Dr. Sonya Merrill MD, PHD Patient Reviews

  • Sleep Medicine Dallas, TX

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.6)

26 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    69%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2017
Best Sleep Doc
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been going to sleep docs since mid 1990's. She is the best by far. Understands circadian rhythms, which the pulmonary only guys do not seem to get. A+ for Dr. M
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
one of the best doctors I have ever had, and I have had a lot!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2014
She found a long sought after solution for me.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been to 5 previous doctors specializing in sleep. I had insomnia, sleep apnea and had no success in getting the answers to my problems. I have serious heart problems and sleep is essential in keeping anyone well, but is especially serious for me. She was very pleasant, goes over all your medical history, adjusted medication to help me over my issues and told me all the side affects and pros and cons of each one. She was very careful not to prescribe me anything to cause me more problems with my health problems. She did not give up on me and knew I had a tough time using the CPAP and masks. It was her caring, concern and experience that helped me find a solution. At times, I still have insomnia and problems sleeping, but I'm 90% improved from where I was before I walked through her door. She's highly regarded by other physicians and they send their most difficult patients to her because they know they can trust her to find the best solution. Unlike the negative review I read, I found that my experience with Dr. Merrill to be one of the most pleasant and beneficial visits to a doctor in my 63 years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2012
Worth the 4 month wait to get in!
Wait time
5.0 minutes
I am VERY impressed with Dr. Merrill. Her schedule runs on time and she is very thorough. She has a great bedside manner and seems to genuinely care. She talked about the latest studies in sleep medicine vs. past beliefs, so she stays current in her specialty. Most of her recommendations were common sense: bedroom is for sleeping, not for watching tv etc., no stimulating activity before bed, no caffeine after lunch, go to bed and wake up with as much regularity as possible, etc. She gave me my choice of sleeping medications to try first, talking about the pros and cons of each. Her follow-up was excellent and she made adjustments to my medications until we found what works for me. Her schedule stays booked for 4 months, or more, but she is worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 18th, 2011
I recommend Dr. Merrill
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A friend of mine who has apnea gave me her information. I have insomnia.I think she is very caring and concerned for my well being. I dont understand the negative review provided. She has already helped me a great deal.It is difficult to get a quick confirmed appointment. However she does have a waiting list. The office person was very patient with me when she would call and offer me a spot I couldnt take due to my travel schedule.I would highly recommend her. I want my husband to follow up with her on his apnea as well. He saw a different sleep Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She treats my mother and I've sat in on the consult a couple of times. I was impressed at her fierce concern for my mother's overall welfare, far more than any physician I've ever seen. Concern for her whole treatment, not just her sleep problems. She is patient and thorough in the consult and takes the trouble to request and review med records from her other doctors. I would feel lucky to have a primary care doctor that showed that much concern.

1.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2010
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is very judgemental and negative. She gave me an innacurate diagnosis. I do not trust her. Please seek out a different physician. Do not waste your money. She is very cold and impersonal. She is a disgrace to the medical community. Information that she told me about my anatomy was wrong. My other physician verified this for me. She insults you and degrades you. It was the most horrible experience of my life. My physician told me to block out everything she told me. He proved to me that what she told me was wrong.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2010
Excellent Sleep Medcine Doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I hve had Sleep apnea for 10 years nd have seen several doctors during this time. Dr Merrill is the most thorough and the most knowledgeable that I have seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 25th, 2008
Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 16th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sonya Merrill, MD, PHD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.