Dr. Sophia Chen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.0
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    18%
  • Wait Time 30.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2015
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not recommended
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 20th, 2015
GO ELSEWHERE!!!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Staff is horrible, disorganized when it comes to scheduling. You make appointments and they NEVER follow through and what is worse is they cancel your surgery the day of your surgery without any decency to let you know ahead of time. Dr. Chen cancels surgery when she feels like it. I WOULD NEVER recommend Dr. Chen and her office to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 30th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
she misdiagnosed me and didn't give me proper medication. GO ELSEWHERE!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 15th, 2014
Poor surgery result
Dr Chen seems nice, but lack of necessary experience, resulting in poor surgery outcome. The staff are not well trained, thought they are are trying to help. If you want a Dr who is knowledgeable and can give you a good result, look some where else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 11th, 2012
Great docotor with good heart
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Sophia Ma is my Mom's doctor and she is the best eye doctor I have ever met, I am glade my Mom treat by her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Getting an appointment can sometimes be hard. I guess if this is a popular doctor it would naturally be difficult to get an appointment :)The only negative thing I would say is that it is very difficult to get appointments especially on Thursdays.Otherwise Dr. Chen is excellent in every other way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 29th, 2010
Great experience! Caring staff!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I got there and was seen promptly. The doctor took the time to listen to my problems and made the correct diagnosis. I felt much better after taking the medicine. The staff gave me a sample and even took the trouble to call in the prescription for me. Everyone was friendly and courteous. Overall a very professional office!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 27th, 2010
very bad clinic, got wose after visits
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a bad eye infection after visiting them and I guess I know the reason why.There were few girls working there for Dr. Chen. The girl check me in act as technician, (probably unlicensed and just trained. She put eye drops on me before check ups. Those eye drops were used almost every patients and I think that was how I got the infection. Will never go there again as they worsen my problem and lead to another band new infection to my eyes. Not to say about the wait time, it was over 40 minutes for one time! Those girl staff were jokes! go to someone else if you still want your eyes
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2010
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff is HORRIBLE! They give you an appt. time and reminder card, and then don't put it in the appointment book. You show up, and NO appointment. They don't give phone messages to the doctor so Dr. Chen doesn't know to call you back. Dr. Chen is great-- if you ever get to see her. The two asian girls with long hair are useless. The worse. Terrible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 29th, 2010
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff is knowledgeable, caring, and professional. The doctor took the time to explain everything to me. The office is bright and nicely maintained. overall a good experience!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 16th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The receptionist is friendly and knowledgeable. she is trilingual in English, Cantonese, and Mandarin. She made the older patients comfortable by speaking their native tongue. the doctor is thorough, caring, and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Sophia Chen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Alameda, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Stephen Post

37 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jennifer De Niro

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jennifer Taylor

9 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor