Browse Health
Adult and Pediatric Spine Surgeon
12 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews ? Write a Review

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

25

Total Reviews

14

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.625 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.7894736842105 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.9565217391304 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.6086956521739 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.695652173913 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.7272727272727 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.6190476190476 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 26 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Turd  |  show details
Oct 14th, 2014

Paid off ins. co. ime, gives false diagnosis for big money. How can u sleep?

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  medical professional  |  show details
by Jane Doe on Jun 19th, 2014

I find it very sad that such a young physician would choose to jeopardize his professional reputation by allowing himself to be "bought" by the insurance companies for worker's comp cases. I do recognize that there are people that live fraudulently but this does not apply to everyone. It would certainly take more than 10 minutes to make a decision that could potentially be life altering. I would hate to see a young laborer forced back to work only to endure a much graver injury because Dr.Lee worked less than diligently to form an opinion about an indiviual's case. Good luck to you Dr. Lee in your medical future. I pray for those forced to encounter you.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

IME physicians are asked to objectively and independently evaluate a case/patient. When presented with the necessary diagnostics and medical records, a definitive decision about the presence/absence of a significant injury can be made very, very quickly and often with little need for speaking to or examining a patient. As difficult and delicate as spine surgery is, the most critical aspect of surgery is the diagnosis and decision-making prior to surgery. High quality, objective decision-making is what an IME physician is tasked with providing. SL

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  IME  |  show details
Mar 25th, 2014

Well Dr. Lee it seems that after conducting an IME u always find the same thing wrong with all the patients NOTHING!!!!! That's odd, oh but I guess that's what they are paying you to say. Just one question, how to you sleep at night? That you are making people's health and lives worst!!

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 1st, 2013

Not sure if he ever gives anyone an exam if you're going to him for IME. It is amazing that he gets paid from insurance companies. Maybe the insurance company should second guess him..I would like to have another Dr. (Outside) of the the ime challenge him. Thanks for your concern Dr. Lee

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

IMEs (independent medical exams) consist of a detailed medical record review, history, and physical exam. The Examiner has no direct relationship with the Examinee. Other than gathering information, the Examiner is not at liberty to discuss any findings or recommendations. A focused and succinct exam is completed with every IME I perform. For an experienced Examiner, this can take just a few short minutes to gather the necessary and pertinent information to definitively formulate an opinion. While all IME Examinee's are treated respectfully and professionally, if an Examinee is interested in a full explanation and an experience catering to their satisfaction, they would be better served by seeking and directly hiring their own physician consultant. SL

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  I miss Dr Lee  |  show details
Nov 30th, 2012

I had DR lee as my surgeon i can't say anything bad about this Doctor but good things , professional , and all around nice doctor. I wish he never left Allegiance, Due to that it hasn't been easy finding a Doctor who may take a pre-op patient.I am still in need of a doctor who could care for my back ,of course havent had the luck to find one ,due to my insurance and being a pre-op patient.

Doctor's Response

I have left Allegiance Health and am in private practice in Southfield, Northville, and W. Bloomfield. Privately arranged appointments are immediately available. Thank you for taking time to leave comments. SL

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Scott Tarpening  |  show details
Nov 19th, 2012

Dr. Lee was great when i first met him.The attitude really changed 6 mos. after surgery. I told him i was in worse painthen before and he told me that was not"his problem". Then 6 mos. later his office called and said that i missed my6 mo. follow up visit. I wanted to know for what? He really didn't care at that point. I'm very disappointed in U-M hospital.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Thank you for taking time to comment. I am sorry to hear that you are having worse pain. I have transitioned to private practice and would like to see what more can be done. My cell phone number has remained the same. Please feel free to call me on my cell or at my new office anytime, so that we can try to see what more can be done. SL

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 31st, 2012

my back is still the same o same o, dr stanley lee shaved my lower 4 or 5 dish. still rubs my nervers

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Thank you for voicing your dissatisfaction. I am so sorry to hear that our surgery did not meet your expectations and that you are still in discomfort. Please feel free to contact me on my cell phone anytime to further discuss. All postsurgical patients are given my cell phone number and encouraged to call me directly at anytime with postsurgical issues. Your satisfaction is a top priority for me. SL

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jun 19th, 2012

I have never in my life been treated so disrespectfully as I did the day I went in this office, I have two herniated discs in my back and after 5 mins of talking with this so called dr...he dismissed me and told me he would not do surgery on me after other drs told me that was the only thing that would take care of my back...after he told me he wouldn't do surgery , with tears running down my face I asked him, what do I do now....he said go talk to your family dr and rudely left the room...I was mortified...I wouldn't never recommend this dr to anyone...unless you want to be treated like a number

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Thank you for the comment. I am sorry that your expectations for your visit were not met. As a spine surgeon, my primary responsibility is to offer a direct and objective opinion on whether or not surgery can potentially be of benefit. For many patients with disk herniations or even severe back pain, surgery is not a good option. If surgery is not a good option, your primary care provider knows you best and can investigate all contributing, nonsurgical factors that may be addressed to help back pain. If you have additional questions on why surgery is not a good option for you, please feel free to call my office anytime and I am happy to further explain my opinion. Your total understanding on how surgery may or may not help your back is my top priority. SL

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  ance paid dr.  |  show details
Apr 16th, 2012

If this dr treats his own patients the way he treats auto accident patients that he is seeing for independant medical evals, I wouldn't step foot in his door. He appears to me to be just another dr bought and paid paid for by insurance companies.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Thank you for the comment. I am truly sorry that your expectations were not met during your IME (Independent Medical Examination). As a treating physician, when I see patients under my care, my duty is to diagnose, educate, and explain my findings and recommendations to my patient/client. During an IME, my duty is limited to gathering the information needed to formulate my diagnosis and recommendation into a written report for the client. No explanation or communication outside of information gathering is permitted. The examinee is not the client. While all patients/examinees are treated with respect, the nature of these two types of visits are drastically different. SL

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor  |  show details
Mar 2nd, 2012

Dr. Lee saw the problem right away and scheduled surgery for the following week. Corrected the problem. I was to the point that I could not walk the pain was so bad. It has been over a year and I have had no prolems.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  DR LEE IS AWESOME  |  show details
Jan 4th, 2012

My Hubby had to see him today and DR LEE is nothing but AWESOME...Great to talk to and bedside manner is great he tells you everything....a super guy and DR ..

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Gina Lobbestael  |  show details
Apr 17th, 2011

Dr. Lee set my sons broken wrist when one of his colleagues was on vacation. He was very professional and kind. I was told I could follow up with the other Dr., but chose to stick with Dr. Lee because of his great bedside manner with my 10 year old. I would recommend him to anyone with children because of this.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Apr 2nd, 2011

i think the dr. lee is a very good doctor. his bedside manners are the best ive encoutered through allegiance. i do wish he would go a little more indepth and give more suggestions rather than just giving me the options and not knowing where to go with them. ive been going back to him with no regrets and would suggest him.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by john dana on Jul 14th, 2010

Too eager to operate, didn't warn me enough of the possibilities of post surgical pain, which now I've found is quite common. Didn't stay in touch with my primary care doctor which is what I thought a hmo was supposed to be all about. My primary dr. didn't even know I had the surgery and said he would never have recommended it. Cocky and arrogant. Nobody followed up to see how i'm doing and when I went back because of pain from surgery, they all wrote me off.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Mr. Dana, thank you for your feedback. However, after thoroughly reviewing our medical records, I was unable to find any record of ever having treated you. I am sorry to hear of your bad experience and would love an opportunity to help with your situation. Please feel free to contact my office anytime. New patient appointments are generally available within 1 week. Dr. Lee 517-841-1431

> > > > Patient Reviews