Browse Health
Dr. SHAHID INSAF, MD
Psychiatrist
16 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews ? Write a Review

Overall Rating:
3.5
  • Currently 3.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

33

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.8947368421053 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.6842105263158 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.3888888888889 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.3684210526316 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.3157894736842 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.2222222222222 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 21 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Awful, all around  |  show details
Oct 23rd, 2014

I have been to about 5 psychiatrists over about 20 years for mild-to-moderate depression. After about a year with this office, I had major depression and could barely function. He kept telling me to stay on drugs for weeks and months that were making me unable to keep up with my life. I understand that side effects can reduce over time, but again, I went in sad (but okay) and was put in a state of not being okay at all. He just would not listen. I once ended up in the emergency room for a drug reaction that his office had ignored when I called them about it. They literally did not return my calls for a day, and when they did, he blew it off. He does not listen. Don't even get me started on how his wife manages the office. And Bree has a terrible bedside manner. Ultimately, I stopped all medication. I am now doing great. I guess I didn't need the antidepressants anymore, and without their side effects, I feel a world better.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Insaf changed my life!  |  show details
by Camille W on Apr 28th, 2014

After 8 years of trying to find the right medications for my depression associated with bipolar disorder, Dr. Insaf added 1 medication and has now had me stabilized for 2 1/2 years. By using the SPECT scan, Dr. Insaf was able to correctly diagnose me. I not only had bipolar disorder (which is low on the spectrum), but he was able to also see that I had atypical depression, along with PTSD. I feel extremely fortunate to have even been given his name as someone who could possibly help me when everything else was failing, in spite of my extreme diligence to get better. It is my sincere hope for anybody suffering from a mental illness find the resources to see Dr. Insaf. He is now able to treat mental illness in a way that has been long hoped for by anybody in the mental health community. He's an extraordinary doctor of great knowledge, yet he also has the ability to help educate you in a way to help you understand your illness. He is a truly compassionate, caring and supportive doctor who wants to make a difference! Dr. Insaf is the best investment I could have ever made in order to live a full and happy life, in spite of having a mental illness.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Good Dr, worst office staff in the entire midwest  |  show details
Jul 31st, 2013

Great dr very caring like everyone has said. It is his wife and other staff members who are the most judgmental, degrading and just plain ignorant and rude. When you call for your first appointment they are very nice but you will see within the first couple of appts how they treat their patients when Dr. Insaf is not around. I was always afraid to bring up anything with him since it is his wife but she really needs some help in customer service and dealing with patients. Won't be back and I hope this helps others realize that things need to drastically change before he gets anymore new patients.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor  |  show details
Jul 2nd, 2013

He is the best doctor I have ever had. He is very knowledgeable, and he cares about his patients. I'm not a fan of some of his staff, but still highly recommended.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 16th, 2012

Over all the Doctor and his assistance Bree,is wonderful. Its his wife and the receptionist that can make a person want to commit suicide! But don't worry no one here has. Not to say others haven't. I've lost everything my home, everything, no I'm not exaggerating. Tomorrow we sleep in the car, my sons and myself. I've paid so much money into this doctors office just to save my sons life. I would like some apperication,, paid a lot. Waiting for the garrenteed money to come in within the next 30 to 60 days I've made 436.00 dollar payments every month & now she can't phone in no medicine that they depend on, his wife that is.again he's great dr. Its his wife & receptionest. My kids are suffering, she knows she will be paid because she knows I will do anything for my boys!

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 5th, 2011

Just wanted to comment that Dr. Insaf is one of the best psychiatrist I have ever known. He is caring yet still professional, concerned and willing to work with you on your level. He stabilized me when noone else could and cared enough that he didn't give up when the first couple attempts at stabilization didn't work. I think he is highly trained yet a compassionate professional doctor.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jun 12th, 2011

Wonderful to have such a competent doctor- excellent with meds management and complex diagnosis.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by DJD on May 21st, 2010

Dr. Insaf was able to regulate my medications in order for me to focus and return to work. My performance and relationships at work and home improved greatly once my medication was adjusted.Dr. Insaf always took a personal interest in what was going on in my life and how I handled situations. He was complimentary and always made sure he was up date with all medications and any diagnosis by my other doctors. Even though Dr. Insaf is no longer in my health network, I will continue to see him at my own exspense.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr Insaf  |  show details
by Kelly Churchill on Apr 7th, 2010

Dr. Insaf is one of the most caring and wonderful doctors I have ever had the chance to see. I have had many psychiatrists in the past. Dr Insaf was the only one that actually was able to help me and give me hope that things with me could be better.