ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Selwyn-Lloyd Mcpherson Is this you?
  • 14
  • 6
  • 6
  • 2
  • 24

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
54.1 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Selwyn-Lloyd Mcpherson?


52 Ratings with 23 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 11th, 2015

Ego supersedes knowledge

He misdiagnosed me as having major depressive disorder and put me on Effexor which caused me to have a severe negative reaction. He would not consider for a moment that he might have been wrong. Even when I was complaining of serious physical and mental side affects. I finally stopped seeing him and took myself off the Effexor and felt better(still do - years later) for the first time in nearly 1 ½ years. I should have listened to the other reviewers but I got caught up in his likable demeanor. His ego supersedes his knowledge. Please trust me when I say there are more competent doctors out there than this man and they will seek a genuine diagnosis as opposed to sticking to a knee jerk reaction as this doctor does.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 7th, 2015

I just left that office & I'm NEVER stepping foot in that office again! I waited almost THREE hours to be seen & I'm so disgusted with that whole experience!!! I'm absolutely horrified & I can't believe he's still in practice!!!!!

Wait time
56 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2015

Excellent Doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 29th, 2015

Horrible service

Absolutely horrible experience. After waiting a month to get in, they had no record of me when I went to my appt and said to call back tomorrow to speak with someone. Somehow when I called back, they had all my information and said that my slot wad double booked so my appt was kicked. I was rescheduled for 1 week and a half. So when I went in the next week, I was the only patient in the waiting room. After an hour of waiting I asked how much longer and the front desk person said there's 4 people on front of you, so at least 2 hours more. Ridiculous. And the fact that you can't bring you children (which is understandable ) meant my husband missed work the first time for jo reason and my mother drove and hour the second time to watch my kids for no reason. No respect for patients.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 27th, 2015

Horrible

Wait time
56 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 29th, 2014

just takes forever to see doctor and really didnt get any anwers to what was wrong
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

May 21st, 2014

Why is he still in practice?

I was referred by a friend to this doctor, my friend has a different diagnosis but one that is one of my issues other than chronic pain due to numerous back problems from a car accident. I made the appt. and wrote it on my calender as well as put reminder in phone. when they called with my appt reminder the appt time had been totally changed?! Not by minutes but by hours! Once there i waited 2 1/2 hrs before being called back into the room, once back in the room it was another hour and 10 min untill the Dr. came in. Now i do credit him in taking his time and being very thorough with his questions. Re-asking if he didnt quite understand. Well as if my exsisting problems were'nt enough for a 39 yr old, he decided that something else must be wrong with me. Nevermind the fact I was referred by my PCP after asking, had surgery, numerous MRI's, x-ray's and was also currently under the care of an Orthopedic doctor and in physical therapy...again! So after being at his office for almost 5 1/2hr his staff sends me to the lab, which happens to be in the same building. Oops...they didnt tell me that the lab closed 25 min ago. I ended up giving 18 vials of blood, $4800.00 in bloodwork!!!!! Soooo....appt time again, had this set right after i "donated", they called with the reminder...different DAY & TIME this time! All to be told what was already know, nothing else was wrong! He then told me he couldnt treat me for my pain due to insurance issues (LIE) and that i needed an Internist as he just so suspects I have Fibromyalgia! Because all my other tests, doc's an surgeries were for nothing, right? WOULD'NT SEND MY WORST ENEMY TO THIS MAN!!!!!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 1st, 2013

This Dr. is a liar, disrespectful, and horrible staff

This Dr. wrote a report on me that I had to pay for That I would of swore was a different patient if not for my name. He never got closer than 5 feet of me but in his report he said he did all kinds of test. He should lose his license he gets paid for test he never performs. The wait is 3 hours ,his staff is disrespectfull, and very rude. Dr. tells you u dont need to make appt. for a shot but his rude staff tells u otherwise. Which the Dr. has lied many times to your face. Do not go to him, there are too many other Dr. that will treat you with respect.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 19th, 2013

STAFF UNBELIEVEABLY RUDE!

STAFF UNBELIEVEABLY RUDE! They treat you like you are a complete idiot and with ZERO respect. Be prepared to wait 2 + hrs just to be taken back to wait even longer in the exam room! Also be prepared for cancelled appts with no notification (so you drive 40 mins to make your apt that they cancelled without telling you) & to be "dropped" (at any time) from their service for no reason and no explanation. THEN be forced to pay for the records you NEED to complete your treatment plan and continue with the necessary medication needed to do so. All the while being treated like you are a terrible person for needing the treatment in the first place (even though you cannot help it)! This place is a class act, I tell ya, if you want to be treated like crap and raked over the coals... If this is how they treat their decades long patients I'd hate to know how they treat the new ones. I guess it's all just a money machine now so they don't need to respect anyone's time or health!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 19th, 2013

This doctor is very unprofessional. I had to wait 3 hours one night after work and had to cancel another appointment scheduled for the same night. It is very hard to schedule an appointment and the office staff has let people in to see the doctor out of order after people complain about waiting (if emergency, ok, but they had been waiting the same amt of hours then complained about sitting there. It can be very rude to patients who've waited a lot longer). Patients in the waiting room have talked about waiting 4+ hours. Parents whose younger children need the doctor wait just as long. The doctor can be rude and judges you not based on medical opinions. He lets people know they "Do not have to wait"? I've never seen that happen. I would recommend changing doctors or looking into other doctors first.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

August 8th, 2012

Great if you don't mind waiting

I hate waiting, and if you dont have the first appointment, you're bound to wait 1-4 hours. Because of this, I've switched doctors several times. However, I always ended up going back to Dr. McPherson who I first saw 12 years ago. He knows his stuff, he really truly cares, and other than the long waits, I couldn't ask for a better doctor.

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 16th, 2012

waited for 2 hrs one night, a patient in the waiting room told me the longest they waited once was 4 hrs..it is also hard to get an appt when needed

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Selwyn-Lloyd Mcpherson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Akron, OH.

  • Dr. Kamala Adury

    Dr. Kamala Adury

    Psychiatry, Sleep Medicine

    Akron, OH 0.34 mi

    2.8
    (17)
    14
  • Dr. Adel Zaraa

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Akron, OH 0.34 mi

    38
  • Dr. Aaron Cochran

    Neurology, Residency

    Akron, OH 0.37 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    6