The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sophia Chen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sophia Chen?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sophia Chen?

Ratings and Reviews

19 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 19 Ratings with 11 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 29th, 2015

not recommended

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 20th, 2015

GO ELSEWHERE!!!

Staff is horrible, disorganized when it comes to scheduling. You make appointments and they NEVER follow through and what is worse is they cancel your surgery the day of your surgery without any decency to let you know ahead of time. Dr. Chen cancels surgery when she feels like it. I WOULD NEVER recommend Dr. Chen and her office to anyone.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

November 30th, 2014

she misdiagnosed me and didn't give me proper medication. GO ELSEWHERE!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 16th, 2014

Poor surgery result

Dr Chen seems nice, but lack of necessary experience, resulting in poor surgery outcome. The staff are not well trained, thought they are are trying to help. If you want a Dr who is knowledgeable and can give you a good result, look some where else.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 12th, 2012

Great docotor with good heart

Sophia Ma is my Mom's doctor and she is the best eye doctor I have ever met, I am glade my Mom treat by her.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2011

Getting an appointment can sometimes be hard. I guess if this is a popular doctor it would naturally be difficult to get an appointment :)The only negative thing I would say is that it is very difficult to get appointments especially on Thursdays.Otherwise Dr. Chen is excellent in every other way.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 29th, 2010

Great experience! Caring staff!

I got there and was seen promptly. The doctor took the time to listen to my problems and made the correct diagnosis. I felt much better after taking the medicine. The staff gave me a sample and even took the trouble to call in the prescription for me. Everyone was friendly and courteous. Overall a very professional office!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

September 27th, 2010

very bad clinic, got wose after visits

I had a bad eye infection after visiting them and I guess I know the reason why.There were few girls working there for Dr. Chen. The girl check me in act as technician, (probably unlicensed and just trained. She put eye drops on me before check ups. Those eye drops were used almost every patients and I think that was how I got the infection. Will never go there again as they worsen my problem and lead to another band new infection to my eyes. Not to say about the wait time, it was over 40 minutes for one time! Those girl staff were jokes! go to someone else if you still want your eyes

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2010

Staff is HORRIBLE! They give you an appt. time and reminder card, and then don't put it in the appointment book. You show up, and NO appointment. They don't give phone messages to the doctor so Dr. Chen doesn't know to call you back. Dr. Chen is great-- if you ever get to see her. The two asian girls with long hair are useless. The worse. Terrible.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 29th, 2010

The staff is knowledgeable, caring, and professional. The doctor took the time to explain everything to me. The office is bright and nicely maintained. overall a good experience!

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2010

The receptionist is friendly and knowledgeable. she is trilingual in English, Cantonese, and Mandarin. She made the older patients comfortable by speaking their native tongue. the doctor is thorough, caring, and knowledgeable.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

August 21st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sophia Chen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Alameda, CA.

  • Dr. Stephen Post

    Ophthalmology

    Alameda, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    38
  • Dr. Jennifer De Niro

    Ophthalmology, Residency

    Alameda, CA 0 mi

    3.0
    (1)
    4
  • Dr. David Bui

    Ophthalmology

    Alameda, CA 0.15 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    17