The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sharyl Balkin Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sharyl Balkin?

Ratings and Reviews

38 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    6
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    6
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 38 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 9th, 2012

I have been seeing Dr. Balkin for several years and never had an issue.

I would recommend Dr. Balkin

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

April 2nd, 2012

nice person

She is really a nice person but does talk about herself more than inquiring about the patient and the issues we are facing.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2011

HORRIBLE DOCTOR....

My wife is a patient of Dr. Singer (Who is wonderful doctor) and while Dr. Singer was on vacation Dr. Sharyl Balkin was on call. My wife had slept only 3 hours in the last four days and needed help at around midnight because she was having her fifth sleepless night in a row. She paged the doctor on call (Balkin) and she called back and berated my wife for bothering her in the middle of the night. Balkin stated that my wife " was harassing her". I'm sorry, but aren't doctors supposed to be on call to help patients at all hours of the day and night. She is in the wrong profession. She is a horrible doctor and I can see that other patients feel the same as we do. Dr. Balkin please get a different job, you're going to do someone some serious damage with your bedside manners.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 28th, 2010

Would never go back...

I went in the day after my husband ended up in the hospital for mental issues. I told her what had happened, and she belittled it and just told me to leave my husband. I would never leave my husband because i love him and want to fight for our relationship. She thought that it would be better for me to leave him anyway. Since then i have found my husband a good psychiatrist and we are doing much better without her.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2010

merrill urbane jr

Dr Balkin is a fine doctor she understands the problems people may have and is a very fine person not only as a doctor but also as a friend

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 11th, 2010

Very unprofessional, uncaring and self centered. She talks about herself more than the patient. She displays very poor follow up skills. I also saw a psycholgist in her practice to coordinate treatment. She never bothered to talk to the psychologist about current patient diagnosis and treatment. She does not take the time to refresh her memory prior to each visit, thus you repeat yourself and she never really progresses with treatment. VERY POOR EXPERIENCE.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 13th, 2010

Inpatient Care

Saw doctor as a result of inpatient care for crisis situation. My wife was very concerned about my release from the hospital and asked to speak to Dr. Balkin several times (through the nurse on the floor, a call to her office and during one of her visits to the floor.) She never responded or tried to respond. (My wife is listed on my HIPAA as a approved contact.) As a result of her disregard for her legitimate concerns, I was released after 3 days without any follow-up plan or consul, and was thus hospitalized again 5 days later for the same, now more severe crisis situation. I feel that she mishandled and misdiagnosed the severity of my illness. At fragile times in life, one needs a caring, detail oriented doctor who pays attention to loved ones and concerns they have.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2010

very helpful, professional

Dr. Balkin spent time with me diagnosing my Seasonal Affect Disorder accurately. Her relaxed manner and empathtic conversation facilitated my recovering process.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

February 11th, 2010

A great experience
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

November 2nd, 2009

Dr Balkin sent a fraudulant claim to BCBS trying to get money for herself for a appointment I never agreed to or had. I had to go to BCBS and .The Attorney General to get the matter straightened out.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 6th, 2009

Dr. Balkin has been a great help to me in the past, but she does talk about herself too much for the amount of money she's charging. Her office communication and administration is TERRIBLE to the point of dangerous when not being able to get meds because of their incompetence.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2009

Horrible Experience

She is unprofessional. She spent more time talking about herself than she spent listening to me.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sharyl Balkin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Barrington, IL.

  • Dr. Kathryn Singer

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Barrington, IL 0.01 mi

    4.2
    (50)
    17
  • Dr. Marlene Casiano

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Barrington, IL 0.04 mi

    3.0
    (2)
    36
  • Dr. Nausheen Hafiz

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Barrington, IL 0.08 mi

    2.7
    (3)