Overall Rating

2.5
  • 38 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (+ 0.9)

38 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    21%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    50%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 22.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had Dr. Patel for almost 10 years. She helped me out of a severely bad depression. I'm very grateful to her . I can't say anything about waiting and being behind in her appointments because I'm sure there were many times I made her late for her next appointment because she listened to me and my problems. There were other times I was in and out real fast. For the most part I liked her and thought she was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
HAS NO UNDERSTANDING OF ADDICTION,,,AT ALL
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This women,should not be practicing addiction managment,most female patients leave there in tears,while most men ,can't stand her.I have witnessed patients waiting for hours,and come out furious. She makes ADDICTS,,,ADDICTS.Most people want to use after listening to her hate on you for the entire appt.At one appt she'll ,tell you about how you belong there,the next she's terminating you as a patient.The physciatry board ,or AMA,needs to do something with her,I wouldn't be surprised if most of her patients aren't suicidal after leaving her office..I don't like giving ,this jerk even one star,you guys need to add negative stars,she would be a,, minus 10
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Patel is patient and always responds to emergency phone calls promptly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
Freak show
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do not waist your time! Staff is horrible and Dr Patel shows no expression whatsoever must be getting kickbacks from the med companies. I was a patient years ago and found this site and figured I would do people a favor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2014
Terrible
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do no see this doctor. She does not exude any sense of caring or respect for her patients and seems to care more about making money than helping the people who see her. The front desk staff is rude and aloof, and it is difficult to make a convenient appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2013
Wonderful experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Patel is extremely helpful to me in dealing with my depression and anxiety. She listens intently and asks pertinant questions. We discuss med options before I start taking them and betweem visits if necessary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2013
TERRIBLE!! DO NOT SEE THIS DOCTOR
Wait time
5 minutes
Nevermind the fact that she is SO cold and stone faced the entire time. You feel like when you share your life experiences, she is judging you. Instead of trying to understand and maybe NOD her head in agreement once in a while, she just stares at you, that is, if she lifts her head long enough from her notepad. I understand she is not a therapist and is only there to give out meds....but my initial 1 hour session was aweful. I just felt this terrible vibe 5 minutes into the session. I wanted to just walk out. I work in the mental health feild and have heard pretty bad things about this provider, but she was the closest to me and fastest to get an appt. She didnt listen to what i was telling her. She doesnt prescribe certain meds b/c they are "addicting". She doesnt care that you had terrible side effects from certain meds before, she will still recommend them even after telling her that you had these terrible effects. She does not explain ANYTHING re : side effects of certain meds. UGh , just so so so disappointed in her. I should have known better than to go see her. But i was desperate. Now i have to find someone else b/c i cannot fathom being in the same room with her for even 2 minutes. Please DO NOT waste your time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 5th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have terrible anxiety, 2 doctor's have recommened I be on Klonopin (as well as a former alcohol and drug counselor! who knew me for several years as a client) but she treats me as a number, a statistic. Because I used to abuse alcohol a lifetime ago (25 yrs ago) she holds this against me and is strongly against me taking klonopin. I'm not a number, I'm an individual. I have no desire to abuse klonopin (or any other medication or substance) and do not do so. Yet she ignores the recommendations of her fellow doctor's when it comes to my treatment in this regard. If this does not change I will change doctors. I need HELP. I need the PROPER medications for my symptoms. I need to find a doctor who will recognize I don't abuse pills and will prescribe me the medications I need to function at work and home without being paralized and full of fear as well as to treat a neurological diagnosis that has to do with REM sleep, not unhelpful substitutes.

1.0 of 5
April 5th, 2012
Think twice about seeing her.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Once upon a time I thought all mental health professionals really cared. The sad truth is they don't and everything comes down to the almighty dollar.My chief complaints with Dr. Patel are:Horrible bedside manner. Not personable in the least.Doesn't explain pros/cons and side effects/withdrawal of medication.Does not return phone calls.More interested in collecting money than speaking to a patient.I am just baffled by the majority of mental health providers and their lack of compassion. They're so quick to just prescribe medicine and have you go on your merry little way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 4th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
SHE SUCKS AND KNOWS NOT WHAT SHE DOING
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 19th, 2010
ok
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
every time i go there, i wait at least 30min, and i have waited for up to an hour because shes behind on several occasions. shes nice and good at what she does.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 7th, 2010
patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would Highly recommend her. Very helpful and understanding. Have been a patient for over 4 years and would not change.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Smita Patel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Stoneham, MA.