The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sean Smullen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sean Smullen?

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sean Smullen?

Ratings and Reviews

28 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 28 Ratings with 9 Comments

5.0 Rating

March 24th, 2016

Top notch ENT

I have been a patient of Dr Smullen for a number of years. He is thorough, answers all questions. I am never rushed. I have a high level of confidence in and great respect for Dr. Smullen.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 19th, 2015

Unprofessional and inept

Dr. Smullen refused to support the clinical diagnosis of one of his colleagues who had retired and passed my treatment into his hands. He showed very little interest in me or my story and was instead condescending and clearly in a hurry to wash his hands of me. He showed no compassion or empathy and indicated that he wasn't qualified to continue managing my care. Instead, he laughingly suggested I consult a psychiatrist, as though my condition is something that is merely in my head. I have never written an online review before but felt obliged to share my experience with him since it was so unpleasant and unprofessional.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2013

I was in for my second visit with Dr. Smullen a couple days ago. I was very impressed. I've always been a very nervous patient and he actually made me feel comfortable, something only one or two other doctors have ever been able to do. I was talking to two of my friends today. One of them is having problems very similar to mine and then other is seeing a different Otolaryngologist who they are not satisfied with and I recommended him to both of them. The only problem I have is that his office hours aren't the most convenient for me. He's only in the office closest to me one day a week and it's a day that I have to work. (I do enjoy being able to get an extra day off from work whenever I have an appointment though.)

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 27th, 2011

Excellent doctor

My wife has been his patient since he opened his Lansdale Pa. practice. Her treated her for a severe sinus infection that required surgery. Not only did he treat the infection, he corrected the defect that was causing her sinus problems and straightened her nose! Thanks to Dr. Smullen, my wife can breath normally and has an even prettier nose than before.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2011

Excellent Physician

I was diagnosed with a rare parotid tumor and Dr. Smullen removed the tumor and I followed up with him for the last several years. I trust him 110% with my health welfare, his bedside manner stands alone he is compassionate, understanding and genuinely cares about his patients. He gave me the confidence I needed during a very difficult time with treatment. I would highly recommend this doctor for so many reasons.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 7th, 2011

Required additional surgery.

Dr Smullen is a very nice person but I do question his abilities. I had sinus surgery and developed subsequent infections and scar tissue. According to the surgeon who corrected Dr Smullen's "work," Dr Smullen did nor provide adequate follow-up care including an appropriate antibiotic. Had Dr Smullen been more thorough, and not minimized my concerns and my insistence that "something was wrong," it is very likely that I would not have had complications.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 16th, 2010

My daughter had an irregular mole on her abdomen which showed atypical cells requiring 2 excisions. Dr. Smullen was very professional, supportive and informative. We did not feel rushed and were able to have all of our questions and concerns addressed. The excision went smoothly, he called to report on biopsy results in timely fashion and she has healed beautifully.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 4th, 2010

Dr Smullen is a fantastic person all around!

Dr Smullen will take the time you need to take care of what is going on at the time of the visit, he will talk with you over the phone and is the kindest most comforting physician I have ever been too! I actually enjoy coming to visit! there is only one thing about his offices and that is the waiting time to see him, he does tend to run behind. Its not to justify, but, he takes very very very good care of his patients and tries to spend the time needed to comfort and explain things so the patient feels comfortable when they leave.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 1st, 2010

Screwed Up Surgery

I went in for a rhinoplasty and he seemed very nice, friendly, and knowledgable. However, he completely screwed up the inside of my nose so that I get frequent sinus infections and bronchitis. He did not seem to care after the surgery was over about fixing any mistakes and brushed it off. I would never go back to him again.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

March 31st, 2017

4.0 Rating

March 18th, 2017

1.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sean Smullen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lansdale, PA.

  • Dr. Jeffrey Buckwalter

    Dr. Jeffrey Buckwalter

    Otolaryngology, Allergy

    Lansdale, PA 0 mi

    4.0
    (12)
    38
  • Dr. Stephen Mass

    Dr. Stephen Mass

    Otolaryngology

    Lansdale, PA 0 mi

    3.7
    (9)
    23
  • Dr. Richard Herman

    Otolaryngology

    Lansdale, PA 0 mi

    2.4
    (19)
    28