Dr. Shawn Young MD Patient Reviews

  • Surgical Oncology Denver, CO

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 21 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.4)

21 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    71%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 14th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As a surgeon, I'm going to select a surgeon with excellent technical skills and more importantly excellent judgment. Dr Young has both and has operated on me five times for an abdominal metastatic sarcoma. I trust my life to him. Could not have found a better surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 17th, 2013
Awful
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would never recommend this doctor to anyone. His poor decision making skills left my loved one in pain and many of those who loved him grieving. I believe Shawn wanted to do good, but put his own good before his patients' needs. His bedside manner was very poor. He needs to be honest with patients and think of their comfort before cutting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 1st, 2012
Great Oncology Surgeon
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had a large squamous cell cancer operated on my leg by Dr. Young. During a follow-up visit he suggested that I get a biopsy of a self discovered breast mass, which ended up being invasive cancer. Because, of his early diagnosis, I had minimal problems, and was able to avoid chemo and radiation therapy. He has taken extremely good care of me for 2 potentially very bad problems. His office staff is great also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2012
Best technical surgeon I have ever had
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a retired surgeon having had my previous surgical care (9 operations) at the MD Anderson Cancer Center. When they essentially gave up on me, I went to Dr Young who has operated on me three time. My recovery time has been reduced by one fourth and my major metastases have all been removed. Dr Young has allowed the prolongation of my life which I never expected. He is a superb technical surgeon and certainly better than anyone at the MD Anderson Hospital in Houston.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2011
Highly recommend
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Young is an exceptional surgeon and one of the most caring and empathetic doctors I have ever met. I trust him with my life, literally. I cannot describe the terror of the situation I was in when I was diagnosed with metastatic melanoma in my lymph nodes. Dr. Young was highly recommended to me by another medical professional, and I knew that God had led me to the right doctor. He is thorough and kind. I feel very fortunate to have him as a leader in my health care team. I would recommend him to anyone who needs his specialty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2011
post op
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He gave me surgery... was good at taking care of my anxiety and keeping up with my family too. Checked in after surgery. Overall very caring professional!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2010
Great surgeon
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was extremely happy with the professionalism of Dr. Young. Highly recommended.

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 24th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 20th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Shawn Young, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Denver, CO.