Dr. Sherwin Hua MD, PHD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery San Jose, CA

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.8)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    63%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 27.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2014
A brilliant but humble neurosurgeon!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hua and my family doctor, Dr. Marvin Masada are the best doctors I even met in my life so far. Dr. Hua who developed a dime-sized incision surgery which helped a lot of patients in chronic pain and I am one of them. When I was diagnosed that I have A-typical facial pain which is the most painful disease amongst all chronic pains. When I found helplessness and hopelessness, people who were once around me neglected and ignored me because of my illness, I tried to end my life tons of times. Fortunately, I have my beloved son who sacrificed his semester in Berkeley to take care of me because I am very dysfunctional. Through dr. Masada, I got to know dr. Hua. Originally, surgery on facial pain is usually rejected my insurance because it is very expensive. However, Dr. Hia helped me to get the insurance approved. Now almost three months after the surgery, I am still in pain and on medication, at least my pain is in control (Dr. Huang already reminded me several times of pain-free after the surgery is impossible.). Of course, I don't expect pain free, but at least the pain that I can tolerate up to the level that I can have my life back and function again. Dr. Hua was very patient to listen to my condition and explained to me in detail of how the surgery he was going to perform. After the surgery, whenever I have some questions about my post surgery pain, I asked my son to text him, he always tried his best to text him back even during weekends. I never see a doctor who can work so hard to help his patient except Dr. Hua. He is a very brilliant and skillful doctor and the most importantly, he has a strong sense of responsibility with a warm heart. He cares about his patients very much even he has link called Drchrono so that you can communicate with him in writing and he always answers your questions promptly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2013
Excellent!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Pain is all gone after surgery. Some incision pain is still there but much better every day. Dr. Hua did an amazing job. Real Friendly Doctor. He explained everything in great detail so that I could understand it and he was right on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2013
Amazing!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had surgery for a herniated disc by another surgeon and my leg pain did not change, in fact it worsened to the point that I could not walk for months. 2 other surgeons said there was nothing that could be done. I finally found Dr. Hua who operated and now I can walk and start exercising again. Thank God for his expertise!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
January 25th, 2012
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Recommended best treatment and completed surgery succefully. I needed a very complicated 3 level fusion with separation in neck which many doctors would not have attempted. Original complaint gone but now have new symptoms which have not been able to identify yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 17th, 2011
Surgery Skills are excellent, However...
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor never made a visit after surgery. Gave no instructions about after care and barely took the 5 min it takes to sign off on a discharge. The good thing is that the surgery seemed to take care of the problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

I think I remember your particular case. I always see my patients after surgery. Many surgeries are out patient where the patient can go home right after surgery or stay overnight and leave the next day. In your case, I was caught in an emergency and could not make it to the hospital until night time. At that time you had already been discharged. Because of the shortage of neurosurgeons willing to take trauma call, I have to cover several hospitals in the valley. This sometimes causes an inconvenience to my elective practice. We have been working towards hiring another 1 to 2 neurosurgeons to the area for several years. Hopefully this will help the situation.


5.0 of 5
March 21st, 2011
Spinal Patient - 2010
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Hua performed my second spinal surgery. While his bedside manner is reserved, his skill is exceptional. People who have complained about waits need to understand the complexity of neurosurgery. I think a 20-30 minute wait is good. He is a quite skilled surgeon. I trust him with my care. Since I have had the same surgery twice, I can compare the recovery from the surgeries and the recovery from the surgery with Dr. Hua was by far superior than my first surgery. When I asked other doctors in the area before undergoing a second spinal surgery their opinion of Dr Hua and his partner - they all said that they would use them both and that they were the best in the area and among the best in the LA area. That off-sets any other issues for me. I have been please with both Dr. Hua and his staff.

2.3 of 5
February 15th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the average wait time for this doctor has been one hour and forty-five min. for 3 visits. i left after the 3rd time and haven't returned. the worst front office staff i have ever experienced in 30 years.average time spend with you is less than 15 min. after one hr and a half wait. didn't see him after my surgery at all. would not recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 8th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sherwin Hua, MD, PHD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Jose, CA.