Shyamala K Kumar MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

2.6
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.9)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    26%
  • Satisfied
    16%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    47%
  • Wait Time 35.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2015
Doesn't hide that she's not going to help
First apt all she did was order a ct scan (we have had done before and informed her of such) and the previous Dr record. Before we left she let us know she was going to base her findings on the previous Dr notes. She mustn't understand the concept of a second opinion. Second visit. Ct scan done notes read hopes high. She walks in the room laptop in hand, I'm surprised security's not waiting outside the door after the tongue lashing my husband gave her last visit, calmly she says she read the chart, checked the scan and can't find anything wrong. She further explains that the bullet my husband was shot with ( my husband, as a Deputy Sheriff, was shot point blank in the face in the line of duty) did not hit his brain so it wouldn't damage the brain. WHAT?!! Have you heard of a concoction ? Don't you know the force alone will cause damage? My husband was just looking for help, for relief from the constant dizziness. She treated him like he was making up illness to get meds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 16th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office staff is rude and uncaring. They do not follow through which effects patient care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 6th, 2015
Constantly unavailable
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kumar has been a great disappointment to me. I have received a grossly below standard care from her. Last year I was only able to see her once in the entire year because she kept canceling and rescheduling my appointments under the excuse that she was not going to be available. This year the same scenario is repeating itself. Particularly in her medical specialty this is unacceptable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2015
Great Dr
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful Neurologist, takes the time to listen & answer questions. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 8th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have the most problem getting a RX refilled
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 25th, 2011
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very caring and willing to try different meds to solve the problem. Very cautious before trying something new. Takes the apropriate amt of time to try a new medication.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 30th, 2009
Neurologist
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited in lobby 1 hour prior to being called into exam room, waited additional 15 minutes to bee seen, room was not clean and ready, Dr left after introducing herself for 10 minutes,only ran carpal tunnel test, confirmed carpal tunnel, referred to a hand/wrist, did not listen to other issues as this patient was told this was a carpal tunnel test only and if other issues where a concern that an additional appt would need to made.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr kumar misdiagnosed me with a rare disease. when i asked about the specifics of the disease she told me to look it up on the internet. she also told me that there was nothing she could do for the chronic nerve pain in my legs. well, i DID look it up on the internet and found that she wasn't supplying the necessary treatment. i went to the mayo clinic to get the CORRECT diagnosis and proper treatment for my pain and disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 29th, 2008
Sent home after passing out
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
My father passed out in doctors office, Doctor he was okay and to go home. Should have been referred to ER. A couple of weeks later it was determined he needed bypass surgery
Was this review helpful? Yes No