Dr. Stanley Ostrow MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.6
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.7)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    11%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 38.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2016
Stan the Man!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr Ostrow, with the help of God, he saved my life. I get his personality because this man is under extreme pressure saving lives. He cares truly and worries about us all. I had breast cancer & chemo & he helped me to get a trial drug that helped me. All I do is ask, and he gets it done! One time when I broke down in tears, he sat next to me and told me that I'd beat that cancer, all my problems at home would work out & assured me that he was there now, it'd be ok. I'll never forget it. He will always be my hero!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Ostrow is a caring and excellent Doctor who truly cares about his patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
June 21st, 2016
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor. Saves lives. Does everything possible to prolong patients lives. Staff is friendly and professional. This is the doctor and staff who fights for your life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2016
Compassionate and Caring
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best Oncologist you can find!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 1st, 2016
Dr. Ostrow is a doctor but a really caring person.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ostrow, is a wonderful person.... Nutty, but I think that's what I love most about him. I have a nutty but fun personality myself. So we do alright. I prefer him over everyone because he cares and he shows it. Plus he has taken care of my mother and saved her a few times now... He's a part of my family... Just wish we all met under different circumstances.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
the best are worth waiting for
I'VE Been going to DR Ostrow since 2002 when he was on call at the hospital after having been diagnosed with Kidney cancer which left me with one kidney. I went back to work two days after the surgery and happen to miss my first follow up appointment for the following week. That night DR Ostrow called me at home and said it was very important for me to have periodic follow ups, and that if I didn't want to use him, he requested I find another Oncologist soon to take over my car. since than he's treated me through Prostate, and most recently Lung cancer. He cares enough for his patients that he makes all calls regarding test results himself on the day he receives them. He has called me during the day when I wasn't available, then called again that same night after closing. I've received calls from him as late as 8: pm and in the 13 years being his patient had never received a results call, good or not so good from anyone other than DR Ostrow himself. After three separate primary cancers I believe I'm able to sit here to write this review because of DR Ostrow. I've heard people complain about sometimes having to wait longer than expected in the examining room, but their are times when he goes into those rooms with not the best of news, and he's not the type of doctor to say I'm sorry and be so quick to run out to his next patient. I feel the best doctors are worth waiting for. I recently relocated to Florida and had to find a new Oncologist, I researched for days to find the best, but I'm not feeling to comfortable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A great human being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Yes, Dr. Ostrow is a maniac psycho. He is the best Oncologist you will ever meet though. He will come off brash, rushed etc but he does really care. This is just his personality. Underneath it all is a man who works 20 hours a day to take care of his patients. People don't know that he wakes up at probably 5am, gets to the hospitals (he works at 4, maybe 5 hospitals) by 6 or 7, sees patients until 9 or 10am, then goes to his office where he sees patients until 5pm or so, and then goes back to the hospital and is seeing patients until 10 pm and later. My father was his patient for many many years. He was diagnosed with lung cancer and given 9 months to live. Dr Ostrow kept him going for 9 more years, a true miracle. It was my father's fight, with the help of Dr. Ostrow's knowledge, experience and hard work. There were times that my father was in the hospital and Dr. Ostrow would show up at midnight, or 7 in the morning because that was the only time he could make it in to see him. I am a nurse and have NEVER met a doctor like that except for him. People may think he is rude, nasty etc and yes he can be. But he is the most hard working and caring doctor you will ever meet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 28th, 2011
Not Good
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After making me wait for over 2 hours on three visits Dr. Ostrow made a wrong diagnosis. His billing department also insisted on billing me for services not rendered. Not good!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Ostrow is very skilled. He did a bone marrow procedure on this very nervous patient and I never felt one moment of pain. He's wonderful and I trust him completely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr ostrow is a very knowledgeable professional will always be there if you need him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2011
Top notch doctor
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If not for doctor Ostrow I probably would not be here today. He was the only doctor that was optimistic when I was diagnosed with Stage 3b Lung Cancer. Thats to him I was able to get to the best doctors and receive the best treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stanley Ostrow, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near East Patchogue, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Jung-Yong Kim

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Rana Zoeb

34 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Gurmohan Syali

14 years experience

3.5 of 5