is going on at the time of the visit, he will talk with you over the phone and is the kindest most comforting physician I have ever been too! I actually enjoy coming to visit! there is only one thing about his offices and that is the waiting time to see him, he does tend to run behind. Its not to justify, but, he takes very very very good care of his patients and tries to spend the time needed to comfort and explain things so the patient feels comfortable when they leave.

2.0 of 5
February 1st, 2010
Screwed Up Surgery
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went in for a rhinoplasty and he seemed very nice, friendly, and knowledgable. However, he completely screwed up the inside of my nose so that I get frequent sinus infections and bronchitis. He did not seem to care after the surgery was over about fixing any mistakes and brushed it off. I would never go back to him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 31st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 17th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sean Smullen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Doylestown, PA.