ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Serena Hu Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Serena Hu?

Ratings and Reviews

21 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
23.2 min

Showing 21 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 9th, 2016

Dr Hu is extremely courteous, very skilled and very kind. I feel as if I am in very good hands and am grateful.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 25th, 2013

Highly recommended!

I highly recommend Dr. Hu. I saw her as my second opinion for surgery after seeing my first opinion 5 times. She immediately made me feel at ease and answered all of my questions thoroughly, and i had 26 questions! She did not give me the guarantee that she could solve my back pain with surgery, which was not what i wanted to hear, but was an honest assessment. I had a T3 to Sacrum fusion after she repaired many degenerating and stenotic discs in a 2 day surgery. Dr. Hu visited me every day after surgery. She is very supportive and compassionate. I am 9 months postop and have very little pain now. I am SO pleased that I chose Dr. Hu and her expertise and I am now able to live a productive life without pain meds. Life is wonderful!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 12th, 2013

The Best Experience Ever!

I waited over two months to see a surgeon for a consult about my pain, muscle mass loss, loss of motor control and more but his office canceled me six days before my appointment. I searched for another surgeon and stumbled across Dr. Hu so I asked for an appointment and within a week I was able to see her eye to eye. Dr. Hu's interaction with me and my wife was simply amazing as I have never experienced a doctor and staff so interested in me and my condition. The recommended proceedure and follow up care was clear and concisely communicated so we knew exactly what to expect. Dr, Hu recommended a ACDF (C4-C5, C5-C6, C6-C7) and corpectomy (C-6). I can go on and on but the important thing is I woke from surgery pain free and can't say enough about her personality, bedside manner and skills as a surgeon.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 7th, 2012

Two major spinal surgeries with Dr. Hu

Before I met Dr. Hu I was in severe back pain for over 40 years. My wife's aunts both had great outcomes, so I found myself considering surgery for the first time. She reviewed my MRI and diagnosed my case as severe. To be frank, she never promised to eliminate my back pain completely. She'd hoped to reduce the pain. She explained that surgeons do a better job with leg pain, but reducing back pain is less predictable. Knowing my condition would only worsen and I was at risk of losing bowel/bladder function at some point, I elected to move forward with surgery.The surgery was two parts, so two surgeries. The first surgery was an ALIF and XLIF -- 5.5 hours. Two days later she did a PSF, which took 5 hours. The recovery was tough after such a major two part surgery, but it was well worth it! I am completely pain free and the outcome exceeded both Dr. Hu's and my greatest expectation. Prior to surgery I could only stand for about 10 minutes before having to lie flat. Now, four months postop, I am able to walk for 90 minutes without stopping completely without pain. After retiring ten years ago due to debilitating pain, I have returned to work part time and I hope to work full-time again.Dr. Hu gave me a new lease on life and I am forever thankful. Back surgery is scary, but if you can find your way to Dr. Hu, it could mean a new life for you.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2011

Patient advocate

I have two family members who are patients of Dr. Hu. One patient's case was so complex, her doctor said that Dr. Hu was one of two surgeons in the US who could perform the surgery. The outcome has been amazing. Both patients have dramatically increased mobility post-surgery, and both have greatly improved comfort and quality of life. After going through three serious surgeries with two patients, I am very confident in Dr. Hu's skill as a clinician and in achieving the very best surgical outcome.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 28th, 2011

Dr. Serena Hu is amazing! She is very kind and considerate of each patient's situation. She is very intelligent and good at her job. She was my specialist for my severe case of scoliosis and she was also my surgeon when I had spinal fusion surgery (T11-L3). She allowed me to not wear my brace to school as long as I wore it at home, and I trusted that she would do a great job on my surgery, which she did. my lower curve which was fused went from about 47 degrees to about 18. She was able to answer all my questions and she took my wishes into consideration, instead of deciding for me. I would recommend her!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 6th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2017

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

August 18th, 2016

4.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2016

3.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Serena Hu is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Redwood City, CA.

  • Dr. Matthew Burn

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Redwood City, CA

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. Michael Yu

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Redwood City, CA

    5.0
    (1)
    8
  • Dr. Stephen Reichard

    Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Redwood City, CA

    5.0
    (5)
    7