Dr. Stephan Kowalyk MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Greensburg, PA

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (-0.4)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    49%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    11%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 17.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2016
So glad I found Dr. Kowalyk!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. Kowalyk and his assistant Sherry for about ten years. He was my third opinion. He's not close to me geographically, but it's worth the travel time to see him. I trust him. I've read other reviews where he's referred to as brusque or worse, but I don't see him that way at all. He's to the point but we have conversational moments at every visit. We talk about options and work together to choose my care. I feel like we're very much a team. He's obviously a very busy man trying to manage a ton of patients so maybe someone caught him on a particularly taxing day? The medical assistants are great! The last one I saw (I wish I remembered her name) was like an instant friend as we did all the preliminary stuff you do before the doctor comes in. Sherry is fantastic. When I see her, the whole process from beginning to end is faster than normal. In fairness, I have had mixed experiences with the office admin staff over the course of my visits there. Mostly it's positive, though, so I choose to overlook the few negative moments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 1st, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Waiting on more blood work and a second ultrasound on my thyroid to receive a diagnosis. I only had the testing done that I was ordered to get from my primary. So far I like this dr. The receptionist was not too friendly but she wasn't necessarily mean either...just busy. The medical assistant was super nice and friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 11th, 2013
efficient and helpful
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to dr.s for 6 years trying to figure out what is wrong with me. Not one of them even considered that I might have PCOS (because I am not infertile, apparently). Dr. Kowalyk ordered all the appropriate labs and made the diagnosis very quickly. His office called me as soon as the lab work was in, and worked with my schedule to get me an appointment. The actual appointment was brief but exactly what I needed. Diagnosis on the basis of lab work and symptoms. Further labwork ordered to make sure nothing is missed. Options presented. Prescription given. All done. The staff were all courteous and very helpful as well. Dr. Kowalyk himself is brusque and to the point but perfectly pleasant. My only complaint is that although he called my prescription in while I was still in the office, it never made it to my pharmacy's system. I don't know if that was a human error of some problem with the system though. When I called back this morning the person who answered told me they'd have it resent immediately.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2013
Horrible uncaring man
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I too went there . I had all of my records faxed to him way before appt. When I arrived they complained because I never had records sent . Guess what they were still on fax machine. No one bothered to read them. Dr.spent no more then 5 mins with me. Was an arrogant you know what. I have serious health issue . No one cared to read my records ., Dr. did not even want to hear anything I had to say
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 8th, 2012
offce staff
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I needed a ct scan and I called to schedule it Through Excela Health.Clerk asked me for an auth number from my insurance company. I told them I did not have this because Your office said if i needed one to contact them. The clerk from Excela Health said that your office is well aware that an auth number is needed.I have been calling your office since last Friday and you keep telling me you are working on it and tried to blame it on my insurance company.I have been in touch with my insurance company and they informed me that you haven't even been in touch with them.They said this procedure only takes 5 min.and can be done on their website.I really have no problem with the Doctor.It's the people that work for him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 20th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor was to read my films from my ultrasound. He did not read the films to therefore he had no idea. I was in the office 5-7 minutes. He told me that if I did not hear from the office by Friday, I WAS TO CALL HIM. I did not HEAR from the office. At 4:54 on Friday afternoon and requested my records. I do not have time for a doctor who does not take my case serious.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2012
Highly Qualified
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kowalyk is a caring, professional and highly qualified endocrinologist. His schedule is very busy, but that is because he is a sought after physician. I feel very confident about my care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 18th, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have gone to this Dr.for at least 15 yrs.He has always been a concerned Dr. and has always listened to me about how I feel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephan Kowalyk, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Greensburg, PA.