The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sharon Alger-Mayer Is this you?
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sharon Alger-Mayer?


15 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2017

Amazing doctor.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

October 16th, 2015

another dr who doesnt listen

I went to her for help with my binge eating disorder, she prescribed a ssri, after considering the risks vs benefits I decided I need something that's going to start working immediately so I call her to ask for the only medication the fda has thus far approved for treatment of binge eating disorder and she offers me prozac, saying it's the only other medication approved for bulimia. I am 100% sure I expressed to her I do not purge after binges, as much as I would like to be able to, I cannot, so where is this "bulimia" b.s. coming from? Total waste of time. I went to her desperate for help and nothing came of it. Thanks Dr Alger for listening so well.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 8th, 2015

Overall Unhelpful
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 28th, 2013

I'm very thankful for Dr Alger. She is one of the few Doctors in the Albany / Capital district who specialize in eating disorders, and is excellent at what she does. She was the first Dr I took my daughter to when she was very sick, and we also got in the same day I called. Two hours after I made the call to her office ! I'm very thankful that we got in that day. She spent a great deal of time with my daughter. All of her recommendations as far as treatment facilities, Doctors, and therapists are top notch. She always calls back when I have a question, and I never feel rushed. I have talked to her office staff as well, and they have all been understanding and helpful. Considering that my emotions at times have been a combination of nervous, worried, and desperate for help it's nice to know that my daughter is in the best hands. Dr Alger helped save my daughter's life ! Many thanks to Dr Alger, The Renfrew Center P.A. Dr Klim and the rest of her team.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 11th, 2013

It has been years since I've seen Dr. Alger, but I did not find her particularly caring. In fact, her lack of caring made a bigger impression. She never called either with test results that showed a problem. I found out 4 months later in a follow-up appt. Never went back after that.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 17th, 2012

Very caring

Dr. Alger-Mayer has been my nutritionist since 1999. Through the years, she has coached me and has always been a very caring, understanding, and patient physician.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 27th, 2012

excellent patient care

100% most excellent doctor.she is very caring and follows through on any problem you have.i would recomend her to everyone who needs a doctor in this field.thanks for such excellent care all these years.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 27th, 2011

Appointments are hard to get, right away. This is a testimony of how good a doctor she is. She in high demand and worth the wait.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 6th, 2016

5.0 Rating

August 25th, 2015

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2014

5.0 Rating

October 10th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sharon Alger-Mayer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Albany, NY.

  • Dr. Vibhavasu Sharma

    Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine

    Albany, NY 0 mi

    4.3
    (7)
    16
  • Dr. Marjorie Starkman

    Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Internal Medicine

    Albany, NY 0 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    37
  • Dr. Hassan Shawa

    Internal Medicine, Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

    Albany, NY 0 mi

    1.0
    (3)
    9