Dr. Sonya Lee MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Philadelphia, PA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.2)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    6%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    16%
  • Wait Time 30.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2015
Excellent Physician and Surgeon
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I find Dr. Lee to be precise and honest. She can be a bit direct, but I like this in my healthcare providers. I had surgery and she did a wonderful job, making additional repairs and her follow-up was great. I have been a patient of hers for over 6 years now and highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 5th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have mixed feelings about Dr. Lee. There was no one I would rather have had as my physician when I had an ovarian tumor; she is an excellent surgeon and returned my post-surgery phone calls personally and promptly and explained everything about my condition in terms I could understand. For general OB/GYN stuff, though, she is friendly but obviously rushed and I feel like I am bothering her when I ask questions. I also got a phone call from her office staff to schedule a colposcopy - Dr. Lee was, again, friendly during that appointment, but prior to it I would have had no idea what it was for if not for Google because no one, including her, bothered to explain it! I was just told to come into the office for the procedure. This is NOT good practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 25th, 2013
Poor patient relations all around
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After arriving promptly for my wellness exam appointment, I was forced to wait an hour before I finally saw the doctor. She spent literally (and I'm not exaggerating) 5 minutes to talk to me (as a new patient) and "examine" me. It was like I was being serviced at a pit stop! After taking the swabs for the pap smear, I asked her if she will tell me the results. She said, "we won't call you unless there's something wrong." Later when I tried to transfer my records to another doctor, her staff was equally lazy and impatient. They wouldn't provide me with a medical release form of their own and told me I had to get it from my new physician and fax it to them. Once I completed this, I asked for confirmation that they received the paperwork. Again, they refused to initiate any patient contact. I had to call them twice to finally get a confirmation that they had sent my records.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2013
Great doctor and staff
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lee is kind, but to the point. I met her for the first time in 12/12, and within a month or so later, had to return to have test results reviewed. Unfortunately, the results weren't great, but I was able to get scheduled for surgery within two weeks. My recovery period has been great, which says a lot for her surgical skills. She's a great doctor, her staff is polite, and that's all I need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 8th, 2012
Disappointing
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sonya Lee was my gynecologist for a little over a year. My general practitioner referred me to her. Although I dearly respect and admire my general practitioner, I left Dr. Lee's office feeling the opposite for her and her practice. Going to the gynecologist is a sensitive issue for me as I've had some issues dealing with hormones and PCOS during my late 20s. When I tried to talk to her about these issues and ask questions, she gave me short, one word responses. She talked down to me, showed me little respect and when she couldn't answer my question, she made no effort to find an answer for me. I was never offered a nurse in the room during the pelvic exam. In my 20 some years going to a gynecolgoist, all female, I've always had a nurse and practitioner in the room during my exam. I wondered about this practice and didn't feel comfortable to speak up during my appointment so I did some research. According to the NY Times and the official AMA guidelines they state, "From the standpoint of ethics and prudence, the protocol of having chaperons available on a consistent basis for patient examinations is recommended."After the third time at her office, I left in tears. I could stand her social ineptitde and her shady practices but I could no longer handle her talking down to me when I had important gynecological health quesitons. Instead of answering my questions, she ran a test and never contacted me with my results. Leaving her office, I immediately contacted my Endocrinologist for a referral to another OBGYN. I've been happy ever since.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 19th, 2012
Yikes!!!
I agree, she travels to the west coast way to much. She's not the same...something is wrong in her personal life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 18th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
She seemed a bit out of it. Her phone kept ringing, i think there are some things going on in her personal life that would keep her from giving her patients the attention they need. I would go to someone else in the philadelphia area. I have heard that she travels to the west coast every other weekend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 5th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have worked for and been under the care of many physcians, Dr. Sonya Lee ranks as number 1overall in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 16th, 2011
Great OB/ Gyn
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. Lee for 7 years, and she has always been professional and supportive. I feel like I am in very good hands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2010
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
great doctor, caring.

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2009
T.B.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I LOVE HER
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2008
Great Ob/GYN
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good Ob/GYN, followed up abnormal test results. Discussed them in detail with me. Answered all questions. Called office with a problem and was told to come right in. Office staff did announce the nature of my visit in the waiting w/ other patients present...........that is my only complaint. Confidentially, PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sonya Lee, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Philadelphia, PA.