Dr. Sherry Melton MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Bronx, NY

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.8)

32 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    66%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Wait Time 21.7 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 1st, 2014
Great trauma DR.
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Melton was very forthcoming about my prognosis. she has a great bedside manner and really put me at ease about my stay in TBNU. she has a great team
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 26th, 2013
family member
She has a decent beside manner towards family members and patients. However, she is extremely degrading and demeaning to all staff, doctors and nurses. She talks to them like they are dogs. Patient's and family members hear this, even when she is unaware that they are listening. It is very discouraging and scary to families when we hear this. It makes us lose faith in UAB. (My mother was under her care after a serious car accident) On a positive note, the residents, nurses, and staff were amazing and we appreciate everything theey did. I have lost all respect for Sherry Melton And pray no one I love ever has to deal with her again. She is a disgrace and embarrassment to UAB.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This woman is horrible and deserves to have her medical license stripped. She is rude not only to hospital staff but also to patients. My family wanted to ask questions, but I overheard her tell the bedside nurse that she didn't have time for my family's stupid questions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 30th, 2010
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Melton is very very good in her line of work. However is bedside manner is horrible. She will not take time to answer questions, and is not worried about the family at all. When a question is brought to her attention she is defensive and agitated and becomes very aggressive. The day we had questions, she didn't even assess my family member, she came in, we instantly began arguing, and she left. Very unpleasant, and unsettleing for your family member. Communication between physician and family is a MUST with a truama patient....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2010
Showed no respect , was insulting to me and my husband. She haunts me to think someone else would be subjected to her care.
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Melton,whom I had never met, came into my room after auto accident ,1 day after surgery. I was in much pain. She insuled me by saying,"Mrs. Thompson, you are a middle aged woman with just a broken leg". She continued to tell my husband he was a crutch to me and I needed a psychiarist. She took my husband outside my room and blest him out. She sent 2 different psychiarist to my room ,who tried to force me to take anti-depressants. The 2nd one that came was also insulting to me. The reason I say these things is I don't want anyone else to be subjected to that type of treatment or care while in your hospital. It absolutely traumatized me and insulted my integrity. And by the way, my injuries were 3 broken ribs, damaged lung broken femur, completely in two, multiple bruising and my face was badly burned from the airbag. I was in a lot of pain and Dr. Melton gave me as little pain relief as possible. The pain was almost unbareable. Its almost 6 weeks since the surgery, and I am still in alot of pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2009
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent in every way. Could not be any better.

4.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 7th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sherry Melton, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Bronx, NY.