The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sonya Vieira Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sonya Vieira?

Ratings and Reviews

10 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
5 min
Appropriate Followup

Showing 10 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2013

Special lady

I unexpectedly found myself laughing with her during appointments. I wish she were my psychologist as well as my psychiatrist.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2012

the negative reviews

Both the negative reviews are obviously written by the same person. Ranting about a doc who did not push alternative treatments (when people generally go to docs for advice about FDA approved medications) is absurd. I hate to see a doc's reputation slammed by a disgruntled patient who could have just taken the over the counter treatment without harassing a doctor about their lack of experience using Omega 3 or whatever else it was this patient wanted to take.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 18th, 2011

Funny, Compassionate, and Respectful

Dr. Vieira is easy to talk to and never pushy with her opinions or treatment options. She goes out of her way to make herself available to patients and seems to take a genuine interest in both her profession and the well-being of the people she treats. I would highly recommend her as both a psychiatrist and therapy provider.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2011

I'm not sure where the other raters are coming from, but Dr. Vieira was very knowledgeable about several alternative forms of treatment for my condition. It is true that she focuses more on medications supported by rigorous scientific testing, but she also advised me knowledgeably about OTC supplements and dietary changes relevant to my condition. She's also funny and laidback, putting even anxious patients at ease.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 31st, 2011

Great and compassionate doctor

It is so difficult to find a doctor that is knowledgeable, yet caring and compassionate, but I have found that in Dr. Vieira. She spent a lot of time with me and was able to correctly diagnose and cure my problem. She really helped me get through an extremely difficult time in my life and for that, I am eternally grateful to Dr. Vieira. I would highly recommend her to anybody that was looking for a great psychiatrist.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 19th, 2010

Is it too much to expect the doctor to know about OTC alternatives--or at least admit she doesn't instead of making false statements about them?

She made a false scientific statement about an over-the-counter dietary supplement that may be effective for depression, dismissed it as definitely completely ineffective, and appeared annoyed that I asked about it. Granted, it has not been thoroughly studied because there is comparatively little financial incentive for extensive clinical research as to its efficacy and safety for depression. ( E.H. Turner et al. / Pharmacology & Therapeutics 109 (2006), p. 335) Evidently, the lack of financial incentive for knowing about this substance also affected this doctors ability to provide accurate information.When I subsequently asked her for evidence supporting her false statement, she admitted she misspoke, and backpedaled, admitting the supplement helps some people.We should expect more from professionals! Demand that your doctor provide quality guidance and be more than a shill for the pharmaceutical industry! Inform & empower yourself by reading Dr. Peter Breggin.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 11th, 2014

5.0 Rating

July 30th, 2012

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2011

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

April 14th, 2009

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sonya Vieira is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Elizabeth Getter

    Dr. Elizabeth Getter

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Clinical Psychology

    New York, NY 0.03 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    29
  • Dr. Gregory Tau

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0.03 mi

    4.0
    (4)
    11
  • Dr. Michael Welner

    Clinical Psychology, Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0.06 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    25