Dr. Stephen Balsam MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.7)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    20%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 5.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2016
Simply the best
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He listens and then provides incredibly wise, smart feedback. He is a brilliant man.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2015
Excellence in psychiatry.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. balsam is an insightful, intelligent, and well-versed psychiatrist. I feel very confident in his diagnosis and care. I would recommend him based on my experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 31st, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thank you to believe in me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 7th, 2013
Grateful Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent diagnostician, well versed in all types of medications and their interactions. Dr. Balsam has great personal depth and integrity and my life has been greatly enhanced and improved through his treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 17th, 2013
Not Your Average Psychiatrist; Much More Effective.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel that Dr. Balsam’s extensive knowledge of medications; how they interact w/ each other and addt’l possible effects not found on the web or encl. rx pamphlets along with his perceptiveness have helped me become a person whose life extends beyond bed confinement and constantly wondering “why me,” due to severe depression/anxiety. He is unlike any other Psych Dr that just asks “…feeling suicidal?...still depressed?...lets supplement with xyz.” After two yrs. of seeing Dr. Balsam, I am on much less meds and am relied upon by family/friends, instead of relying on them. I’m not saying Drs and meds are a cure-all, but I feel he is superior by far and I wouldn’t be where I’m today w/o his ‘out of the box’ thinking. I have seen at least 15 different psychiatrists in addition to numerous therapists in my 33 yrs. of life and feel I have found the psychologist/psychiatrist combo that actually cares and helps. The downside is he doesn’t accept insurance, but is worth every penny.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 1st, 2012
Bad Experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the worst experiences I have ever had. I have never experienced such rudeness in my life. A dangerous Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2009
15 years later.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It has been almost 15 years since Dr. Balsam rescued me from a terrible marriage. With his guidance and expertise, he guided me back from a complete emotional breakdown, terrible depression and loss of self esteem to a complete recovery. I still , to this day , use the advise he gave me. I could never thank him enough for being exactly the Dr. i needed at that horrible time in my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 26th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr Balsam has changed my life completly. Not only is he Honest I found him to be helpful with other medical issues I have outside of his office. He has helped me contact other physicians and helped me by setting up much needed appts. earlier, then previously arranged for. months earlier. maybe he dosen,t take insurance but if you want someone who really knows what he's doing as a Doctor & truly CARES about his patients wellbeing I would most definetly recommend Dr. Balsam
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Balsam, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Riverhead, NY.

Doctor

Dr. William Packard

41 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Caroline Gatewood

25 years experience

3.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Gerard Margiotti III

5.0 of 5