Dr. Sofia Gekker MD Patient Reviews

  • Adult Care New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.3)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    45%
  • Great
    9%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    36%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 7.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 12th, 2016
Do not use this doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She was extremely unprofessional. I went for anxiety and depression and when I broke down in her office she told me that "I have an unfortunate terrible situation". Instead of giving me medication that I definitely need she told me to go to AA to discuss my issues. Mind you she told me to go to AA not bc Im an alcoholic but bc I have a history in my family. She then went on to talk about herself and how well she has done in life. She made me feel even worse. Do not go to her if you are actually looking for help
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 29th, 2016
Licensed clinical social worker referral teport
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gekker has a malpractice case pending against her in Kings County New York. The charges against her should be investigated as to her competence to prescribe psychotropic medications.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
Great Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor. Early appointments and she is just so nice and understanding
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 6th, 2012
Absolutely horrible
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gekker refused to respond when I had a semi-urgent situation. Didn't return calls and made me wait two weeks for an appointment. This was after I had been seeing her for three years, and it was the first and only time I ever had an emergency and needed her help beyond what was routine. She simply refused to deal with it. At the appointment I told her I was disappointed, and she completely lost it. LOST IT. She actually SHOUTED at me. She should not be practicing medicine. No one working in mental health should ever lose their temper with a patient like that. She's insane.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 25th, 2012
Unavailable and unresponsive except on Tuesdays and Fridays
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being Dr. Gekker's patient for three years, she completely ignored me during an emergency. Her staff made me wait two weeks for an appointment. When I took her to task on her lack of responsiveness, she got defensive and started screaming at me. When I asked her whether she, as a psychiatrist, was unwilling to treat people who are upset, she said "no, i am unwilling to treat people who are rude." This was during a visit that I was paying for out of pocket. I think this says it all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2010
Wonderful Doctor
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I know I was so scared to see a pschyicatrist but after 1 visit I knew I made the right decision.Definitely go see Dr Gekker
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2017

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2016

4.0 of 5
November 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 30th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 8th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sofia Gekker, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.