Dr. Sharyl Balkin MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 1.2)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    20%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    26%
  • Wait Time 14.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2012
I have been seeing Dr. Balkin for several years and never had an issue.
Wait time
15 minutes
I would recommend Dr. Balkin
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2012
nice person
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is really a nice person but does talk about herself more than inquiring about the patient and the issues we are facing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2011
HORRIBLE DOCTOR....
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife is a patient of Dr. Singer (Who is wonderful doctor) and while Dr. Singer was on vacation Dr. Sharyl Balkin was on call. My wife had slept only 3 hours in the last four days and needed help at around midnight because she was having her fifth sleepless night in a row. She paged the doctor on call (Balkin) and she called back and berated my wife for bothering her in the middle of the night. Balkin stated that my wife " was harassing her". I'm sorry, but aren't doctors supposed to be on call to help patients at all hours of the day and night. She is in the wrong profession. She is a horrible doctor and I can see that other patients feel the same as we do. Dr. Balkin please get a different job, you're going to do someone some serious damage with your bedside manners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 28th, 2010
Would never go back...
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went in the day after my husband ended up in the hospital for mental issues. I told her what had happened, and she belittled it and just told me to leave my husband. I would never leave my husband because i love him and want to fight for our relationship. She thought that it would be better for me to leave him anyway. Since then i have found my husband a good psychiatrist and we are doing much better without her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 19th, 2010
merrill urbane jr
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Balkin is a fine doctor she understands the problems people may have and is a very fine person not only as a doctor but also as a friend
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 11th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very unprofessional, uncaring and self centered. She talks about herself more than the patient. She displays very poor follow up skills. I also saw a psycholgist in her practice to coordinate treatment. She never bothered to talk to the psychologist about current patient diagnosis and treatment. She does not take the time to refresh her memory prior to each visit, thus you repeat yourself and she never really progresses with treatment. VERY POOR EXPERIENCE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 13th, 2010
Inpatient Care
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw doctor as a result of inpatient care for crisis situation. My wife was very concerned about my release from the hospital and asked to speak to Dr. Balkin several times (through the nurse on the floor, a call to her office and during one of her visits to the floor.) She never responded or tried to respond. (My wife is listed on my HIPAA as a approved contact.) As a result of her disregard for her legitimate concerns, I was released after 3 days without any follow-up plan or consul, and was thus hospitalized again 5 days later for the same, now more severe crisis situation. I feel that she mishandled and misdiagnosed the severity of my illness. At fragile times in life, one needs a caring, detail oriented doctor who pays attention to loved ones and concerns they have.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2010
very helpful, professional
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balkin spent time with me diagnosing my Seasonal Affect Disorder accurately. Her relaxed manner and empathtic conversation facilitated my recovering process.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2009
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Balkin sent a fraudulant claim to BCBS trying to get money for herself for a appointment I never agreed to or had. I had to go to BCBS and .The Attorney General to get the matter straightened out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 6th, 2009
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Balkin has been a great help to me in the past, but she does talk about herself too much for the amount of money she's charging. Her office communication and administration is TERRIBLE to the point of dangerous when not being able to get meds because of their incompetence.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2009
Horrible Experience
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
She is unprofessional. She spent more time talking about herself than she spent listening to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
This doctor was very unprofessional. I don't feel she is open-minded or empathetic both of which are necessary attributes for a good psychiatrist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sharyl Balkin, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Barrington, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Kathryn Singer

17 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Nausheen Hafiz

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Leo Jacobs

3.6 of 5