ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sofia Gekker Is this you?

Filter Reviews

11 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.2
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
7.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sofia Gekker?

Showing 11 of 11 Ratings

Do not use this doctor

Posted on July 12th, 2016

She was extremely unprofessional. I went for anxiety and depression and when I broke down in her office she told me that "I have an unfortunate terrible situation". Instead of giving me medication that I definitely need she told me to go to AA to discuss my issues. Mind you she told me to go to AA not bc Im an alcoholic but bc I have a history in my family. She then went on to talk about herself and how well she has done in life. She made me feel even worse. Do not go to her if you are actually looking for help

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Licensed clinical social worker referral teport

Posted on June 29th, 2016

Dr Gekker has a malpractice case pending against her in Kings County New York. The charges against her should be investigated as to her competence to prescribe psychotropic medications.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Doctor

Posted on June 28th, 2016

Great doctor. Early appointments and she is just so nice and understanding

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Absolutely horrible

Posted on June 6th, 2012

Dr. Gekker refused to respond when I had a semi-urgent situation. Didn't return calls and made me wait two weeks for an appointment. This was after I had been seeing her for three years, and it was the first and only time I ever had an emergency and needed her help beyond what was routine. She simply refused to deal with it. At the appointment I told her I was disappointed, and she completely lost it. LOST IT. She actually SHOUTED at me. She should not be practicing medicine. No one working in mental health should ever lose their temper with a patient like that. She's insane.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Unavailable and unresponsive except on Tuesdays and Fridays

Posted on April 25th, 2012

After being Dr. Gekker's patient for three years, she completely ignored me during an emergency. Her staff made me wait two weeks for an appointment. When I took her to task on her lack of responsiveness, she got defensive and started screaming at me. When I asked her whether she, as a psychiatrist, was unwilling to treat people who are upset, she said "no, i am unwilling to treat people who are rude." This was during a visit that I was paying for out of pocket. I think this says it all.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful Doctor

Posted on November 30th, 2010

I know I was so scared to see a pschyicatrist but after 1 visit I knew I made the right decision.Definitely go see Dr Gekker

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on January 23rd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 18th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on November 16th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 30th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 8th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sofia Gekker is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.