The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sheryl Cowan Is this you?

Filter Reviews

30 Ratings • 9 Comments

4.0
  • 19
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
25.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sheryl Cowan?

Showing 12 of 30 Ratings

Highly recommended

Posted on September 18th, 2017

Dr Cowan has an excellent reputation and highly recommended by staff at hospital. She is very knowledgeable and great bedside manner.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The kind of doctor you hope to have

Posted on June 29th, 2017

My wife and I have been seeing Dr. Cowan for 10 years, and have never had anything other than a positive, reassuring experience. Knowledgeable, not preachy, with no God complex. She takes the time to listen and offers treatment and guidance that has been 100% helpful to us.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Listener, best Doctor I have seen

Posted on March 15th, 2017

Took the time to listen to my problems and get me fixed up. Works so well also with other doctors that she refers to

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

This Dr doesn't care

Posted on January 10th, 2017

This Dr felt the need to deny a once loyal patient critical life sustaining medication because she required an appt to come see her. If that was told to me upfront, it would have been fine. I had to chase this Dr on multiple occasions in order to get my prescription filled of a non-narcotic medication for COPD patients that enable them to breathe better. When I do not take this medication daily, I suffer dramatically. It took 4 days without medication to reach her which by this time, I was suffering. This was not the 1st time. Getting prescriptions filled by her is alot like getting teeth pulled. Painful!!!! This Dr is obviously in this profession for the money and could careless about her patients well being.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worth the Wait

Posted on September 5th, 2016

After weeks of incapacitating pain, inaccurate diagnoses, 2 weeks of in-patient rehab and multiple ER visits, a kind person at the ER suggested I make an appointment with a GP who could take my case and coordinate specialists for me. Within 5 minutes of the office visit she had a trial diagnosis and asked how soon I could be admitted to the hospital. She and Dr. Diane Litke would not stop until the complete diagnosis and treatment plan were established. Yes, I wait past my appointment time but I simply know that's what happens and I don't arrive too early. The best doctors I've used were all behind in schedule because they are thorough and truly interested in the patient right in front of them. And that means that the duration of each appointment varies according to what presents itself. I gladly allow other patients as much time as they need because I know that I will receive the same consideration. Yes, she is strongly opinionated and she tells me WHY she believes the way she does. She also allows me options, explaining each, and lets ME choose. I would recommend her to anyone.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 5th, 2016

SHE DOESNT LISTEN, IS CONDESCENDING AND A GOOD DIAGNOSTICIAN, SHE WHIPS OUT THAT PAD AND STICKS A PILL IN YOU THROAT. SHE MISDIANOSTED MY SHINGLES. A P.A. DIAGNOSED IT!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Never Again

Posted on December 16th, 2015

I will never be seeing Dr. Cowan again. She intentionally made if very difficult for me to get paperwork done that I needed for school, and made if very difficult for me to get my birth control prescription renewed.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2015

She has been my doctor since I was a teenager (25 years), and I trust her completely. She is very thorough and takes her time with each patient. I wouldn't trust many others like I trust her.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 11th, 2014

A genuine doctor. No frills, nothing trendy, just honesty and caring. A+

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on October 26th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 29th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sheryl Cowan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Richardson, TX.